We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh my! New owners?”
Review of DE ANZA RESTAURANT & CANTINA - CLOSED

Cuisines: Mexican
Description: Zip 85646
Restaurant details
Description: Zip 85646
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh my! New owners?”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Two years ago we had a great time, super Margaretas, good guacamole . We were so disappointed this visit...lousy margaritas, tasteless guacamole, fish tacos that were questionable??
Only positive was for the enthusiasm and friendliness of bartender gal. Must have changed owners

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    7
    4
    3
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roxbury, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“most of what we had was great”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My sister and I were there at a very quiet time, got seated and placed orders quickly and were served fast, too. Our soups (queso and abondiga) were delicious -- simple and homemade -- and our chilies rellenos were excellent, but she ordered a steak with hers and that was awful. They gave us free dessert to make up for it -- flan that was to die for.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanneandkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Terrible”
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We went for a lunch last year and found it tolerable at best, but gave it another go on a return visit to Tubac... mostly because many restaurants are closed on Sunday in Tubac and this place was open. Cadillac Margarita was something more along the lines of a VW. No detectable tequila and heavy on the sweet & sour. Food was obviously zapped in a microwave. Our table was pretty gross and the dishes seemed dirty. Worse part? Drinks and dinner for two: $49.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_RV_Goddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Black Canyon City, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tubac Festival of Arts”
Reviewed 11 February 2013 via mobile

Great Margaritas! My husband tried to order 2 different Mexican beers, which they did not have but after tasting my Margarita he liked it so well he ordered one & was very pleased. We had beef tacos and found them to be "good". A bit disappointed in tortilla chips, maybe not made in house?

Helpful?
Thank Beth2786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, Vermont
2 reviews
“Just great food and Marguaritas!”
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Our stay inTubac included two great dinners at De Anza Cantina. The house marguaritas were the best, the Mexican food served equally as good. We found the waitstaff very friendly and helpful, along with the owner, Marcos, recalling the old days of growing up hard in the area. He has a great selection of saddles offered and his local knowledge and recommendations were spot on. Our waitress was from nearby Nogales, MX and was extremely gracious. When on vacation, we were always on time. Next time thru, we will have to stop by fore another round with Marcos at the De Anza restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DE ANZA RESTAURANT & CANTINA also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing