We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Help from the Front Desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Calgary Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Help from the Front Desk”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This Holiday Inn Express is typical of the chain. I travel often and am a Priority Club member that oscillates on their gradient between Platinum and Gold. I am very familiar with HIX. This is a good one. We checked in late (10:30 PM) on a Saturday night only to find that my online reservation had been made for the wrong date (that was my fault)-- and I had missed by 1 night. The hotel appeared to be full, so I was concerned. We were tired from a day of touring.

The lady at the front desk made everything right. She booked us into a suite, since the regular rooms were all taken. She charged me nothing, since my credit card had been charged as a no-show for the previous night. I could have hugged her, since this could have gone sideways in 50 different shades.

The room itself was fine- clean, new-ish, and comfortable. We loved the free HBO and hi-def TV. Breakfast on Sunday morning was again typical HIX-- except that we could not find any fresh fruit except for one tired looking apple. We like to have fresh fruit at breakfast. Minor detail.

I would definitely stay here again, and Tusayan is very close to the park gates for the Grand Canyon, with lots of amenities in the town.

Room Tip: Holiday Inn Express has no restaurant-- they serve a free light breakfast. There are good restauran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrism623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,768 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    1,142
    725
    238
    108
See reviews for
1,005
1,127
52
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Illinois
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed out of Las Vegas on this family vacation, rented a car and drove to the Grand Canyon for just two days. Had we been able to stay the week, I would've made reservations on the grounds of the National Park, but we chose this option and were very happy with how it turned out.

The hotel was located just a few minutes from the GC Natl Park entrance. The staff was very helpful with maps and times for getting into the park for sunrise/sunset and providing details on where to pick up essentials for staying at the Canyon all day long.

The room (2 queen beds) was what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express: clean and beds were comfortable. Bathroom was definitely small for a family of four, but clean and in good working order (toilet flushed well, water pressure was good). There was a mini-fridge that helped keep our perishables fresh. Parking was free and wifi worked ok (were told its spotty near the canyon anyway).

There were several chain and local restaurants nearby, but only several, although all were within walking distance (up and down a mile-long strip) of the hotel.

For staying at the Grand Canyon just a few days, this hotel was a good choice for cost and location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtzb4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear gtzb4,

Thank you for your considerate review. It is lovely to read you liked our location. We strive to provide our guests with an extraordinary experience and we are pleased to have the opportunity to do that for you during your visit with us. We truly appreciate your comments regarding our staff as we pride ourselves on excellent customer service. Your positive feedback makes it all worth our efforts.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
120 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Stayed for one night with my family on my way back from grand canyon. Nice clean value for money hotel .
Simple clean room with all the basic amenities, heater was working fine and so was the hot water in shower.
Breakfast was basic , but why to complain a it was included in room rates. Lot of restaurant and cafe close by to eat.

They have a big parking space , so no worries .

Stay if you are not looking for anything fancy .

Room Tip: try not to take the street facing room , as it gets noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rohit27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Well located for those visiting the South Rim of Grand Canyon. We got a good deal and stayed in a King Bed Minisuite for 2 nights. The suite was quite spacious with separate living room and bedroom (TVs in both rooms). The room itself was fine but looked tired and outdated. The lighting/ambience was also a bit too dark for my liking. The bed was OK. Bathroom was of decent size and provided with basic toiletries. Breakfast was basic "Express Start" style. The swimming pool was nice with a Jacuzzi tub. Should work well for for families with kids and friends but not for couples looking for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Dear BandBtraveller,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write to us regarding your stay at our Hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced with the lighting in the room.

We appreciated your observations and advice. We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome. We are please you did enjoy our spacious rooms and pool area.

We thank you for having chosen our Hotel. We take this opportunity to send you our best wishes.

Regards,

Brenda J.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinez, California, United States
Level Contributor
387 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

The friendly and patient staff were attending courteously to a minor guest complaint when we arrived, backing up the check-in line a bit. Our room was clean and updated and the bed was comfortable, but the heater/cooler was inexplicably set to AC when we arrived, so we had to fiddle with the heat for the rest of the night to get the temperature right. By the look of the shipping container full of carpet rolls out back, they are updating a lot of rooms over the off-season. There was banging in the room above us and I called the counter at about 530 pm to inquire how much longer that would go on and they had the workers stop immediately.Nice! The concrete construction of the building makes for a quiet room during the night. The breakfest buffet was a slight cut above the typical starch-fest at a low-cost hotel. Well stocked, clean and well-laid out. Again, very courteous staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

For £50 a night you can't get better value than this. Good sized rooms, comfy beds, large HD TV in the room. Didn't use the spa or test out the room service so can't comment on that. If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel close to the canyon then this fits the bill.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickl67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Terrible service. Obviously feeding off the location. Called front desk to ask for more towels and nobody showed up. Breakfast area ran out of room and very thin walls. Easy access to the Grand Canyon. Only plan on staying one night, after that it's a waste of money.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Johanna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Johanna P,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. Please accept our sincerest apology for the experience you had in our breakfast area and the service you received fell below your expectations. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and guest services are superior and strive to be the best hotel around. For that reason, the comments are troubling and will certainly be looked into. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,670 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,263 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#3 of 6 in Tusayan
2,370 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing