We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

This is nice hotel. The room is big and the bed is comfortable. It includes a hot breakfast that is very tasty, especially the cinnamon rolls. I chose the Holiday Inn Express because its reviews were good and its price was comparable to other hotels in the area. I'd stay here again. There were a few things I thought could use some work though.

The bathroom is small. You have to step in and around the toilet to be able to close the door. The toilet has a water saving toilet flush that does a half flush for urination and a full flush for solid waste disposal. I'm not used to it and never figured it out. About half the time I was waiting for the tank to refill to try again. Perhaps some instructions on the bathroom door would be helpful.

The suggestion would be to start breakfast earlier than 6:30. We were hiking most of the way down to the river. The earlier you can start the better. Nothing else in town is open earlier so the choice is to wait til 6:30 or do a 16-mile hike on an empty stomach. I can't imagine we are the only ones who stay here to go hiking.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doctor_D_in_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    1,108
    707
    225
    102
See reviews for
963
1,093
50
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

This hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes drive to the Grand Canyon park entrance. It is more affordable and you get a better quality hotels staying in Tusayan, compared to staying in the Grand Canyon village itself. The hotels seem all recently built in Tusayan and there are plenty of restaurants nearby which are all very popular. At the Holiday inn, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, and the rooms were as you might expect for a holiday inn express. Sadly, there were a few problems. The breakfast area is way too small for the number of guests. It was complete chaos! We went at 7.15am and it was pandemonium, mostly with families rushing to get out. It looked the same at 9am, when we checked out. Food choice was rather limited, and the hot water machine ran dry, meaning no hot tea for breakfast. They use disposable plates and cutlery, which is really cheap. We stayed in the suite, which means you get a slightly bigger room and an extra room, which we used to put our luggage in. It was meant to come with two types of wifi, neither of which were detectable with our devices, so we could not check our online plans/maps for the next day, which was frustrating. In summary, this review gets three stars only due to the friendly efforts of the staff and it's good location.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clive M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Clive M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is good to know you appreciate our great location and hotel staff. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and for the negative impression you had with the service and quality of food served during breakfast. We will certainly discuss your comments with the appropriate department. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we have to offer to our guests. Again, thank you for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley, NSW
Level Contributor
397 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We were very pleased when we opened the door to our lovely little mini-suite at this hotel - we had a king sized bedroom, ensuite bathroom, loungeroom and mini-kitchen with sink, fridge, & coffee maker. A great spot to spend a couple of days while visiting the Grand Canyon. The complimentary breakfast included pancakes, fruit, breads, bagels, pastries together with juices, yoghurt, and coffee which made a very nice start to the day in their pleasant breakfast room. The free parking and wifi was appreciated as was the availability of a nice hot tub. Tusayan has some good little shops, a post office, an Imax Theatre, and quite a few nice places to eat. We would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Freya1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

You have to keep in mind that likely your main reason for bedding down here is that you're going to get up early and out to see the Grand Canyon, and not hanging around this hotel. I agree with another reviewer, in that it's just a practical place to stay. The room was nice, and unlike some other reviewer, our room was cleaned (even though we had the sign up saying not to). The rooms were comfortable and the hotel is well located just outside the park entrance. I agree, though, with the reviewer who mentions that the breakfast is not that great. I usually pack my own oatmeal packets, but there were some available there if someone wants to skip the powdered eggs. There were quiet a few options so one could find something to eat, however, finding a place to eat is another story. The dining room is not able to accommodate all the guests, even if you try to come early or late. The room doors tend to slam, which sounded quiet loud, and you could hear noise easily when kids were crying or being loud in the hallways. But most noise settled down early enough, though you will get woken up early from these sounds as people made their way out in the morning. I've stayed in Grand Canyon itself in the past. I was trying to save money by staying outside the park. I think it's worth it if you can stay in the park, but if you can't get a room or are trying to save money, this is an OK option. They have a small pool. Used it twice and surprisingly it was empty.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hernse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherdsville, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Housekeeping service was poor. We had to ask for wash cloths and toilet tissue. There was no refrigerator in the room. Stayed three nights, and room was not cleaned one day. I could not recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Glenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Glenna S,

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit and for taking the time to write about your recent experience at our hotel. We strive to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the service you received from our housekeeping staff. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
165 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

Excellent hotel, quiet and comfortable. GPS unreliable in the area and took us off road to get here.
Friendly staff. Breakfast okay. Good location to visit the Grand Canyon. Lots of nearby restaurants in walking distance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiggle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montauroux, France
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

If you aren't staying in Canyon village itself, this place is practical and convenient for visiting the Grand Canyon. Located about 7 miles away on the main road North to the GC, it is in a small cluster of hotels and diners. Nothing spectacular, merely practical
Hotels in this chain are generally a known standard and this one did what it said on box. Everything was there & worked. Our room, on the 3rd floor in the main block, was big (king bed) and comfy; ideal for an overnight stay. We had a room with double connecting doors to the room next door; unfortunately too much noise came through of the occupants’ young kids
Breakfast the next morning was another story. Whereas the accommodation was, if anything, better than expected, breakfast was not. We knew the hotel was full but the sight at breakfast was incredible - all the tables were taken and people were eating on any available horizontal space, even in the corridors. OK, come back later ... but just then a table was vacated which we took. I have reluctantly come to accept industrial, "plastic" breakfasts at this chain (orange juice which tastes more like orange squash, industrial coffee and bread, powdered eggs (I suspect) and so on, but having to heat with small, flimsy, plastic cutlery and on foam-like plates is just a step too far in my opinion. It really does not belong in a hotel where the accommodation is of a different standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebechoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,623 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
5.8 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing