We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Holiday Inn Express” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worst Holiday Inn Express”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

My wife and I love Holiday Inn Expresses. They are always clean, comfortable and affordable. Since most are identical, we trust the brand.

Not so with this property. Although we were greeted, and checked in by a very nice lady, going into the room changed our mind about this Holiday Inn Express.

The hallway was our first clue. Normally, Holiday Inn Expresses are clean throughout. Not so with this one. More like an older Super 8. The hallway smelled and was littered with trash/dirt/misc stuff. (although there was a man going around with a "fogging device" making a sweet scent.)

As we always check the beds and floors for bed bugs, we see how well the places are kept. This one had several issues never seen in a Holiday Inn Express.

One: The mattress was old, badly worn and had a nasty red stain on the side. The date, written on the mattress, with making pen, was Nov. 2011. I feel the mattress was much older.

Two: There was no mattress pad. and no protection from the dirty mattress.

Three: The bottom sheet was place on inside out, giving us the impression it has been "turned" rather than replaced. It did not smell fresh.

Four: Moving the bed found all sorts of dirt, lint and other things on the floor. Again, something we have never seen in a Holiday inn Express.

We contacted the staff. A young man came to check the problems. He said he would get back to us. We were in the room for about an hour, including checking the first room, before our room was changed.

The new room was better, but the floor was still not as good as expected in a IHG property. My wife had insisted on a mattress pad, which the new room had.

No one apologized for the first room and we were treated as if we were a problem.

And, no workout room?

This kind of facility makes us believe it is not locally owned and operated. This kind of setting makes us believe it is foreign owned by people who don't care about the patrons.

We will continue to use Holiday Inn Expresses because this is a very isolated case. In fact, we have never seen this kind of situation in a Holiday Inn Express or any IHG property.

There are several other motels in the area. I would never use this one again.

Room Tip: Check the room BEFORE you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTInstructor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear PTInstructor,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We are very sorry to read that you experienced inconvenience because we did not meet your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    1,108
    707
    225
    102
See reviews for
963
1,093
50
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Londonderry, NI
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

Only 5 minute drive to Grand Canyon national park south entrance. We didn't spend any time in the hotel other than to sleep as you are up early to see sunrise over Grand Canyon and stay until sunset. Free parking and breakfast included which is a bonus....the breakfast room is very busy with a shortage of tables & chairs especially before sunrise time.
Not a lot of choice in Tusayan for dining but nice pizza shop next door to the general stores. The general stores are a little pricey due to the location but good for snacks.
Very reasonably priced

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisemcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Louisemcc,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. It is good to know that our parking options were of convenience and the breakfast served suited your needs. It is always nice to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

We hope the next time your travels bring you back to the area, you choose us again for your lodging needs.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

this hotel was fine, and if you are looking for somewhere to stay for the grandcanyon it is just that... fine (its not actually in the grand canyon but is very close), but having spent a lot of time in holiday inns I don't think it is their best. It took a long time to check in, and even out of season the breakfast room was very crowded, no idea how it manages when it is full. saying that they were very friendly, and helpful at reception and the rooms were clean. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I was visiting the grand canyon, it was just not quite up to the usual holiday inn standard.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattie_thompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear mattie_thompson,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. However, I would like to apologize for any inconvenience your breakfast experience may have caused you. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

We decided to stay to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon when we could not get reservations inside the park. It was a great choice. First, long story - because the GC was part of the government shut down we had to cancel our reservation (end up at the Hualapai GC West, you can see my review). But, Eustacia was very understanding. The GC reopened a couple of days before our trip (thank you Gov. Brewer and the people of Arizona) and since we still had an unreserved night I contacted Eustacia and she was able to book us a room.
Eustacia greeted us and she was so very kind and helpful. The room was comfortable and very quiet, despite that there were lots and lots of people. The bed was so restful. It was in the low thirties when we arrived, heading to the high twenties and we were perfectly comfortable. I have absolutely no complaints, in fact we could have spent a day or two more.
It is a short drive to the South entrance.

Room Tip: In the back, overlooking part of a roof, could see the pool area off to the right; no traffic, no no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Fast check in and out. The staff was very friendly went out of their way to be very nice. The WIFI was down while there. They were very apologetic and did everything to help solve the problem. Excellant location to the Grand Canyon. Great price. Defiently staying again next year.

Room Tip: all rooms are equal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tequesta N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your candid review of our property. All reviews are shared withe all of our associates and our Management team to ensure that each and every one of our guests are provided with an enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable stay here at the Grand Canyon. Hopefully we will visit with you upon your return trip in the nesr future and that you will communicate with either the Manager on duty or myself, Elena Villanueva, General Manager. May you and yours have a wonderful Holiday season from our house to yours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Clean, no-frills accommodation. Prices at all the hotels along this road in Tusayan were comparable (all slightly overpriced), so it was just based on TA reviews that we chose to stay here, and we were not disappointed. We were in a room with two queen beds, large enough for three people. The room and bathroom were well maintained. Wifi was very slow though - that could definitely use some improvement. Breakfast was good and definitely exceeded our expectations - we literally expected just a bagel and coffee! Instead we got a large spread of pastries, pancakes, bacon and eggs, gravy and biscuits, toast, cereal, flavoured yogurt, fruit, juice and coffee. Not bad at all!! Staying in Tusayan is on the whole was an advantage because of its close proximity to the National Park entrance - it's just one straight road away! That being said, I think the hotel you stay in at the Grand Canyon is of little consequence as the sheer magnitude and beauty of the landscape just takes your breath away and will make your trip unforgettable anyway!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crypticcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Your candid review of our property was deeply appreciated, especially the detailed description of different breakfast food options! We were so happy for you and the memories created during your visit and hope that you will return in the near future for a pleasant, relaxing and comfortable stay here at the Grand Canyon! Unfortunately the wifi service provided in this remote area will remain much the same in the foreseeable future as the one provider refuses to upgrade and all of us here at the G Canyon are all in the same boat, frozen in time. All of us here at the Holiday Inn Exp Grand Canyon strive to provide to each of our guests the very best of experiences during their visit and hope to see you in the near future for a return visit. Thank you, Elena Villanueva, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, in one of the mini-suites, on the first floor (3-story). There are two buildings, the main, and another smaller across the street, which is where we were located. Each has their own bkfst. room .. neither has a workout room, but we were told they were "coming soon". Of course, if you are walking around the G. Canyon, who needs the room, right ? The property is located a short time from the So. entrance to G. Canyon. The suite is; walk into the LR. with small sofa, TV, desk and chair. Next comes the "kitchen" area with a Microwave, refrigerator, small sink, coffeemaker - shelving and cabinets. Next to this is the bath area - back out into the hallway, and go into the BR. area .. Bed, side tables, lg. window w/ac-heat, tv, dresser. All was very clean, and comfortable. We had brought our own foods from home, to be re-heated (also plates, utensils, etc.) so this worked just fine for us, and we were able to save some $$. After a morning of visiting the Canyon, we stopped by a place in Tusayan, called R.P.'s Stage Stop, that advertised lunch, etc. We got a sandwich, which was excellent . The bkfst at motel was pretty good .. staffed, and refilled, etc. Hot and cold things. We were absolutely amazed, each day, that the parking lots of each motel were virtually empty, but by 4:30 + they were packed ..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuddAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elena V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We greatly appreciate your candid review of our property and the detailed description of our facilities. All of our reviews are shared with all of our associates and Management team as we strive to provide to each and every one of our guests a most enjoyable, relaxing and comfortable stay, memories in the making! Hopefully we will have the pleasure of a return visit in the ner future when you will be able to make use of our excercise room! Wishing for you and yours a most wonderful holiday season and for your next visit please do not hesitate to communicate either with our Manager on duty or myself, Elena Villanueva, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 5 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing