We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in a time capsule”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canyon Plaza Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Reviewed 4 January 2014

From registration through check out, it felt like we had stepped back in time. The lobby was cozy with a fireplace and Christmas tree. The staff was very friendly. There was something about the decor that felt like the resort's heyday may have included visits from the Vegas and/or Hollywood legends like Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin. Just a feeling - I haven't done any research to confirm.

The Christmas dinner buffet reminded me of holiday dinners when I was 12 (in the sixties!) - limited selection of entree, sides and desserts - of adequate quality but not fine dining.

We requested and got adjoining rooms. The rooms were quite spacious and nicely laid out with a separate sitting area. An extra sink outside the bathroom was a nice touch. The furniture was dated but sturdy. The room was clean.

We were happy with our overnight stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

593 - 599 of 1,762 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

Spent the first two nights of our cross country road trip here. Never been to the Grand Canyon so we weren't quite sure what to expect, especially traveling with our two hyperactive dogs. The stay at Canyon Plaza was very nice. We arrived pretty late and there wasn't very good signage so we had a little bit of difficulty finding the check-in but once we got settled in, everything was great. They gave us discount vouchers for the breakfast and dinner buffets but due to their pet polices we couldn't take advantage of them. (Dogs are not allowed in the rooms unattended and it was too cold to leave them in the car). We ended up getting breakfast to go from the restaurant but that was way too expensive to do twice ($35 for two plates of eggs, toast and bacon with coffee and orange juice). We found out quickly that everything in the Grand Canyon was pretty pricey (McDonald's breakfast was $17 for two egg sandwich meals. Probably because there's nothing else up there so what else are you going to do?). The staff was very courteous and the room was quite large. They ended up moving us to a handicap suite so the dogs could be on the ground floor so it was super convenient to have the bonus room with dividing door for an extra quiet sleeping experience. The Grand Canyon was super awesome and we would definitely consider staying here again if we ever return. Check out the National Geographic Visitor Center right up the road from hotel for the $25 Park Pass which lasts for 7 days. With the dogs, we were only allowed to hike along the rim but it was a beautiful 7 mile loop with amazing views and photo ops. A "must go" for anyone who has not been.

Room Tip: Go for the suites if traveling with kids or pets. Bonus room is up front and can be sectioned off by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alec R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Booked this hotel after some positive reviews from Tripadvisor. Do not be misled and do not book this hotel. It is in need of some serious makeover. The room we got had a musty smell and we immediately requested a change. The hotel concierge was no help with local information. Food in the restaurant was the worst ever. Served cold and tasteless. The rooms are equipped with appliances and furniture in use from the 1980s. Convenience to the GC apart, this was a bad choice. Stay away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank temruog_doof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were only here for one night passing through on our trip across the country. The hotel is so close to the entrance of the park, we made a reservation here despite a lot of the poor reviews. It is the only hotel in Tusayan that accepts pets, so it was a must for us. Our room was in the unattached building and easy to get to from either the entrance within the building, and the patio door was convenient for bringing in all our luggage. The room was large and clean, and more than served its purpose. I could not connect to Wifi which would be one of my complaints, and the second complaint is that for the amount of money you pay to stay here, one would think at least a continental breakfast would be provided. We stopped at McDonald's on our way out of town in the morning, and it may very well have been just as expensive as the hotel restaurant would have been.... ridiculous.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 61amyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We spent 3 days at the Grand Canyon. We spoke to Rick at the Concierge desk and he gave us the best advice on where to go and what to do - everything from where to eat (both in Tusayan and also on the way back to Flagstaff) through to where to watch the sunset. We followed his advice each day and he was totally spot on with his recommendations. Our time at the grand Canyon was the highlight of our US trip.

Room Tip: We had a room/suite at the rear of the complex - was large with a separate lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ros H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The reason to stay at this hotel is that it's close to the Grand Canyon and inexpensive. It's fine for that purpose and not much else. The room was clean with lodge-style furnishings. The room had a small deck, but the view is of a tree. An old tube TV and free (but inconsistent) wi-Fi round out the room experience.

The property itself has an outdoor pool and hot tub and an indoor hot tub. The restaurant did not look appealing, but there are few options in the area, and the breakfast buffet was fine ($15 price includes coffee and juice). There is a gift shop and also a tiny fitness room with a treadmill and elliptical machine.

The property is close to the Park entrance. It's a comfortable and clean enough place to sleep and shower before and after a trip to the Grand Canyon, and as long as you don't expect much more, you'll be satisfied with it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel was clean, quality of a motel six in the actual room. The hotel has a heated/air conditioned courtyard with plants, trees, tables/chairs, and hot tub. Clean room. Good for people that have not reserved there room at the village in the national park. We avoided the food because of all the bad reviews and enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Allnuttvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
5.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,611 reviews
0 mi away
Grand Canyon Plaza
Grand Canyon Plaza
#6 of 6 in Tusayan
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: £65 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing