We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Locations is everything!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
330 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Locations is everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Grand Canyon and the location was just perfect! We were unable to get a room in the actual Canyon and for the cost the Holiday Inn was perfect! Just a few miles from the entrance of the park.
Hotel was packed on a Wednesday night, parking was tight but check in was quick. Room rate was fair and the room was good
They served a good breakfast selection, maybe would need more actual eating/dining space.

The hotel is just right if you plan to visit the Canyon for a night of so, I had no issues with anything and just recommend that the dinner/eating options are very few as far as dinners goes.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pastytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    1,108
    707
    225
    102
See reviews for
963
1,093
50
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013 via mobile

Some of the previous reviews surprised me. My ratings are always based on the price you pay for a night. For $95 pn for two adults and a 17 year old you aren't going to get a flash 5 star room.

It was quiet while we were there (Dec). Check in and out was easy and Felix on the front desk went out of his way to be helpful.

The room was clean, spacious enough and the bed was super comfortable. I was surprised to have some hot items for breakfast. Other than bagels and toast there was a pancake machine and bacon and omelette style eggs. Yes the egg was a little odd with some form of cheese in it but I just scraped it out. It was a reasonable start for the day.

It was far more economical to stay here than in the park. The drive in was quick and easy and I believe there is also a free bus that runs into the park as well.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank tsutt35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
136 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

We choose this hotel for location and because other Holiday Inn Express' have been nice....unfortunately this one didn't match up to the others.

The first room we got was not very good the mattress was caving in and the tub looked like it had not been cleaned.

The second room was okay but still didn't feel overly clean and the staff at the front desk was not overly helpful or friendly.

Can't say I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jcm88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 22 December 2013
Dear jcm88,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. However, it sounds like we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience due to the conditions of your room. Please accept our sincere apologies for falling short of your expectations. We take all reviews very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

Dublin
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We visited grand canyon on 28th Nov 2103 and pre booked room here. Finding the hotel was easy, check in was quick. Parking is bit of mess. Place was crowded. Room are spacious and all right.
Provided free water bottle and snack in the room, which was good. Room and bathrooms are clean. Bedding and linens were clean, provided firm and soft pillows.

Pro: Location is best
Con: Bed/Mattress are not comfortable at all, you could hear spring cracking while we tossed in the bed most of the night. They need new good quality mattresses in the room
Pro/Con: They have good size break fast area but still not big enough for this property size, it was full to the capacity, had lot of selection of items for break fast. Pancake is good, boiled egss good. toaster not working. Long lines. over all breakfast is good they just need more space for it.

I would try another hotel if I come to this area next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AGupta68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear AGupta68,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. We apologize for the experience you had with the bed you had in your room and our breakfast area did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel is fine for basic accomodations that are close to Grand Canyon. However, this property is not really set up to handle the amount of guests it holds. When we were there, the breakfast room was a mob scene, all tables were filled, people spilled over into the lobby and hallway and the staff could not keep up with refilling food and beverages. The pool area was also packed to the brim and at nighttime is dimly lit. The ceiling drips from condensation, so if you are sitting on the side of the pool, you're likely to get a few drops on your head. The room itself was fine, even if we never did get the wifi to work properly. Had to wait about 20 minutes in the check-in line.

Room Tip: Higher rooms away from stairwells and elevators are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mamasfolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Dear mamasfolly,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided.

Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

I had prepaid on the Holiday Inn Express website for a room for a family trip in July 2013. I carefully plan ahead for my family trips. When we arrived, the hotel could not find our reservation. I gave the clerk our prepaid paperwork, and he said that our reservation had been cancelled (after prepaying without the possibility of a refund). We had not cancelled.

We were travelling with another family, who has platinum status (whatever the highest level travel status is) at Holiday Inn Express, and made it clear that we were together. The hotel found 2 rooms for our family of four that are usually saved for the bus drivers of tour groups. Without my friend, we may have been without a hotel room in high season.

It is easy to take the reservation, but this hotel may not hold your reservation, even with prepayment on their own website. I would stay elsewhere next time. This hotel is not reliable.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank mennoactuary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear mennoactuary,

Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay with us. We're disappointed to hear that your stay fell below your vacation expectations. We apologize for any inconvenience in your check-in process that you experienced. We appreciate you bringing it to our attention, to give us the chance to improve future guests' experiences. We always encourage our guests to let us know right away if there are any issues or needs that they experience during their stay with us.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Visited 24 & 25 November 2013 with 2 Queen bedroom.

Pro's =
1. close to Grand Canyon National Park

Con's =
1. Terrible breakfast, horrible omlette's with processed type cheese.
2. Gross coffee
3. Non useable guest internet was extremely slow
4. Outdated hotel
5. Rooms very dark
6. Rooms are small

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JGMONT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 15 December 2013
Dear JGMONT,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I appreciate the kind remarks on our hotel location. We are sorry the breakfast selections and room accommodations you received was less than satisfactory. We do apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Again, we hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to the area.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,624 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 5 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing