We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avg. room but good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Avg. room but good location”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We had a family of 5 (two adults and 3 small kids) stay on July 16 and 17th while visiting the Grand Canyon. We had wanted to actually stay inside the park but couldn’t get a room when we booked (5 months out) so we stayed just outside to be as close as possible. The proximity was actually very good. It only took us ~ 15 minutes from our hotel to reach the visitor center. The rooms were very small though. In particular the bathroom felt like a closet. Aside from that, it was a good experience. The breakfast was standard but the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RG_Tex_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear RG_Tex_2014,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review. We are happy to know that our location suited your needs. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    559
    1,151
    733
    240
    108
See reviews for
1,020
1,132
53
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, england
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

About six miles from the canyon ridge a nice hotel with free parking and complimentary breakfast, pretty much what you would expect from a Holiday Inn, clean nice size rooms with comfortable beds, breakfast was fine basic help yourself style but after being in the States for a while it made a welcome change to a large fry up. Outside of the hotel there were a few eating places and a couple of general stores. If you are going to Grand Canyon you will need to buy a park pass at a cost of $25 per car or you can take a shuttle bus with pick ups close by but you will still need a Canyon pass to show the driver. You can also buy a Pass that gets you into all the parks at a cost of $50 and this will last a year, we used ours at Yosemite, Brice, and Zion parks but it was not valid for Messa Verde.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy-brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear wendy-brian,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We are delighted to hear you found the rooms clean and the beds comfortable. We take all feedback from our guests seriously. It helps us gauge what we are doing right and what we need to improve on.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Not a lot of choice in Tusayan but the Holiday Inn was ok for a short stop off. Rooms are large (mini suite) and bathrooms ok but fairly basic with a weak shower. Breakfast is included which is helpful but fairly limited range on offer when we were there. They have apparently extended the range since.

There's not a lot in Tusayan but most people there are just visiting the Grand Canyon which is only 15 mins away and is truly stunning.

Room Tip: This is a quiet spot so I would expect all rooms to be just as quiet as ours, although we were in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanKit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear AlanKit,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We're sorry you were not well satisfied with the room you had and our breakfast selections. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

after a long day at the Grand Canyon this hotel offered the perfect night's rest. The beds were very comfortable, check in was smooth. the next day's breakfast was better than expected and the staff are very attentive. I'd definitely stay here again. I agree with another reviewer that the hotel might be difficult to find on a GPS (mine didn't even have Tusayan as an option). However if you are on highway 64 you are going to drive right by it on your way to the Grand Canyon entrance.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FineThingsinlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egaa, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed two nights at this Inn in order to be close to the Grand Canyon. We had no problem in getting rooms where we wanted them, thanks to the flexibility of the people at the front desk. The rooms were cozy and quiet. We were surprised to find that the breakfast area was absolutely packed with people when we went down alittle before 9. I had the impression that many of them were in some sort of a tour. It was a battle to eventually get a table, and then we had to fight to get at the food. The Inn has only an indoor pool with an adjoining jacuzzi that didn't work properly. Now that I think about it, I will reduce my overall rating from 4 to 3!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonaldEgaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear DonaldEgaa,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. We are pleased you liked the room accommodations you had. Please allow us to apologize for the challenges you had in our breakfast area and our pool facility did not live up to your expectations. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I travelled 7000 miles by air and 500 miles by road to see the Grand Canyon which was not a disappointment. However, I first had to play cat and mouse in a car with GPS coordinates to find the location of this hotel. Why don't you say clearly and unambiguously on the Holiday Inn US site it's in the town Tusayan? THIS HOTEL CAN BE FOUND IN THE TOWN OF TUSYAYAN ON HWY 64, 1 mile outside the Grand Canyon entrance. Now that said!

We liked the hotel (stayed for 3 nights) if a little expensive but I accept in peak season and its location that's the price to pay. Hotel Staff were helpful and polite on and the hotel clean and comfortable, rooms were always kept clean and made up whilst we were out every day.

Another advantage is the hotel is well away from the madness of Mather Point and Grand Canyon Village. So it’s quiet and relaxing. Although the free breakfast can be a bit of a rugby scrum and on the first morning, the early start was just hectic! However, if you leave it untill 7.30 am (breakfast starts at 6.30) it’s a bit more relaxed and those who need to go, have gone.

Nearby (across the road) there are shops and restaurants, but ask locals for guidance here on which restaurants may be more appropriate! We ate in two of them and would recommend one. Shops and gas station selling most things also can be found in the town.

All in all if you want to get close to the canyon action, but not that close, then his is the hotel for you! We fully recommended hotel but I advise booking very early indeed (we booked 5 months in advance) and there were many turned away whilst we were in residence looking for rooms on spec (July 2014) and were disappointed at the no room at the inn sign. Note there's no manger either!

Great trip worth the effort and travel to see it.

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padua, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

It's a comfortable hotel, the rooms are clean and spacious, the breakfast is good. Unfortunately the wifi didn't work at all. The hotel is close to the entrance of the Grand Canyon and in the center of Tusayan.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pibus G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,685 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,344 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,409 reviews
6.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Property: Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing