We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to get away, golf, eat, and relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tubac Golf Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A place to get away, golf, eat, and relax”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Tubac is the oldest European settlement in Arizona and home to this resort made popular by Bing Crosby and gained fame as the film location for "Tin Cup." My wife and I play golf and found the course to be playable, great shape, and not crowded; we were disappointed that Kevin Costner, Rene Russo, Don Johnson or Cheech Marin did not show up. LOL. The Hacienda Suites were spacious, clean, and had views of the golf course. The food in the Stable Restaurant was excellent and the service was attentive (Valerie and Gabriel were outstanding). We each enjoyed two spa treatments and Claudia was the highlight. We stayed 4 nights and played both nines. The Anza 9 has an island green flanked by grazing cattle where the local rules govern the situation should your golf ball lands on a cowpie: pick it, lick it, and place it no closer to the hole. We had a little problem w/ our bed n breakfast vouchers, but Rebecca in the front office was able to ameliorate the issue to our satisfaction. We enjoyed warm weather in the mid-90s and ate several excellent meals in the town of Tubac though we felt the shops were a bit too touristy for us.

Room Tip: Check out Elvira's for delish upscale Mexican food and amazing decor in the town of Tubac. Maria...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfn2day2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    102
    26
    13
    11
See reviews for
42
157
12
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Nice resort with large king rooms, a great restaurant with nice patio areas, and a "ranch like" feel to the golf course. Near Tubac's historical town which is loaded with great shops, galleries and lots of imported goods from Mexico. Also great restaurants!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Not a place to go if you want nightlife. If you want good food, quiet hotel casita, and golf, this is your place.

Nice holiday brunch. We were there for Mothers Day weekend. All were pleased.


The golf course is always a challenge with the Devil's triangle putting a test on the round. The golf course was also featured on the movie Tin Cup. .

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kachurka B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We selected the hotel for a one-night getaway to celebrate my spouse's 50th birthday. We invited another couple to join and the entire experience could not have been better. The rooms are comfortable and pleasing to the eye. The grounds are well maintained and one feels that you have truly stepped off the treadmill of life. Our short visit yielded a perfect retreat. We would recommend the restaurant as everything we ordered was great.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank family019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Spring
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Fantastic property. Golf courses were great. Accomodations were great as well. Food service was TERRIBLY SLOW. It took close to an hour and a half for breakfast. Food was good but overpriced. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThatBGuye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed last week at the Tubac Golf Resort & Spa for 2 nights in a Queen Casita. It was spacious and the surrounding grounds were lovely. My complaints? Tired furnishings (armoire with a handle missing; small, old television; stained draperies), inexpensive finishes (laminate bathroom counter with painted plywood-looking cabinet), and slow, intermittent Internet. I can live with this in an inexpensive room, but our bill for 2 nights was $473.53. At that price, I expect more. We've traveled all over the world and I am almost always happy with hotel accommodations (see my other reviews), but this this was a big disappointment. Others in our group were of the same opinion.

Room Tip: I heard the Hacienda rooms are lovely; if I ever return, I'll keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Otis Orchards, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We booked the Stay and Play package at Tuac Golf Resort. The villa was sparkling clean with quaint southwest decor. Each unit is on the ground floor and has it own patio. The grounds are very well kept with acres of grass which is unusual in Arizona.
The golf course is in great shape. The 27 hole format can lead to some very long rounds.

Room Tip: I didn't see any distinct difference in the room locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoorae45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tubac
17.1 mi away
Best Western Green Valley Inn
Best Western Green Valley Inn
#2 of 5 in Green Valley
417 reviews
19.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive - Green Valley Sahuarita
12.2 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.8 mi away
Best Western Sonora Inn & Suites
21.2 mi away
Fray Marcos De Niza
Fray Marcos De Niza
#5 of 7 in Nogales
41 reviews
17.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Green Valley
Comfort Inn Green Valley
#5 of 5 in Green Valley
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubac Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubac Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Tubac Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 1 Otero Road, PO Box 1297, Tubac, AZ 85646
Region: United States > Arizona > Tubac
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Tubac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tubac Golf Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful luxury destination resort is set on 500 acres at the base of the Santa Rita Mountains in Southern Arizona, south of Tucson. The resort features 98 luxury Hacienda style accommodations, two restaurants and cantina at the golf course, a full-service spa and salon and a 27-hole championship golf course. The resort is just five minutes from the charming Village of Tubac, a world-renowned artists community. This romantic, almost secret place is still a haven for Hollywood notables, politicians, accomplished business executives, and generations of families who returned year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Tubac Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tubac Golf Hotel Tubac
Tubac Golf Resort And Spa
Tubac Golf Resort & Spa Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing