We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated and a bit overpriced!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Canyon Plaza Resort
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Mt Prospect, IL
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Dated and a bit overpriced!”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hotel is spread out over 2-3 buildings. The rooms are large but are dated. Our room had a large CRT TV built into an armoire. On the other hand, we had to try repeatedly to get on their Wifi network because of limited capacity (IP adresses). We finally got on after another guest had signed off. The hotel does offer a pool and an indoor Jacuzzi. Those are nice amenities after a long day at the Grand Canyon. The hotel restaurant is OK in a pinch. Their buffet is a bit overpriced. Their salads despite their fancy names are very basic. Fortunately there are fast food options in Tusayan. We ended up going to McDonald for breakfast and we were not alone.
To get the most of your hotel dollar in the Grand Canyon, your best bet is to reserve early and get into one of the hotels inside the Park itself and avoid the Tusayan hotels.

Room Tip: They do offer rooms that connect. That's a nice feature for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FSYMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    509
    587
    225
    173
See reviews for
518
692
49
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms surround a large atrium with dining and a large hot tub. Reminded me of a hotel in a Tupelo, MS. I was wondering when Elvis was going to appear. It is rather dated with poor room layout. However, beds and rooms were comfortable. The restaurant was barely passable. Great location for visiting the park. If you have time, see the Grand Canyon IMAX movie. It was great.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BethM1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doncaster
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were with a tour party from the UK and reading the reviews were expecting the worst here. We were pleasantly surprised, perhaps we were lucky. We were in the annexe at the very far end away from reception, overlooking the swimming pool in a clean room. No complaints, it was basic but it reminded us of holidays in Spain. A take away pizza, a bottle of wine on the balcony with patio table and chairs, a perfect evening, a good nights sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony overlooking swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnygardencity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The staff was very unaccomodating. The rooms were very basic and run down.
The write-up was quite deceptive. I thought the hotel was very near the canyon and
The distance was not what expected
I also paid for the room in advance and arrived a day earlier. They would not accommodate me.
The hotel ended up getting two nights payment for one night.
The rooms were so noisy we ended up leaving at 5 am to continue our drive.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for one night while exploring the Grand Canyon, this hotel is one of those that really takes advantage of it's location. The place is dated with staff who don't seem to know too much or appeared to shy to even talk to us. Noisy rooms can hear people outside the room and next door. For what we paid we expected a lot more.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else if you don't want to be ripped off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were really happy with the Canyon Plaza Resort. The rooms are good sized, clean, and with an exceptionally friendly staff. We only stayed one night, but we were very happy with our accommodations. The breakfast buffet is as complete as you'd hope, and a good way to start your tour of the canyon. The hot tub was a great way to cap off a great day at the park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HalloweenHJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If only web page had said it was behind the IMAX we would have found it much quicker. I spent 15 mins trying to find reception, going into several blocks before a young man told me where it was. The sign for reception was hidden behind a tall conifer! I asked for a sunny balcony & we were taken up the hill a good half mile to suites adjacent to staff quarters. However it was not peaceful as a jack hammer was at work across the hillside on a building site. We didn't want to walk down (we are in our mid 70's) and we wanted to have a glass of wine with our dinner so couldn't drive. We were given a lift both ways which was good. We had to turn off the fridge- too noisy. We had to get our of bed to use the bed side light though it was an excellent reading light. Good value buffet and the concierge, Rich was very helpful.

Room Tip: Room in main block would be central.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.3 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
5.6 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 5 in Tusayan
2,286 reviews
5.8 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canyon Plaza Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyon Plaza Resort

Property: Canyon Plaza Resort
Address: 406 Canyon Plaza Lane, Grand Canyon, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Canyon Plaza Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 1 mile from the South Rim entrance to the Grand Canyon National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canyon Plaza Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canyon Plaza Hotel Tusayan
Quality Inn Grand Canyon National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing