We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here the end of March for one night. During trip we had stayed at three other Holiday Inns. This one was the most expensive and we were disappointed in quality and service. Room was smaller then the others we stayed at. Pool was cold and no towels. Also whirlpool did not correctly work. Breakfast was okay. The hot items were cold. Overall, we expected more for a hotel that was almost $200.00 a night.



Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank dal923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear dal923,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the room size, pool and breakfast selection. We will look into this concerns.I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,084 - 1,090 of 2,941 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

The hotel is clean, the staff was friendly, helpful and the free breakfast was better than I've had elsewhere. The pancake machine was impressive! The ride to the canyon was pretty quick and since the town in so small, you are within walking distance to everything you need. The doors are pretty thin you can hear every little conversation and since it's a family oriented place, expect kids to be running up and down the halls..just imagine Disneyland.

I would recommend this place for families since places within the park are a lot more expensive, and the free breakfast helps save some money.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Theresa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The location is great, and the staff nice and helpful. It was a very busy place the two nights we were there with families on spring break. Perhaps that explains a wifi system that the four of us could not get access to consistently. The staff recommended best restaurant was not good and the restaurant asked us where we were staying and under what name so that they would know where to return any items left behind. I suspect there may be some other sort of collaboration as well. Breakfast was good but extremely crowded. Beds were a little soft. No refrigerator or microwave in room. Pricey because of location, which I understand.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Treehugger14625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Treehugger14625,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are so glad you liked the fine location of our hotel in the area. We would like to apologize for the shortfalls you have experienced and any inconvenience you may have encountered that did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

It was expensive as 2 queen beds room and dinning space was super busy for breakfast both of my days at 7am and 9am. I needed to wait 10 minutes to check in as 3 or 4 parties arrived prioir to me. I admit it is reasonable by consideing the fact we stayed in a litte busy season (spring break time) at very popular destination. It was just what I expected and nothing was wrong. If you do not mind driving 30 to 60 minutes before reaching the park, I would definintely recommend to stay out of this area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiroshi O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Dear Hiroshi O,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the check in experience. We will look into this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked a last-minute trip to the GC and were unable to secure lodging inside the national park. Hotwire hooked us up with this hotel, and I was disappointed before I realized that there are incredibly limited options in Tusayan. The hotel was clean, beds super comfortable, and staff friendly and courteous. Tusayan is small and all the restaurants- event takeout pizza- is within walking distance. The pool is disappointing, the spa more-so- very small and packed full of folks trying to get the energy out of their children, but probably to be expected in such a touristy area. I have read several reviews complaining about the breakfast and I don't understand the complaints. It was microwaved and a "heavy continental," but I had no problem getting in and getting out to eat the food and drink my coffee back in my room before getting ready to head out to the canyon, a short drive away. Judging from the outside of other hotels in the area, I'm not sure you can do much better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NavyCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

No military rates....paid more for one night than I did for three in SF Bay Area! Rooms were nice, hotel clean, great location near the Canyon. Convenient to stores, food, and gas. The town is about a mile long, so nothing is too far away. Breakfast was a free-for-all, a nightmare. Staff didn't clean the tables...at all. Breakfast area too small had bus load of others come in for breakfast, and take all the tables! I love the town, and this area of the Canyon, but will stay somewhere else next time. This was my 3rd time to this area.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Dear Robert S,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are delighted our location suited your travel well. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Please accept our sincere apology for the overall dissatisfaction you experienced. We have taken note of your comments regarding our breakfast area and this will be shared with our Management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

As older English travellers we usually preferred to stay in pretty unusual and quirky hotels on our travels around the south west, and this was our first, large, corporate type hotel, and I have to say we really enjoyed it. It was the hotel version of 'mass transit', but it was really well done. Perfectly nice rooms, all the facilities, all beautifully done. Feeding the masses at breakfast time was on an industrial scale, but again, really well done, with long hours, FANTASTIC choice, and for us, a chance to meet with some really nice fellow diners. Well positioned for the national park. My only complaint would be something the hotel had no control over, the damned helicopters coming over at dawn from Vegas and waking us up. Other than that we were very pleasantly surprised by the whole experience.

Room Tip: All good as far as we could tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,730 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,760 reviews
5.8 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,011 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: £62 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing