We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid at all cost !!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tusayan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Canyon Camper Village
Glasgow , Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid at all cost !!!!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here for one night recently and to be perfectly honest it was one night too long !!! It must be the worst and most expensive RV park that we have ever stayed in . The bins were overflowing with rubbish , the toilets were not very pleasant and the general state of the grounds would be - run down. Due to location the place was quite busy - must be doing well financially - badly needing some profits reinvested !!! I would advise to go a few miles down the road and stay at Flintstones Campground in Valle - wish we had !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rij8631
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    21
    33
    36
    75
See reviews for
74
54
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grossbeeren, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The Campground lies in Tusayan directly in front of the entrance of Grand Canyon National Park South Rim. That is the only reason for the high price. Restrooms are in a very bad condition, and despite the high price you have to pay extra for the showers. That is ridiculous.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angelika69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The best part of this average RV campground is its location -- you're close to the Main Street and the free National Park Service shuttle busses into the park. They run every 20 minutes and provide access to major attractions along the south rim. Wifi in the camper park was okay. The showers are highway robbery, however, and cost 8 quarters for 8 minutes.

Room Tip: Ask for a fire ring if you want a campfire; they don't have too many of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We stayed at plenty of RV parks over the summer and this one was EXTREMELY poor. Please don't stay here!!

It has to be said the location is terrific, but it absolutely did not make the stay worth while. If/when we visit the Grand Canyon South Rim again, we will definitely stay at the KOA slightly down the road. This place needs to be shut down. The reception staff are completely uncaring about anything, the showers are very expensive at 25c for 30 seconds (we didn't pay at all in most places), at one stage there was only one shower working so it was impossible to use them even if you were willing to pay.

The actual RV spaces are just dirt road, when we left absolutely everything was covered in a layer of dust. The spaces are also incredibly tiny so if you have a sociable bunch next door - don't expect to get any sleep (complaining to reception is useless). After one night our neighbours also stole our picnic table, not the fault of the campground, but incredibly irritating none the less!

Also, please note that the 'free' internet didn't work, even close to the router.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelShortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2013

A large group of us recently stayed at this campground and despite booking extremely early, what was promised for our arrival never happened. When we arrived at at the campground we checked in and headed to our site, we noticed that out fire ring wasn't there, (which we were told that we would have) we went to the office to to inquire about it and the young man helping us was less than accommodating, as a matter of fact a little rude about it. We asked to either have one delivered to us or be moved to another site. He told us that all the sites were booked (hardly) and there were no fire rings they could give us. We walked around the campground and went back and inquired about several other sites that had fire rings on them and aked if we could be moved, once again to no avail was he not willing to accommodate us. After our 3 night stay there (no where else to go) we noticed that every site we inquired about moving to no one ever arrived. Customer service was certianly NOT their strong point , but I guess when you're one of the only games in town they can do whatever they want. On a positive note though the location was great for getting in and out of the park and the overall facility was decent. Just a word of caution you may not get what you asked for.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lgncapefin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield
Level Contributor
105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The redeeming feature is the park convenient location for The Grand Canyon. The RV sites are very uneven and would soon end up messy after any.
The toilets are grim.
The wifi holds for no more than a second or two at a time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil61a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmington, NM
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

I guess my first clue should have been the look on the clerk's face when I paid for my stay. He had a questioning look and made sure I understood the NO REFUNDS policy. This place should be shut down by the environmental department. At no time during my three day stay, I cut my losses and left early, did I observe a clean bathroom. At least one of the two toilets in each bathhouse were plugged at any given time. I could not bring myself to try a shower, EXTREMELY FILTHY. It is convenient to the South Rim entrance, but DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! For the same price, I stayed at the KOA in Williams for a night. Bit of a drive, but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tangsoous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
1.0 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,866 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maswik Lodge
Maswik Lodge
#3 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
6.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Camper Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Camper Village

Property: Grand Canyon Camper Village
Address: Highway 64, 2-1/2 miles from South Entrance to Grand Canyon National Park, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Tusayan
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An RV campground with full hook-ups and restrooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Camper Village Hotel Tusayan
Grand Canyon Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing