We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STILL NICE BUT A BIT RUN DOWN”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tubac Golf Resort & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Tubac Golf Resort and Spa for 2 nights in late May 2014.
Our room was fine, actually quite nice but just not too large. But the grounds
needed work. They are huge and that may be the problem. But outside our
door was an empty area and a wall that had not been painted for years. And
no plants at all and the grass was not in good condition.
We had stayed here 18 years ago and the resort was in much better
condition.
The manager did take off our mandatory resort fee when I requested it.
Great trip but resort not in the best shape.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Barbara T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

Beautiful grounds, upscale rooms, delicious food and impeccable service. This is the place to stay if you are visiting the artists community of Tubac, Nogales or Tumacacori. The place was renovated a few years ago and is a first class establishment with all the amenities.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We live in Phoenix and decided to get away from the big city for a few days. We chose to visit Tubac for its art stores and historic significance. Tubac Golf Resort looked like a good place to stay.
We were very happy with our choice. The tranquil setting, beautiful flowers and blooming magnolia trees made our stay very pleasant. We watched the most unusual and beautiful little birds on the patio of our Hacienda Suite.The breakfast and dinner on the restaurant patio were creative and delicious. The grazing cows on the golf course added to the peaceful atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Thank you Louie from the front desk.
There are lots of things to see and do in the area. We shall return.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a newer updated suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Concierge67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Live nearby and took an out of town relative to the Spa. When calling to confirm appointment was told their "spa days" were 2 days later so I switched to another time for the better rate and confirmed twice the massages we wanted. It wasn't until I was in the room with the masseuse, who confirmed the wrong treatment, that the bait and switch occurred. I said no, it was the other massage and was told it cost more. I had a visitor with me and I wasn't going to raise a stink at this point!

When I was home I called and talked to the Spa Manager who didn't even understand what Bait and Switch was. So I explained it again. She thanked me and that was it. Really? I was ready to pay the higher rates so it just wasn't worth arguing about but at least an offer of a partial refund would have been appropriate.

The massage was great and the location is lovely. But I won't be back as I expect better customer service than this.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank elleg53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was an older property, built in the '30s and '40s but it is well maintained and updated without losing that authentic and rustic feel. The rooms are large and spacious, with tile floors. My room was decorated with Mexican tile in the bathroom and sink areas there is a sink outside the bathroom too, so you don't have to go to the bathroom for water for your coffee, a nice touch. The room had a small fridge, a nice patio, and a table and chairs inside.
Lots of outlets to power up stuff too. Grounds are well maintained. Lots of folders come here, so I guess that's the main draw here,as well as the nearby town of Tubac.
Minor quibbles: smokers. That stuff drifts and really stinks up the place. My patio was almost impossible to use because of people smoking upwind on their patio. I realize the owners can't control that but it would be nice to have a designated area for smokers to pollute themselves in and not the rest of us.
A small microwave would've been nice too. Also, the counters in the bathroom and sink areas were a little high. If you're a shorter person, you might have trouble reaching across them.
The bathtub is low and easy to get in and out of but it would be nice to have safety bars around it,especially given the age of some of the clientele. Floors can be slippery and there is no place to hold on to when getting in or out of the tub.
Wifi was available, worked well, albeit a bit slow at times.
Overall, a nice place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dian6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had previously stayed at the Tubac Golf Resort and had a very good experience, so decided to return, this time with an out-of-town visitor in tow. I booked a room for 2 nights on Expedia, prepaid, and received a confirmation. We arrived at 5PM a week later - only to be told that an error had been made by Expedia and the hotel was unable to acommodate us. The closest hotel with accommodations was 20 miles away, in the direction we had just come from. The hotel claimed they had tried to contact us, but I had no messages, etc. The hotel agreed to give us a room for the first night, but told us we had to be out the next morning. We were given a room that should not have been rented; it was musty, paint was peeling from the doors, windows were dirty, the faucet was corroded,there were 2 outlets in the entire room (whihc required unplugging lights to plug in chargers, etc., and there was some sort of bio material on the shower curtain. The next morning, the hotel had a cancellation so we were permitted to stay for the next night; the maid showed up at 8:30 a.m. WE asked her to return in an hour. When we came back at 5PM, the room had not been serviced, wt towels in the tub, trash cans not emptied, etc. We notified the front desk, only to be told the housekeeping staff had left. Towels were delivered, but no face cloths, trash was levft outside on the porch, etc. Finally, the last morning of our stay, we went to breakfast in the Stables Restaurant; it took over 45 minutes after our order was taken for breakfast to be served. The Resort is in a beautiful setting, but needs to accelerate its remodeling of the property, and not put guests in the rundown rooms until this is complete. In addition, some sort of service recovery effort would have been appreciated.

Room Tip: Request a remondeled room - on previous visits, we had those and they are much nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

15 of us went on a golfing excursion. We expected to be treated with great service, but unfortunately did not. Our morning waiter the first day was very abrupt. Then brought the wrong order. Our evening waitress was very, very grumpy. She did not want to be there. The next morning our waitress took our coffee order (3 people at our table) and it took 20 minutes to get the coffee. One of the receptionists said she could not split the room bill 3 ways. Went back later, and a different lady did split it. Oh, and the waffle I ordered? When it finally came, it was cold. I'm just saying, the resort is ok, but they need some management training on how to treat their customers.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonKL85396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tubac
17 mi away
Best Western Green Valley Inn
Best Western Green Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Green Valley
458 reviews
19.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Executive - Green Valley Sahuarita
12.3 mi away
Inn at San Ignacio
Inn at San Ignacio
#4 of 5 in Green Valley
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tubac Country Inn
Tubac Country Inn
#1 of 4 in Tubac
119 reviews
11.2 mi away
Wyndham Green Valley Canoa Ranch Resort
6.9 mi away
Amado Territory B&B
Amado Territory B&B
#1 of 1 in Amado
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tubac Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tubac Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 1 Otero Road, PO Box 1297, Tubac, AZ 85646
Region: United States > Arizona > Tubac
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Tubac
Price Range: £166 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tubac Golf Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful luxury destination resort is set on 500 acres at the base of the Santa Rita Mountains in Southern Arizona, south of Tucson. The resort features 98 luxury Hacienda style accommodations, two restaurants and cantina at the golf course, a full-service spa and salon and a 27-hole championship golf course. The resort is just five minutes from the charming Village of Tubac, a world-renowned artists community. This romantic, almost secret place is still a haven for Hollywood notables, politicians, accomplished business executives, and generations of families who returned year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tubac Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tubac Golf Hotel Tubac
Tubac Golf Resort And Spa
Tubac Golf Resort & Spa Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing