We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After Almost Two Hours We Left”
Review of Shelby's Bistro

Shelby's Bistro
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Tubac
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$12
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“After Almost Two Hours We Left”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Looking forward to a nice dinner, we went back to Shelby's . It was a Saturday night, one waitress, and a very unmotivated bus boy who was underage and could not take drink orders. In a nutshell, we left after almost two hours as we could not get our food! We have eaten there before and it was fine, but this was the last time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    91
    24
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gilbert, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice burgers & patio”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We asked about 5 people whee we should eat and there were 2 places constantly named - Elvyra's and Shelby's. We had Mexican yesterday and are going to tomorrow so we opted for Shelby's. It was a good choice. The burgers wet good sized and cooked right on. My wife had hers without a bun for it to be gluten free. She also had sweet potato fries. Mine had a good mix of seasoning and jack cheese with a roasted red pepper. The seasoning sort of reminded me of an Ollie burger from Ollie's Trolley and Lums from way back when in Atlanta. Not as strong a seasoning but very well done.

The setting was nice and quiet. We had a nice view of the mountains in the distance from our patio table. The waitress was a little in he weeds. It looked like she was the only wait staff for both inside and on the patio. She did a good job with being busy ( she had 5 tables outside and looked like 3-4 inside).

Overall, we liked it and would recommend Shelby's.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doug C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cadiz, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always great!”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We visit southern Az several times a year. Even when we aren't staying in Tubac, we make it a priority to visit Shelby's. The food is creative and well prepared, and the service is friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sahuarita, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice view of the storm...”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Great food, a great view of the huge thunderstorm, where we were nice and cozy inside. Loved the blue cheese stuffed chicken breast with saffron risotto and grilled asparagus. Great kids' choices, too (all in the head of our server)!

Service was slower, as it was busy, but everything was tasty!! Great appetizer of chicken quesadilla with goat cheese -- a recommendation of our server/owner.

A family favorite -- we'll be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
“My favorite!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Wonderful food, wonderful atmosphere, and wonderful shopping all around the restaurant. May favorite Tubac eatery - I return again and again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jessica w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shelby's Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Shelby's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing