We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better to plan and book somewhere else.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tusayan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Canyon Camper Village
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at this campground because or travels plans had to change unexpectedly and the national parks were full. Total dump. Our family is traveling cross country from New York to California and we've stayed many places. This is one of the most expensive places we've stayed and its shameful. To pay $50 a night to stay in a dusty field with 1960s nasty showers that are coin-op?! That's right folks. You 25 cents a minute to shower in a stinky, rusty stall. They claim wi-fi is included, but our devices (iPhones, iPods, iPads, MacBook... all unsuccessful) have yet to be able to pick it up. We've paid less at RV resorts with wi-fi, swimming pools, hot tubs and tennis courts. Make this place your last option, only if you're desperate to see the canyon and can't make advance plans elsewhere. I'm very disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ENOrtman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here 6 years ago because the National Park was full. We tried it again in March 2013 and am convinced they have not changed a thing in terms of improvements in 6 years. The RV park is dry and dusty- virtually no hard surfacing to keep down the dust.

There is no TV (no local and no cable hook-ups). The wifi service is free but very poor and unreliable. Laundry is expensive ($3.50 wash and $2.00 dry). What really ticked me off was going to the laundry during March Break and Easter Weekend and finding only 3 washing machines and 2 dryers for a RV park that likely had 100 RVs. One dryer was broken although they had a new one still in the box not hooked up. It made for a very long night to do laundry. The only other laundry was within the National Park.

You needed to pay for a shower...$.25/minute. The first minute was needed to get hot water. Then you could use the shower. Just a bit peeved by the unimpressive washroom facilities and paying for a shower.

Tusayan is basically a tourist trap. They charge high prices because they can get it near a world famous attraction. I don't mind paying top dollar for good service and good quality but when you offer poor service and poor quality I feel like I'm being taken. Local food prices in the Tusayan grocery are outrageous (they are a bit less within the National Park). Again, they charge it because they can. It's not because the place is isolated. They are within 1 hour to Flagstaff and 2 hours to Phoenix.

Plan ahead and stay in the beautiful National Park!

Room Tip: Plan well ahead and stay in the National Park. Don't stay here, you'll be disappointed. Brin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skootamattaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I don't think you can beat the location! So close to all that is available. Let's be reasonable, Tusayan is a small strip of civilzation and doesn't have a lot to offer... and what is available is expensive... really expensive. So, if you don't want to pay, bring your own. That aside, the campground was the one reasonably priced thing here! There's no playground but there's a basketball hoop away from any traffic. There's a dog walking area too. Our site and all others was on dirt and gravel and didn't have a fire pit but many others do. During the day there are constant helicopters above but they will make you jealous of the lucky people aboard, about to get a bird's eye of the canyon. The WIFI was free but sometimes persnickity. The staff we spoke to were more than friendly and helpful and that's a lot more than we can say for others in town. A tip: BELIEVE them when they recommend or warn against specific restaurants.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

One of the best things about this park is the location. you can park your RV and walk 1/8 mile to resturants or the free bus service to the Grand Canyon Park. Either way, its 5-7 minutes from this RV park to the GCNP, much closer than other camping areas (other than in the park of course).

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jsawyer169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I do not recommend this RV park. The only positive thing that could possibly be said about this park is that it is only a mile to the south entrance of the Grand Canyon! I am currently staying here, and wish I weren't, but there are no refunds. This is a very poorly designed park. $50 is an outrageous fee for this park. It does not appear that they are even trying to maintain a clean park. If we were to put out our awning, it would touch our neighbor's awning!
Plan ahead and don't get stuck here!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank pamela555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

This is not Trailers village. Our GPS had it wrong. It is a mile south of the Park entrance. It is not pretty to look at but the facilities are good. We mostly slept there with little hanging out. We stayed two nights on our way to Las Vegas. No real complaints. The sites are level but gravel. There is a volleyball setup in the middle of camp. There are places to grab food nearby. It is very close to the airport (I highly recommend a helicopter tour). We had our own car so we did not try the shuttle. I think Trailer Village would be better if you can get a site.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Limbicsystem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 2nights in a rental RV. I had read the reviews and was apprehensive, but everywhere else was full. We need not have worried, the campground is well located for all amenities in Tusayan, restaurants, Imax and shuttle into the GC park. Access was easy and full hook up pull through sites. We used our own facilities but the washrooms looked clean but dated. The lady on reception was pleasant and helpful. She had discount vouchers for Imax and helicopters and could make bookings for you. The price was $50 per night but captive market and we booked in advance but paid on arrival. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
5.5 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,688 reviews
5.5 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
2,995 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
0.3 mi away
Red Feather Lodge
Red Feather Lodge
#4 of 6 in Tusayan
2,583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Camper Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Camper Village

Address: Highway 64, 2-1/2 miles from South Entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Tusayan
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An RV campground with full hook-ups and restrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Camper Village Hotel Tusayan
Grand Canyon Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing