We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location to get away and Recover!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rancho de los Caballeros
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wickenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsbluff, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Location to get away and Recover!!”
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Wickenburg, AZ is a great little town, very cozy with very good shopping. The ranch was amazing, staff greeted us at the door,very accomidating. We even showed up earlier than expected. A ranch rep took us to our room and showed us in. We went on horse rides every day there and the wranglers were very knowledgable about horses and the area. The food and bar area was great. There was live music one of the three night we were there and he was very good. The spa was very good, I got the best massage I have every had in 29 countries. The golf course was very nice and everyone was very friendly. We just got back and I am already working to rebook!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank macgunsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    31
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
60
46
5
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2010

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the ranch in early December. The ranch is set by itself in its own many many acres of desert and hills which are beautiful yet within easy access via the Phoenix airport. It was relaxed as it was in its mid season, after the family rush of Thanksgiving and before the family rush of Christmas. We were there to improve our riding skills so rode both in the morning and the afternoon. We found the horses to be well trained and the wranglers to be extremely helpful. They went out of their way to make sure that the ride was appropriate for our abilities and interests. They offered tips when we asked and we found we wnow feel comfortable to try a longer horseback riding trip in South America!
The room was comfortable and the dining good. Perhaps the best aspect was the friendliness of all of the staff, from reception to housekeeping, dining and stables.
We hope to return soon!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leslieandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2010

In all of our 40 years of travel I would hAVE TO RATE THIS PROPERTY ONE OF THE BEST. LOCATION, FOOD, SERVICE, ROOMS ARE EXCELLENT. THe staff and wranglers are some of the best you could ever hope for. All of the staff. Helpful and eager to please. Highly recommend for couples or couples with children.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2010

First time staying at Rancho de los Caballeros. Had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay. The corral staff were extremely friendly and knowledgeable with many different trails. Did not realize that a ride each day was included and unfortunately only rode once during my three night stay. Food was fresh, flavorful and plentiful; great variety to choose from.

Although the Ranch has been in business for many years it is well kept and maintained. Rooms are appropriately furnished and includes Wifi access for the travelers that just can't leave the electronics at home. Golf course looked well maintained and was laid out around the facilities. Unfortunately we were rained out ... not the normal experience for this time of year.

Staff made me feel like family during my stay. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medic59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2010

We cannot say enough about the friendliness of the staff. They were amazingly attentive. The food was wonderful and the golf course great. If you don't ride or play golf, you can read in front of the fireplace. It was a very relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lois7844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Maine
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

This was our second trip to this facility. We were very impressed on the first visit in early Dec 2008 and we decided to come back. The ONLY drawback the first time was the attitude of the director of children's program. Our daughter was one of the few kids there that week and she made comments all through the week that left us feeling guilty about using the service. This program was one of the reasons we chose the ranch in the first place in order for my husband and I to have some couple time, playing golf or enjoying a quiet dinner. Despite the fact that we were disappointed in the Children's Program, our daughter did enjoy the experience, especially riding "Booger" every day. :)
We love the Arizona desert and enjoyed the fun and educational Jeep tour, the flora and fauna slide show in the evening, the Hassayampa River Preserve, the daily riding, and the beautiful golf course and facilities. The photographer was present frequently through the week and took some amazing pictures of our family experience.
The front office staff were welcoming and very accomodating. We had a sunset room with a window seat and patio overlooking the desert landscape. It was spacious, clean and quiet. We had wireless internet and there was a jetted tub for one's sore muscles. The food was great, though my husband didn't like the formal dinners in the evening. We also were feeling so full already from the great breakfasts and lunches that it seemed like overkill to eat so much in the evening. There is no other option really, unless you forfeit that meal and go into town...
Our second trip was also an enjoyable experience but as always with repeat visits, the wonder wears off more quickly. The place was more crowded because it was a school vacation week so service was less personable. We purchased an all inclusive plan that included golf, spa or horseback riding daily. for each of us. I don't believe this was a savings but at least we knew the cost of the trip ahead of time. However, on the last full day of our stay it poured rain. The spa was full. The golf course was struggling to put on a tournament and when we went to the ranch to ride (we're from Maine so a little cold rain doesn't deter us), the wranglers were quite rude. I expected to be reimbursed for the day since we were unable to utilize the services (even though we wanted to). The manager did not agree to that so we tried again in the afternoon to ride and did go out in the rain. The wranglers on the ride were great but the ones left at the corral were again quite rude on our return and made me feel very unwelcomed for ahving put them out.
The children's program was very good this year under a new Director and my daughter once again had a great time. We utilized the spa and were impressed with our services.
As we begin to plan our vacation for next year though, I am reluctant to return, thinking that a new venue in a different location might be best.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cogleden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

This was our family's first ranch vacation, so I have nothing to compare it to. We chose it because it had horseback riding, golf and spa. We have 3 children ages 12, 11 and 9. We did not use the spa. Beautiful golf course. Husband and son played twice, rented clubs. Enjoyed it a lot. My daughters went on rides every day. They loved it, loved their horses. Head wrangler was a quiet, but knowledgeable man. I rode twice - one was a nature ride that was very informative and fun. In addition to horses and golf, this place is all about the food. Big breakfast buffet, big lunch buffet. Formal dinner in dining room. --I found this kind of annoying, having to dress up for dinner while on vacation was not somthing I looked forward to, but we survivied. Food was very good, not knock your socks off, but really, really good. We like good food, we are not an Applebees, Olive Garden family. We were on a full American plan, so all food except for drinks was included, but those drinks add up! Everything else was a la carte - golf, riding, trap and skeet, etc. It adds up! Not sure how it would compare to a truly all inclusive ranch. The highlight for us was the ATV tour we took with Steve and his son Joe. They are a great pair and took us on quite an adventure. Another highlight was watching the horses run to their night pasture after the afternoon rides are over. Very pretty sight, kind of old west. Cookout on Saturday night was good, nice guitar entertainer. Some might think it was a little hokey, but you have to put yourself in a good state of mind and enjoy it! Pool was adequate, but nothing special. Grounds were well kept. Pathways lead everywhere. This is a place that families have been congregating forever. Probably more fun for a reunion type crowd than a small family travelling alone. Many corporate groups come here too.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPLboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wickenburg hotels
3.2 mi away
My Place Suites
My Place Suites
#1 of 8 in Wickenburg
140 reviews
3.7 mi away
Best Western Rancho Grande
Best Western Rancho Grande
#2 of 8 in Wickenburg
495 reviews
1.3 mi away
Flying E Ranch
Flying E Ranch
#4 of 8 in Wickenburg
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Los Viajeros Inn
Los Viajeros Inn
#6 of 8 in Wickenburg
82 reviews
4.1 mi away
Quality Inn Wickenburg
Quality Inn Wickenburg
#7 of 8 in Wickenburg
87 reviews
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Wickenburg AZ
Super 8 Wickenburg AZ
#5 of 8 in Wickenburg
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho de los Caballeros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho de los Caballeros

Property: Rancho de los Caballeros
Address: 1551 S Vulture Mine Rd, Wickenburg, AZ 85390-2118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Wickenburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Wickenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho de los Caballeros 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come ride our rugged trails, tee off at one of Golf Digest's Top 100 U.S. courses or luxuriate in a spa treatment featuring local desert ingredients. Savor cookout feasts with old friends and old wines, or make new friends over fresh local fare in the nostalgic main lodge. Bring the kids and celebrate our holiday traditions like Christmas boots by the fireplace and Easter egg hunts. Or make it a memorable couples-affair with peaceful rides and moonlit nature walks. At Rancho de los Caballeros there's always something to do, including doing nothing - preferably by the pool. Come retreat for a weekend or more and see what makes us so special. With 20,000 acres of lush open range, 100 saddle horses and seasoned wranglers to reassure greenhorns, the ranch offers an uncommon Western vacation you'll never forget. Full American Plan rates include three inspired meals each day... just listen for the dinner bell and savor a half-century tradition of Western hospitality and personalized service. At Rancho de los Caballeros, you'll feel right at home on the range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Rancho de los Caballeros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho De Los Caballeros Hotel Wickenburg
Rancho De Los Caballeros Wickenburg, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing