We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, hotel has issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location, hotel has issues”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last week and overall, had a pleasant stay. It's probably just about as good as you can do close to the Grand Canyon. That being said, I wasn't completely happy...especially for what I paid for the room. It was a warm day and the room never cooled off. Stuffy at best. Called for maintenance and a man came to look at the AC. "Need to turn fan on" he said. Well, it had been on all day while we were at the Grand Canyon and it wasn't cold! Never really cooled off...disappointing.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kylemil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Kylemil,
Thank you for your review of our Best Western Premier hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the great location of our hotel and the close proximity to the entrance to the south rim of the Grand Canyon National Park.

We sincerely apologize that you experienced issues with the air conditioning during your stay. I am sorry to hear that you had issues, please do know that we passed along your comments to our maintenance staff to address. Your satisfaction is important to us and your feedback will be used to help us improve.

Again, thank you for staying with us.

Best regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,855 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,076
    2,265
    995
    339
    180
See reviews for
2,215
2,458
104
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (607)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Porter ranch, ca
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This was the only hotel on our 10 day driving trip that had a keurig in the room. They supply coffee, but it sure would have been nice to have some from home. The hotel room had a lighted make up mirror with desk and chair outside of the bathroom, making getting ready in the morning easy. The room was clean, very easy to find and has a shuttle stop for the Grand Canyon right at the curb. The free breakfast was the best on the road. In addition to the typical eggs, biscuits, gravy and oatmeal, they served a fruit buffet that included strawberries, fresh pineapple and melons. There were assorted juices and they had servers who brought around coffee refills. Very nice!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear Maria G,
We are pleased that you selected our hotel for your families recent visit to the Grand Canyon. As a Best Western Premier hotel we provide additional amenities such as the Kuerig coffee makers in each room as well as many other items. We strive to ensure that our rooms are clean and comfortable.

As you mention, we have a shuttle service in town which picks up every 20 minutes right in front of our hotel and takes guests into the Park. By purchasing a park pass at our hotel, you bypass the lines and enter straight away in to the Park.

We appreciate that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet. A great way to start out the day and something for everyone in the family.

Thank you again for staying with us, we do hope that your family will come back again soon.
Best regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
285 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here recently for 1 night. We found the guy, Leshaun, on reception most fendly and welcoming. Our room was nice and the bed very comfortable. Breakfast was a bit of a bun fight, but tasted ok. Ideal if you can't stay inside the park.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickshireMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear WarwickshireMonty,
Thank you for writing and posting a review of your recent stay at our property.

We are glad that you found our front desk staff member to be friendly and helpful. We do strive to ensure that we are providing the highest level of customer service. We are also pleased that you found your room to be nice and comfortable. As a Premier hotel we do provide many amenities for your comfort.

Thank you for staying with us, we do hope that you will plan to visit again soon.
Best regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is 2 miles south of Grand Canyon Village in the town of Tuysayan. It is a great hotel with a great price. Wonderful for families with an entertainment center which includes bowling! Breakfast is included in the price and it is unbelievable. A lot of hotels include breakfast but this is over the top with all the breakfast items you could want. Rooms are very nice, décor is lovely. Truly an enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Kim M,
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent stay. As you mention we are just about 2 miles from the south rim of the Grand Canyon. We also have a shuttle bus service that picks up guests right in front of the hotel taking them into the park. No need to drive or find parking. You purchase your park pass in advance at our front desk.

We are happy that you enjoyed your room, the arcade and the bowling alley. We also see that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast buffet. We offer a wide variety of hot and cold items as well as fresh cut seasonal fruit so there is something for the whole family.

Thank you again for your recommendation, please come back and see us again soon.
Best regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a great property. Stayed in a room on the first floor - right down the hall from the lobby. The room was huge. Lots of space with double beds, area outside of the bathroom with sink and bench, large sitting table. There was even a mini-fridge which was great for chilling water for taking to the canyon. There is a very large gift shop with good value and lot of variety of merchandise. The best thing was when we came back to the room around 8pm totally exhausted from being at the Canyon and were able to order a pizza directly from the bar by the bowling alley. Eating pizza in the room in our pj's was heaven after a long day. There is a free breakfast buffet which was adequate in quality and selection. The real value of it is the convenience of being onsite and free, so able to have something to eat before heading out for the day. I usually always stay at Marriott properties. No Marriott in Tusayan so picked the Best Western and no regrets.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuffy.fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear cuffy.fla,
We are glad that you selected our Best Western Premier property for your recent stay.

We thank you for writing and posting your review of our property and are glad that you found your room to be large and full of amenities such as the microwave, mini-refrigerator, even Kuerig coffee makers in each room.

We are glad that you liked being able to order pizza from our Sagauro sports bar and relax at the end of the day quietly in your room. The breakfast buffet is also a nice convenience to have it on site and available for you to start out the day and fill up before going out to your day's activities.

We appreciate your business and thank you for your recommendation.

Best regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
262 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I would rate this hotel 3.5 stars: location is ideal if you can't get lodging within the Grand Canyon Park. The hotel (along with other chain hotels) are located outside the Grand Canyon entrance. Price was more than we would normally spend for a 3-star hotel: $210 including taxes based on a AAA-rate for a king-bed room for one night. The El Tovar in the park (if one plans a year ahead) was $193 w/o taxes. We had room 1101 which was at the end of one of the four lodge buildings so noise was minimal. The mattress needs replacement - it sagged in the middle. The air conditioner was noisy and we could not change/override any of the settings, including turning off the A/C without unplugging it. The bathroom sink drained slowly. Amenities included shower cap, soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion, along with mini-fridge. A mass-produced but decent breakfast buffet was included in our price and breakfast offerings included coffee, tea, orange juice, a variety of breads and sweet rolls, peanut butter, cream cheese, jellies, oatmeal and cold cereals, scrambled eggs, French toast, sausage, bacon, home fries, fresh fruit, and strawberry yogurt. Staff were pretty good about replenishing the buffet trays. There are two restaurants on site: the upscale and pricey Coronado restaurant and the family-style restaurant. We ate at the latter and the food was passable, but not memorable.. Inasmuch as we were craving a salad with fresh greens and vegetables, we passed on the soup and salad bar because it looked unappetizing. We have stayed at other Best Western hotels so this particular hotel was a disappointment -- but when one is at the Grand Canyon, one can't be choosy. We ended up ordering the hamburger and fried fish....both fair in quality and price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdc8mbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear jdc8mbc,
Thank you for taking the time to write and post your comments regarding our property.

We are pleased that you selected our hotel for your stay while visiting the Grand Canyon. We are however sorry to learn that you had an issue with the mattress in your room and the noisy air conditioner. We sincerely apologize that there were issues and for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback to make improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Again, thank you for staying with us.

Best regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014

This hotel is very nice. It has a game room and a BOWLING alley. We enjoyed that. Breakfast was great but we did not use the larger restaurant. They had some interesting items on the menu. Location was great to GC and airport. Rooms were CLEAN and comfortable. Staff was professional and seemed to enjoy their job and concerned about guests. We'd stay there again and I think my son liked the game room better than the GC : )

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather V, Manager at Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Cheryl B,
On behalf of the entire team, I would like to thank you for staying with us and writing your review of our property. We are pleased that you liked your clean and comfortable room and the complimetary breakfast.

The game room and bowling alley are a great way to spend an evening with the family relaxing. We appreciate that you found our staff to be professional and concerned about the guests. We strive to ensure that each guest has a wonderful stay with us.

We hope that you have many warm memories of your trip to the Grand Canyon and we do hope that you will come back to stay with us again.

Best regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.3 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 6 in Tusayan
1,670 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,365 reviews
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn

Property: Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Address: 100 State Route 64, PO Box 130, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn, we're proud to be the finest property at The Grand Canyon in Tusayan, Arizona. Moments away from the South Rim entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, our property offers all the amenities you expect and deserve from a fine hotel. We are pleased to provide you with the ultimate Grand Canyon hotel experience. Allow us to anticipate your every need here at the South Rim, the heart of Grand Canyon's National Park. By day, let your senses come alive in the unique ecosystem of the Grand Canyon and the high desert of the Coconino Plateau. By night, come home to the genteel oasis of the Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn. Whether your trip to the canyon is a once-in-a-lifetime adventure or a much needed escape to nature, make us your first and only choice for lodging. Our warm, relaxed ambiance is the perfect end to a day in the magnificent American Southwest. With a variety of dining and entertainment choices on our expansive grounds, we're sure to please guests of all ages. Our array of guest services, magnificent art collection, fireside lounge and Family Fun Center will make us your favorite place to unwind. Our beautifully appointed rooms were designed with your complete comfort in mind. At our Grand Canyon hotel, you can experience an exquisite sunset, relax under the stars and wake up to a spectacular sunrise when lodging with us. The Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn offers an unexpected grandeur, uniquely suited to a Grand Canyon South Rim hotel. We promise you a remarkable, memorable experience at the Grand Canyon, one of the premier world heritage sites. Electric car chargers available. We have a limited number of pet-friendly rooms available. A pet-friendly room reservation is required. The pet friendly rate is $20.00 per day. A refundable cleaning and damage deposit of $50.00 is required upon check-in. If damage occurs or excessive cleaning is needed, the deposit can become non-refundable and the hotel may charge additionally to cover the costs of repair or cleaning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Hotel Tusayan
Best Western Tusayan
Best Western Grand Canyon Squire Inn
Tusayan Best Western
Best Western Grand Canyon National Park
Grand Canyon National Park Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing