We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy and Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Ahwatukee, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cozy and Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

The hotel is very nice especially compared to those surrounding it. Seemed like the best option near the Grand Canyon. We only stayed one night the room was spacious, clean and comfortable. No problems with noise or anything. The steakhouse for dinner was a bit expensive (probably worth it was we went to another steakhouse down the street and it wasn't very good for the price). We did eat at the restaurant for breakfast. Decent prices for breakfast but service is slow.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    448
    280
    116
    80
See reviews for
577
550
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I made a reservation in November 2013 - I cancelled it in December 2013. MORE THAN ONE MONTH before the original date (not 48 hours).

Nevertheless, they charged the first night on my cc as a "no show"

No answer to my e-mails or phone calls.

Stay away from this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank osan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

As someone else booked this for us, I expected something rather rustic and "country". Not at all- very pretty hotel with full amenities. All the staff was nice, the rooms were great with wonderful bathrooms (plenty of room for both my husband and I to spread out our things!), the restaurant was just fine, and they had a great gift shop. The entrance to the Grand Canyon was maybe 1 1/2 miles away. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Our room had a skylight and it got bright VERY early in the morning. You may want to request a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
224 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Rooms were clean and large. Close to Grand Canyon and airport for helicopter rides (which is a must). Pizza place, McDonalds etc. The lobby is great with a fire place and the restaurant is huge. The gift shop is wonderful. You can always go to El Tovar and spend a whole lot more and its way too congested. The food at El Tovar was not that great either. Speaking of food it was a bit of a let down here but was expecting a 5 star. The service is extremely slow. By the way, the gas station up the road does not post its price and you will have sticker shock when you gas up. It may even be illegal not to post it but I really don't know.

Room Tip: We stayed on the first floor don't need to be in a higher room. Convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonesConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles/Tarzana
Level Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

The location was great, just 2 Miles outside the entrance. Easy to hook up with the shuttles at the Visitor Center and easy to drive east to Deerview and other vantage points.
Tip: If you are on the 2nd floor and carrying your own bags, it is easier going out the back way....no steps, no elevated necessary. Park your car in the back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cottonwood, AZ
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

The Grand Hotel in Tusayan, AZ is the best place to stay when visiting the Grand Canyon if you want modern amenities. It is clean, non-smoking and smells clean. They use sent free laundry and cleaning products. We stayed in a Standard King room that overlooked the front parking lot and entry. The room was what other hotels call suites. It had an upgraded pillow top hotel bed. The only noise was people in the hallway passing by the door. There was a Keurig coffee maker in the room. We brought a reusable filter and our own fresh ground beans. There was free brewed coffee in the lobby that was good. I did like the pump bottles of shampoo, conditioner and body soap attached to the shower wall. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pool/hot tub were very well cleaned and maintained. The workout room was packed with great clean new equipment. The lobby is huge and extends into 2 other seating areas. The third has a baby grand piano. There is a gift shop, steakhouse and bar in the lobby.

Room Tip: Be nice and don't snivel when you check in around 4:00 pm and you will get a front room on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZFamilyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

When rating the Grand Hotel with five points it is of course in consideration of the location, price and what you could expect there and of course all the bad reviews which scarred me before going there. And no I'd didn't get anything for the good review and do not work a for a good review company:)
So many bad reviews judge the Grand Hotel as if it were a Las Vegas 5 star that is cheap so you spend your money in the Casino....well it's not. It is a location which only exists through tourists, far away from everything and where people won't spend weeks...all elements which have to be considered in your choice.

We first chose the El Tovar but after reading about the few eating possiblities and the cheaper rooms being in the parking lot/trash container view, we cancelled and looked for lodging in Tusayan, which has enough eating options. The Grand Hotel was the only available on our dates and we payed 175 throuhg expedia, compared to 186 at El Tovar.

The reception staff was not overfriendly and insisted twice on us booking through expedia, but still gave us all the necessary information we asked for. We got a nice room on the second floor. Rooms are not smaller than other 3 star hotels, enough space for all your stuff. Some bad reviewers are just lying, were they even there ? The room is fully equipped with all the bathroom amenities and vanity stuff other better hotels have. There is also a iron+board, a tea/coffee maker with accessories, a flat screen tv and A/C/heater which works just fine...

With all the bad reviews I was very worried about cleanliness and checked everything...no complaint, spotless, and i mean it. Ok, one bad review complained that the bed linen were not ironed...true they are wrinkeld...helloooooo it is a three star....

The even have a heated pool and fitness room....stop complaining.

And to those who wrote that there is no breakfast (we were already prepared to go to McDonalds across the street according to the reviews) well I suspect you were not even there....the in house restaurant serves breakfast. Breakfast choice was big and US classic (for tourists), we payed USD 32 for two with a lot of food, which is not expensive for a US tourist location, sorry all you complainers....we paid up to 100USD for breakfast in Vegas...so please... Food and service were very good.

We booked a helicopter flight (must do) the night before, flight was delayed, one call to the hotel and late check out was no problem. Again very good point. Other positive points: location (of course), parking, great giftshop, available cloth washing facility, free Wi-fi (works great, again complainers were probably not there).

Check out was friendly and a breeze...

I would definitely recomend the Grand Hotel. We also ate at We cook Pizza and Pasta restaurant. Quick and easy cuisine, food was more than ok for the location. Prices ok, 49 for 2 pizzas, 1 pasta, salad and drinks. The small groceries shop next to it as a good enough choice but very unfriendly personnel/owners, just rude people.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisstourist81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.8 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,795 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 5 in Tusayan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon

Property: The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Address: 149 State Highway 64, PO Box 3319, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests of The Grand Hotel enjoy gateway access to Grand Canyon National Park, the entrance to the park is just one mile away, and a variety of recreational activities. The newly renovated lodge, built in 1998, features classic architecture and decor with rustic timber, western ironwork, and immense log beams. A central lobby with a towering stone fireplace invites good books, lively games of checkers, and inquisitive conversations with travelers from around the world. The nearby grand piano inspires guests to play their favorite tunes and sing along. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Tusayan
Grand Hotel Grand Canyon
Grand Hotel Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing