We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Martinez, California, United States
Level Contributor
383 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise...”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The friendly and patient staff were attending courteously to a minor guest complaint when we arrived, backing up the check-in line a bit. Our room was clean and updated and the bed was comfortable, but the heater/cooler was inexplicably set to AC when we arrived, so we had to fiddle with the heat for the rest of the night to get the temperature right. By the look of the shipping container full of carpet rolls out back, they are updating a lot of rooms over the off-season. There was banging in the room above us and I called the counter at about 530 pm to inquire how much longer that would go on and they had the workers stop immediately.Nice! The concrete construction of the building makes for a quiet room during the night. The breakfest buffet was a slight cut above the typical starch-fest at a low-cost hotel. Well stocked, clean and well-laid out. Again, very courteous staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    1,120
    713
    229
    104
See reviews for
982
1,098
51
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

For £50 a night you can't get better value than this. Good sized rooms, comfy beds, large HD TV in the room. Didn't use the spa or test out the room service so can't comment on that. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel close to the canyon then this fits the bill.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Terrible service. Obviously feeding off the location. Called front desk to ask for more towels and nobody showed up. Breakfast area ran out of room and very thin walls. Easy access to the Grand Canyon. Only plan on staying one night, after that it's a waste of money.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Johanna P,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had in our breakfast area and the service you received fell below your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We walked in to a "No Vacancy" sign which can either be really good or really bad for service. Thankfully, it was really good. Check in was very fast and easy. Room was clean and ready for us. Beds were softer than we prefer, but they were clean that's what's most important. Sheets/comforter was tucked in WAY short so we had to completely undo it to have enough to cover shoulders but these are VERY MINOR things and not enough to ding the rating. We were traveling with our 11 year old and thought he'd be able to crash on the couch. We had a mini-suite. He's 4'9", but alas, it's only a loveseat and this wasn't even close to working. So if traveling with a child, plan on bringing a bed roll or inflatable bed for comfort if staying awhile. Oh, and walls are paper thin so bring your ear plugs. Showers were GREAT but bring your own hair dryer, they just have the mini ones. Indoor Pool was nice for the kid. Free Breakfast is a big bonus and there was plenty of it, just make sure to get back in time after you get up to watch the sunset at the rim. After all, that's the main attraction! Eat at Plaza Bonita for dinner. Very yummy and stop at the Cruisers Cafe 66 in Williams on your way up or back for a very tasty dinner and Route 66 gift shop.

Room Tip: There aren't any real views here, just bring your earplugs and your own hair dryer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeachsideMartinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel (as are all hotels in Tusayan) is right at entrance of the Grand Canyon. Location therefore is excellent. Unfortunately this is the only positive point for this hotel.
Choosing Holiday Inn I expected a certain standard of service. But it seems that in Tusayan they are so certain of visitors (thanks to the Grand Canyon) that they are not interested in giving good service.
Everything in the hotel is mediocre (the rooms, the breakfast,...) but hey, you don't visit Tusayan to stay in your hotel all day long. The wifi is close to non existent. But again, I can live with that. What I cannot forgive is no attention to hygiëne! While gathering all our belongings before check-out my boyfriend accidentally lifted the undersheet of the bed. Horror! The padding was full of dried stains of blood and urine! This is really unacceptable!
After complaining to the reception they were understanding and gave us a discount. But I did not get the impression that something structural would be done to avoid this in future.
I can only give one advice: stay away from this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Sandra D,

We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
125 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

I enjoyed my one night stay at the Holiday Inn when visiting the park. The rooms were large, internet and a desk was available.

I really enjoyed the indoor pool - and breakfast was excellent and included in the rate.
The hotel is close to restaurants and just miles from the Canyon.

Excellent choice - and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eTurboNews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinelander, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
125 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Right off the bat the staff was great!! The kids were ready to swim, and we needed to squeeze in one more hike at the GC. They originally had a room with fridge/micro for us, but allowed us to check in 2 hours early and gave us a room straight across from the pool! Perfect for the kids to run back and forth! We had a good time hanging out in the pool and hot tub which were indoor. The facility and rooms were a bit above basic but perfect for our needs. The buffet breakfast was laid out nicely with identical foods on opposite sides of the room; this seemed to create two lines which was nice for a crowded morning meal. Check in/out quick and easy. Lots of parking. Very reasonable price; booked thru HI 800 number after finding best price advertised online.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CozumeLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,079 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
1,644 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,833 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 5 in Tusayan
2,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing