We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good value but very painful check-in!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We've stayed here before; this was our second visit. This hotel is in the middle of the town, so easy walking distance to the various general stores and restaurants. It's about a 10 min drive south of the park entrance.

We arrived at 3.40pm and the room was due to be ready at 4pm. Fair enough. But the reception lady was rude, blunt and really not very nice. We waited in the reception area until 4pm. The room wasn't ready at 4pm. The lady said she'd see if she could find another room, which, to be fair, she did. But the entire thing just felt painful and un-organised. To compound the problem, more and more people were turning up for the 4pm check-in.

Our rooms were on the ground floor. The air-con was good, the parking was good and the breakfast in the more was as expected.

The pool looked small, cramped and was packed with kids. We put our heads round the door and didn't bother going in. The door to the pool was open and over looking the hotel service area.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Rupert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2014

Dear Rupert D,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the check in experience. We will address this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,923)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

993 - 999 of 2,923 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2014

The location of the hotel is great, just down the road from the Grand Canyon in a small town that is geared up for visitors with a varied array of restaurants to suit every taste. The general areas of the hotel are well maintained, the double room was basic, but clean and the beds were very comfortable. The receptionist was superb, check-in was efficient and she gave us lots of info on the local area and the best restaurant to eat in based on our preference. The only downside was breakfast, its seems a bit mean to complain as it was complimentary, but the food was inedible apart from the yoghurt and toast, and the breakfast area was cramped, full of dirty dishes. If they want to provide breakfast, either expand the location, or deliver a continental style breakfast bag to the room. All in all though, I would recommend this hotel to travellers to the Grand Canyon

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank lulupieNottm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear lulupieNottm,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. I am pleased that you had a good check-in experience and the service received from our reception staff was above par. However, we'd like to apologize for any inconvenience you may have had during breakfast. This will be rectified and we appreciate you bringing this into our attention as your comments are our best means of doing so.

Best Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Tenth night of our Route 66 tour brought us to this hotel.
The rooms were comfortable and clean but the hotel was like a cattle market with guests fighting their way through for a place at breakfast.
Breakfast was one of the worst on this tour again served on paper plates with plastic knives and forks.
I suppose it's popular because of the close proximity to the Grand Canyon.
Would only use again if I had to!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank merlinaphirwaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear merlinaphirwaun,

We appreciate your comments about your visit. It is good to know that our location was in close proximity to your needs. However, we regret to read that you did not enjoy your breakfast. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next stay.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Tusayan--the entire town--is currently negotiating with its suppliers to plus up the connectivity town-wide, according to the laminated note from the mayor we found under the TV. You will not be able to connect to the Internet here or anywhere else; when we asked about room availability at the HIE outside of Zion National Park, the hotel staff couldn't look anything up because *they* had no connection either.

But you aren't really visiting the Grand Canyon for the Internet, are you? Tusayan is conveniently located just beyond the boundaries of the South Rim side of the park. It's a relatively short drive from Tusayan out to the lodges where you can pick up the shuttles. The room was clean, if outdated, and breakfast was satisfactory. The place *was* packed, so be prepared to either stand, take your food back to your room, or defend your table with knife and spork.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MSelva81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Booked a junior suite, although décor is a bit dated, room was well maintained, very clean and suite was actually bigger than what we expected based on the pictures. The location of the hotel near the park was appreciated and very convenient Recommend booking ahead of time, travelled early August and when we checked in at about 6PM hotel was full, as were most of the few other ones near by. Continental breakfast was decent, agree with the limited seating area mentioned in other reviews.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stephane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Stephane B,

First of all, we like to thank you for having chosen our hotel and we also like to thank you for having taken the time to share your valuable comment with us. Guest comments like yours are paramount for allowing us to focus our attention where guests’ feel it is necessary. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This place is lovely, rooms are well equipped and clean. Good location to the park and restaurants. however when it comes to breakfast its a disaster! They only enough have tables to seat about a third of the rooms if that. If you arrive at 8.30am be prepared to eat standing up, that is if you can actually get through the crowd to the food counter, don't expect full English breakfast as it said on our booking form. On the positive side, they gave us a small guide for the canyon which pointed out a viewing point that's not advertised on the canyon maps. Its between miles 244 & 245 on the dessert drive. I promise you will not be disappointed. No crowds and a stunning view of the canyon. WiFi is pretty much useless, be very patient... Overall a very pleasant stay. Oh and if you come in August its monsoon season so be prepared for heavy rain and thunderstorms.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank stu6964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear stu6964,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am pleased to hear that our location worked for your needs and that you found our rooms clean. On the other hand, please accept our sincerest apologies for any inconvenience the breakfast area and the Internet service may have caused you. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This place was fantastic! I stayed in a large, well decorated suite with my family. I didn't expect something so modern and clean near the Grand Canyon. Front desk was super friendly and helpful, breakfast buffet was perfect, and the roll away bed I requested was promptly delivered. Had a great trip in part thanks to a comfortable stay.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Mwoik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,688 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,583 reviews
6 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon

Address: Highway 64, PO Box 3245, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range: £66 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Canyon Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites features 164 guest rooms and a 32 suite room annex. Free in-room high speed Internet access is available. We are entirely a non-smoking hotel. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is located one mile from the Grand Canyon National Park South Rim entrance. Dining and entertainment within walking distance. 1/2 mile from the Grand Canyon Airport and Helibase. Air tours, jeep rides, raft trips, can be arranged from the hotel. Free continental breakfast from 6:30 am to 9:30 am. KidSuites Available for 2 adults and three children - Queen rooms have 4 person max, and King Rooms have 2 person max. Visit Grand Canyon, AZ and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon Hotel Tusayan
Holiday Inn Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing