We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ranch Fun!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rancho de los Caballeros
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wickenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ranch Fun!”
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

We visited the ranch for a business retreat with a group of 26 people. From the beginning it was a great experience. The check in and out was no problem. The accommodations were very cute and definitely ranch theme. Beds and pillows were great so after a hard day at play it was a nice to have comfortable beds. The food was awesome. We had the filet at night and it cooked to perfection. We also did cow penning which happens everyday at the ranch at 2:30 each day. It was fun with teams and ribbons for the winning team. The camp cookout on Saturday night was real fun. The cowboy singer was very good as he entertained us for 4 hours. All in all great trip.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenandDale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    31
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
46
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Well, to be honest, we are not horse back riding people. We'd rather the horses be left to graze and live in peace. That said the people in charge at Rancho seem to take pride in the animals and for that we are gratefu.

The staff was friendly. Not Matt Dillion friendly but pretty darn nice. The dining room was good, but we opted to head into town for a few meals and the front desk was more than happy to provide us with suggestions.
We stumbled across a "dive" Mexican place called Anitas that was surprisingly good. Looks were deceiving. The El Rancho was good as well.
The Pony Espresso is fantastic for baked goods and your caffeine fix, we've stopped there when driving thru. But unfortunately they were closed when we stayed.

We had a suite, which was nice. It had a "funky" wet bar set up. Mind you, this isnt a Ritz or 5 star hotel. Its supposed to have a ranch type feel to it…It's historic….so if you are looking for a resort feel, maybe you should opt for Scottsdale.

They offer jeep tours, shooting, and hot air ballooning for a fee, and of course Horse back riding. If you want to travel a little ways out of town there is a lake pretty near by. Sedona and about 90 min away and you can take a day trip to the Grand Canyon.

Glad we tried it.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aztraveler60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, NV
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We loved our stay at the ranch.

Pros:
Wonderful family trip. The staff was incredibly warm and welcoming. The staff knows you by name after a day, as well as your and your kids' favorite food and drinks. The overall vibe is that of being a welcome family friend. There is a great kids program and the wranglers were fantastic with the kids.
The pool is small, but warm and a great place to hang out for the kids between or after rides.
The food was very good and plentiful.
The best recommendation I can make is that my 9 year old cried when we left. She made great friends and wants to come back to adopt Joshua, her favorite horse.
This is the type of place where memories are made.

Cons:
The rooms (think some have been updated) are a bit dated. They do need some updates for both the rooms and bathrooms.

Tips:
Be very honest about your riding ability. There are rides for everyone, but they will apply the California public schools approach to your group and gear the ride to the lowest common denominator to make sure everyone is comfortable.
The pool can be dominated by kids in the afternoons. That's not a negative, IMO, but you should be aware of it if you're expecting a spa-like experience.
Spa is nice, but I wouldn't do it again. I didn't feel it was out of the world special and if I had to do it over again, would just do more riding.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lsptahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Arrowhead, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

A real vacation, not jus a trip. My husband and I found the Ranch online and decided to go on a whim. I hope it doesn't minimize the romance by saying it felt a to us like a very upscale family camp. We had no kids along but were amazed at how parents and kids we talked to raved about the kids program. It's seemed a good balance between program activities and time with parents. Both kids and parents expressed their confidence in the kids staff and their feeling of safety. We were surprised by this type of program and are already planning to bring our adult kids and our grandkids next year. We found the desert beautiful. The staff very attentive. The naturalist, Dick, a delight. Our nature hike with him a real treat. The horse ride was just right, an easy pace through peaceful desert trails. The food was excellent. I am a vegetarian and was actually rather impressed with the daily vegetarian selections. The spa was very nice. Our couples massage was perhaps one of the best we've had. It is worth noting the claw foot tub does not accommodate a couple as they advertise. My husband and I are of average height and weight and could not fit together comfortably in the tub. Our guest room was beautiful, but not take your breath away. I think it's important to remember the real draw is the land, nature, the ranch, the service, the experiences. We'll definitely go again!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Dude ranch w a golf course - great Kid's program - very friendly staff - basically all-inclusive but you pay for drinks. It's old but not run down.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

We are a New England family that has visited Los Caballeros ten or more times over the past 25 years. Many visitors to this ranch return frequently and family groups often include folks from two or even three generations. We love the place because it mixes upscale with down to earth/casual and it combines riding and cowboy stuff with a nice golf course and decent resort amenities. Those seeking super hip or pure upscale or pure dude ranch will be disappointed. Couples or families seeking a pretty, comfortable place in the Arizona sun to mix riding, shooting, nature hikes, swimming, golf, tennis and good food from pleasant servers will find the ranch unique and highly enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fkelly3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisse
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

if you did not have other ranchs esperience,perhaps you would love that one.
But ,if not ,you only could be very disapointed.
And ,sprecially,if you choose this ranch because you found it in the selection of "luxury ranches "
...IT s not at all luxury...
The resort is not nice,the environment same,food is terrible ,horse back riding not interesting,reception s staff specially unfriendly ,only our maricopa room was great and nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PHCHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LosCaballeros, General Manager at Rancho de los Caballeros, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time post a review. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations.

I am familiar with with your experience and I tried to make things better, but understand that we failed and there was nothing more that I could do to make things better. First impressions are very important and we did not do a good job with you and your family. I can assure you that we are much better than that and our comment cards reflect that.

I would welcome the opportunity to host you again in the future. Please contact me directly if that is something that you would like to do.

Best regards,

Rui Pereira
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wickenburg hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Rancho Grande
Best Western Rancho Grande
#2 of 8 in Wickenburg
502 reviews
3.2 mi away
My Place Suites
My Place Suites
#1 of 8 in Wickenburg
140 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flying E Ranch
Flying E Ranch
#4 of 8 in Wickenburg
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Los Viajeros Inn
Los Viajeros Inn
#6 of 8 in Wickenburg
82 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Wickenburg
Quality Inn Wickenburg
#7 of 8 in Wickenburg
89 reviews
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Wickenburg AZ
Super 8 Wickenburg AZ
#5 of 8 in Wickenburg
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho de los Caballeros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho de los Caballeros

Property: Rancho de los Caballeros
Address: 1551 S Vulture Mine Rd, Wickenburg, AZ 85390-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Wickenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wickenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho de los Caballeros 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come ride our rugged trails, tee off at one of Golf Digest's Top 100 U.S. courses or luxuriate in a spa treatment featuring local desert ingredients. Savor cookout feasts with old friends and old wines, or make new friends over fresh local fare in the nostalgic main lodge. Bring the kids and celebrate our holiday traditions like Christmas boots by the fireplace and Easter egg hunts. Or make it a memorable couples-affair with peaceful rides and moonlit nature walks. At Rancho de los Caballeros there's always something to do, including doing nothing - preferably by the pool. Come retreat for a weekend or more and see what makes us so special. With 20,000 acres of lush open range, 100 saddle horses and seasoned wranglers to reassure greenhorns, the ranch offers an uncommon Western vacation you'll never forget. Full American Plan rates include three inspired meals each day... just listen for the dinner bell and savor a half-century tradition of Western hospitality and personalized service. At Rancho de los Caballeros, you'll feel right at home on the range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rancho de los Caballeros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho De Los Caballeros Hotel Wickenburg
Rancho De Los Caballeros Wickenburg, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing