We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Canyon Plaza Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Buffalo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible Hotel”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Booked this hotel after some positive reviews from Tripadvisor. Do not be misled and do not book this hotel. It is in need of some serious makeover. The room we got had a musty smell and we immediately requested a change. The hotel concierge was no help with local information. Food in the restaurant was the worst ever. Served cold and tasteless. The rooms are equipped with appliances and furniture in use from the 1980s. Convenience to the GC apart, this was a bad choice. Stay away.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank temruog_doof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    515
    595
    225
    173
See reviews for
522
699
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were only here for one night passing through on our trip across the country. The hotel is so close to the entrance of the park, we made a reservation here despite a lot of the poor reviews. It is the only hotel in Tusayan that accepts pets, so it was a must for us. Our room was in the unattached building and easy to get to from either the entrance within the building, and the patio door was convenient for bringing in all our luggage. The room was large and clean, and more than served its purpose. I could not connect to Wifi which would be one of my complaints, and the second complaint is that for the amount of money you pay to stay here, one would think at least a continental breakfast would be provided. We stopped at McDonald's on our way out of town in the morning, and it may very well have been just as expensive as the hotel restaurant would have been.... ridiculous.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We spent 3 days at the Grand Canyon. We spoke to Rick at the Concierge desk and he gave us the best advice on where to go and what to do - everything from where to eat (both in Tusayan and also on the way back to Flagstaff) through to where to watch the sunset. We followed his advice each day and he was totally spot on with his recommendations. Our time at the grand Canyon was the highlight of our US trip.

Room Tip: We had a room/suite at the rear of the complex - was large with a separate lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ros H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
491 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

The reason to stay at this hotel is that it's close to the Grand Canyon and inexpensive. It's fine for that purpose and not much else. The room was clean with lodge-style furnishings. The room had a small deck, but the view is of a tree. An old tube TV and free (but inconsistent) wi-Fi round out the room experience.

The property itself has an outdoor pool and hot tub and an indoor hot tub. The restaurant did not look appealing, but there are few options in the area, and the breakfast buffet was fine ($15 price includes coffee and juice). There is a gift shop and also a tiny fitness room with a treadmill and elliptical machine.

The property is close to the Park entrance. It's a comfortable and clean enough place to sleep and shower before and after a trip to the Grand Canyon, and as long as you don't expect much more, you'll be satisfied with it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean, quality of a motel six in the actual room. The hotel has a heated/air conditioned courtyard with plants, trees, tables/chairs, and hot tub. Clean room. Good for people that have not reserved there room at the village in the national park. We avoided the food because of all the bad reviews and enjoyed our stay.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allnuttvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Pros: Only
one mile from the entrance to the Grand Canyon national park! The staff was very friendly. We arrived at the hotel around 11:00 and requested an early check in. They accommodated us as best they could and got us a room by 2:00. (Regular check in is 4:00). They allow pets. It looks like the hotel has been updated, was clean and comfortable. Price-- we paid $99 for a weekday night in October which I thought was pretty reasonable considering we are in a very touristy area.

Cons: It's an older hotel. Late check in, 4:00.

Room Tip: If you are here in the fall/winter, I would ask for a room in the main building so you are close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules46Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The town of Tusayan really did more to sour my stay here than anything else, with the over the top price gouging, the rampant crowds and insufferable congestion. Unfortunately the resort here was no exception.

I ponied up $200 to get a room for the night, received a nice, spacious room right by the entrance (very convenient). Somehow someone managed to barge right into my room while I was in the bathroom before they realized they had the wrong room, a very awkward way to find out I had lean into the door with some effort to make sure it locked properly. The patio would have normally been a nice touch, but it just opens up into another parking lot, and the patio furniture were filthy and best off not touching.

The parking lot and entrance is... I don't even know how to describe it. The actual entrance is hidden behind the National Geographics Visitors Center and very easy to miss. The parking lot itself is a narrow series of spaces that make it difficult to navigate through, especially when it starts getting filled up with Greyhound buses, one of who thoughtfully parked behind me, forcing me to twist and turn no less than 30 times before I could finally pull out of my space and escape town.

The WiFi was also nonexistent. Completely and utterly, NONEXISTENT. The same deal with the cellular (I use Verizon) and I'm not lying when I say that was hands down one of the worst experiences I have EVER had when it came to either making calls on my mobile or accessing the internet. NOTHING. WORKED. PERIOD. I actually had to flee, FLEE I say, to Grand Canyon Village and use the free WiFi offered by the general store in town. I LITERALLY COULD NOT FIND ACCESS ANYWHERE ELSE. Not even the Wendy's next to the hotel (which also offered free WiFi). I won't completely fault the hotel here because the dead zone seemed to affect the entire town, but still, if this was a common occurrence, offering wired internet access would have been a welcome alternative and at least brought some justification to the price gouging.

Oh, and no free breakfast. FAIL

Don't stay here, don't stay in Tusayan, don't even stop for coffee on your way to the Canyons. Not worth the price gouging, the crowds and the lack of modern amenities just for the convenience of being close to the national park.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
5.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Property: Canyon Plaza Resort
Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing