We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Would've given 5 stars if the internet wasn't so very slow! I need internet to do remote work, and it's important to me that it's reasonable fast - the internet at this hotel was dial-up speed and many things timed out before they could load. Otherwise, this is a very clean hotel with a good selection at the free breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    1,151
    733
    240
    108
See reviews for
1,020
1,132
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Excellent staff, courteous and helpful. It was our first time at the Grand Canyon and the pleasant lady at the front desk spent several minutes with us giving directions, advice, restaurant recommendations. We stayed in a king suite and the room was quiet, clean and quaint. Wish we could have stayed more than one night, but we do plan to return and will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We only stayed here one night and booked 2 rooms for 6 of us.
We arrived quite tired after our drive from Vegas but we were warmly welcomed and quickly checked in.
Our rooms were comfortable and spacious and we even had a fridge and microwave in the room which was an added bonus.
The small town that this hotel is situated in has various eateries all within walking distance so finding a evening meal wasnt a problem.
We got up very early and headed off to the Grand Canyon to see sunrise and it was well worth the early start! The hotel is really close to the park entrance and even though it was really foggy we had no trouble getting there.
After sunrise we headed back to the hotel for breakfast.
The breakfast was plentiful and very nice, the seating area was larger than we first thought and we didnt have any problem finding seating for all six of us. It is the normal HIE buffet with plenty of choice and as much as you like of everything, including coffe, tea and juice.
After breakfast we packed up and set off back the the Gran Canyon where we spent the rest of the day.
This hotel is an excellent place to stay if you, like us, dont have a lot of time in the area. It was rather expensive so If I was staying longer I would look around for a better deal but for one night it was well worth the money

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wishfulwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherbrooke, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
821 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 462 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012

I am usually a fan of this chain and a Priority Club member. However this has to be my worst experience with this chain. First some positive. It is in a convenient location if you cannot stay in the Village. The room was also clean. I have noticed in the corridor that some rooms had the "Priority Club" sign on the door. Not sure what it means but ours did not.
The hotel was full that night. It advertises high speed internet. This is not quite exact. It reminded me of my old dial-up way back then. But again that was when the internet was actually working. When trying to load a new page we would often get the message saying that we were already connected and please call this number (1-800 number for technical support). Desperate, we eventually called technical support. Spend about 30 minutes on hold or talking to a technician who could not really sove the problem. There was just too much demand for the bandwidth that they have.
Second, our room was old and ddi not look like the photos. The bathroom was tiny and when being opened, the door would nip the toilet. I will post a photo later.
Finally, breakfast. Limited selection but more importantly, the breakfast room is way to small for the size of the hotel. When we showed up the place was full. You had to fight to get to the food then wait for a table, checking who was almost finished eating. It also means that others are standing next to you while you eat watching you like a hawk, waiting for your table.
This is not the place to go when times are busy.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPDeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Jean-Pierre D,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation on this day especially with the room accommodation that you received and Internet connection not living up to promise.

We value you as our Priority Club Rewards Member and your comments will be used to improve our efforts.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

busselton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed three nights and found the hotel both clean and comfortable.the staff were friendly
and helpful.Being located near the Grand Canyon the hotel has many tourist coaches.
There are a number of good restaurants within ten minutes walk. If visiting the Grand Canyon
I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank malcolm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
True Brit
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here overnight just to visit the Canyon, as we're all the other guests. The room was plain and simple, giving us a good nights sleep. So close to the South rim, we had plenty of time to do all the things we wanted.
The staff were pleasant and helpful, the breakfast more than adequate.

Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sunshinebrit18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

During our visit to US we drove from vegas to Phoenix Via canyon.As we wanted to visit canyon we booked two rooms in this hotel and breakfast was complimentary.The drive till hotel is Via Hoover dam which is one of the most amazing drive .We reached hotel in the evening a Lovely hotel with lot of open area .Rooms are nice clean.Few fast food joint are near by we went for shopping and dinner at those area since hotel is quite close to canyon we went for a drive to see the sunset and which was most amazing view we could have seen.had a good comfortable sleep away from any sound or pollution in the morning we went for sunrise at canyon again breathtaking view came back for breakfast which was continental but sufficient for us overall a good positive stay thanks you hotel staff...

Room Tip: a worth trying is indoor swimming pool....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vipul6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,685 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,409 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing