We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dark, dirty room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Canyon Plaza Resort
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
toronto
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dark, dirty room”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The hotel is unacceptable, especially at the $220 night price. The carpet and blanket were stained, the bathroom grout filthy, the furniture scratched in the small, dark room. This was a room for people with a disability and the safety bars in the bathroom were loose! There may be more acceptable rooms, but this room was NOT

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doreenelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    515
    595
    225
    173
See reviews for
522
699
49
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

more expensive then a five stars hotel on the strip the only good thing is location very close to the resort.
the furniture is old,the TV is a very old model,nothing was invested for the last 25 years.
And before I forget the breakfast (not included) was one of the worst I had in years.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

One of the best hotels, price wise and distance wise to visit the Grand Canyon. The rooms can be a little more soundproof. Rooms are clean and tidy. Gives a vintage look. The staff is friendly. Looks like a motel from the outside, but much better inside.
Restaurants, coffee shops, souvenir shops are right outside.
Overall, one of the best budget hotels, clean and convenient to visit the Grand Canyon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djbxtreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My wife and I recently went on a mini trip to the Grand Canyon and we stayed at this hotel. The best part about the hotel is the location, as it's only a few miles from the Grand Canyon. Unfortunately, that's the only thing that we liked about this hotel.

First of all, from the pictures online the hotel actually looks really nice. Pictures can be very deceiving. We were shocked when we saw the room. For $150 a night, we figured it had to be pretty nice. Wrong. I've stayed at hotels for half that price that were the same or better. Inside the hotel, the so called "atrium", is a disgusting display of fake plants and smells like someone set off a chlorine bomb. The room was small, outdated, and felt and looked unclean. The door to get into the building where our room was had a keypad that didn't work so we had to walk around the other side of the hotel, through construction, to get in. Later, we decided to go to the jacuzzi and while we were in the lukewarm water, the pool guy was doing maintenance and there were teenagers yelling from the top floor.

From start to finish, our experience at this hotel was unpleasant. The location is nice and close to the Grand Canyon, but I wouldn't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 89kenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

After reading a few negative reviews I was a little concerned about staying here, but I'm glad I did. Reasonable room rates and great location. We booked a mini suite that had a little refrigerator and a microwave. The amenities are very simple and there are no-bells or whistles but all I really wanted was a clean, comfortable place to stay that was VERY close to the park entrance. We got up at 5:30am and grabbed a cup of coffee, then headed out to to Mather Point to watch the sunrise. I would have had to pay pay TWICE as much to stay INSIDE the park. The 5 minute drive was no big deal and we already had our park pass which we purchased the day before, so we breezed right through the entrance gates.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereRyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our room was very average. The room was cramped and in need of an urgent renovation. It was very cold but the only heating in the room was a reverse cycle air-conditioning unit situated in the main room (with broken controls). The bathroom was huge but had absolutely no heating. I think our room may have been especially set up for wheelchair access because of the size of the bathroom and all the handrails. This room may have been an aberration but next time I would check to make sure I didn't get this room again.
The location of the Resort was fabulous because it is so close to the Grand Canyon. Other than staying within the Canyon park, I think it is the closest location to the Canyon. The Grand Canyon is only a short drive from the Resort.
I note that when you pay to enter the Grand Canyon park your entry ticket is valid for several days so you don't have to pay each time you enter.
I called the front desk a couple of times to complain about appliances not working (including the air conditioning unit). A maintenance person turned up almost immediately which was terrific.

Room Tip: We stayed in a first floor unit which appeared to have been especially set up for wheelchair access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IBenevolentDictatorI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our accommodations couldn't have been better. The hotel is off the main road so we didn't have any traffic noise. Our suite was large and comfortable and I especially liked to two sinks, one of which was not in the bathroom. The folks at check-in were very nice as was the entire staff. The breakfast buffet was enormous, very well presented and good but was not included in the room price. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjfralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,334 reviews
5.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Property: Canyon Plaza Resort
Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing