We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Feather Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Feather Lodge
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Luxury for us”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

I have spent a lot of nights camping or making do in motels that are sort of ok so for me this place was a real treat. A great room in the motel style accommodation (weird for a hotel but convenient for loading luggage). Nice big fluffy towels, fridge, decaf coffee on tap, attentive housekeeping, black out blinds, perfect hot tub for aching muscles post hike. Maybe this is all standard hotel stuff but it is new to me and felt great. We paid extra for a king bed and need not have, this is the super size continent. The room key gives 10% off at the local Mexican diner.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trekbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    967
    713
    165
    78
See reviews for
722
909
77
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is nice and in the average. There is a small outdoor swimming pool, which unfortunately I couldn't try as it rained all day, but i wish I could as it had also jets for massages. The only problem (not so small) was that the room smelled as wet dogs...

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Edoardog21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tusayan hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We decided to wrap up our vacation to California by stopping at the Grand Canyon on the way back home to Texas. We stayed at the Red Feather Lodge for only one night. The location was great and convenient to the Grand Canyon National Park entrance. There is a wonderful restaurant right next door called La Bonita. Wonderful food and drinks. The lodge was alright. There are several places to stay but, availability was a little thin. We were lucky to find rooms here last minute. The price was a little high but, you are paying for the location. Our price was over $200 each room. We had two rooms reserved. Most of the other hotels were $300 and up. Which I am sure they are less during off season. The staff were pleasant enough and responded to our questions and requests promptly. The rooms are basic but, provided us with what we needed for the night. There is a pool on-site that closed early during our stay. So, not all of us were able to use it. All in all, we had a decent stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The only and only advantage of this hotel is that it's one of the nearest hotels to the grand canyon south rim park entrance. Beyond that though, there's very little to recommend it. The reception staff have clearly lost the ability to smile, there's no breakfast or complementary water (it's not even possible to buy water at the hotel - which is kind of important when preparing for a trip to the Grand canyon), and the small swimming pool is right next to the parking lot, making your bikini time visible to all. Were I to return to the Grand Canyon south rim again, I would try either the two hotel's inside the park, or one of the other hotels next to the Red Feather.
Tip: To the manager; please send your staff on a customer service course; boy do they need it.

Room Tip: Definitely request a room in the main building, and not in the attached motel part. Rooms on the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We found the hotel to be good value and comfortable. The decor is a little dated but the room was clean and the beds were comfortable. It was really helpful to have a fridge in our room.

We were really impressed by Tracey on reception who checked us in. She was polite, friendly and knowledgeable. She answered our questions and helped us plan our time at the Grand Canyon.

We were unimpressed that our travel adaptor was unplugged when the room was cleaned so our devices did not charge. There were plenty of other plugs available for vacuuming etc so there seemed no good reason for this.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TamBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Checked in to the Red Feather Lodge after a long drive from Las Vegas. Pros: Room was ready when we arrived around 2 PM (before official check in time). Room was clean - no issues.
Cons: We were greeted by a grumpy man whom I'm guessing was the owner. Not well received especially after a long road trip. Room rate was expensive for a basic hotel. Mind you, we just came from The Venetian in Las Vegas and our room rate at the Venetian was considerably lower than the rate at The Red Feather Lodge. Since Grand Canyon accommodations are limited, guess they can charge what they want. Thankfully, we only stayed on night, then it was back to Las Vegas for more luxurious accommodations!

Still Red Feather was the cheapest choice of the 4 or 5 in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BMinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Glad we chose a hotel close to the grand canyon national park. Hotel nothing special, just what you need for a good price. Pool area was nice, Free wifi was a plus. No breakfast on site but down the road.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AllisonABC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tusayan
0.2 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Canyon Squire Inn
5.7 mi away
Yavapai Lodge
Yavapai Lodge
#2 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
0.1 mi away
Canyon Plaza Resort
Canyon Plaza Resort
#5 of 5 in Tusayan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Grand Canyon
0.1 mi away
The Grand Hotel at the Grand Canyon
5.9 mi away
El Tovar Hotel
El Tovar Hotel
#1 of 3 in Grand Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Feather Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Feather Lodge

Property: Red Feather Lodge
Address: 300 State Route 64, Tusayan, AZ 86023
Region: United States > Arizona > Tusayan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Tusayan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Feather Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 215
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in an idyllic Grand Canyon, Arizona setting, the pet-friendly Red Feather Lodge provides vacationers with affordable accommodations, personal service and easy access to golf, hiking, horseback riding as well as the spectacular attractions of Grand Canyon National Park. Please note: We are in a rural part of Arizona with no fiber optics. However, we dp provide the best wi-fi we can at no charge to guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Red Feather Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Feather Hotel Tusayan
Hotel Red Feather

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing