We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cool place to hang your hat!”
Review of Rio Tierra Casitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wickenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rio Tierra Casitas
Ranked #1 of 4 Wickenburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 March 2011

Rio Tierra Casitas, in particular Glo's Bungalow where I stayed for six weeks, was the perfect match for a woman north of 60 on her own. The house is roomy & airy, with plenty of light, a kitchen you can cook in comfortably, a good bed (no backaches!), and a fabulous shower. French doors from the bedroom to the porch, which overlooks a broad vista, provide a sense of enlarged space, without losing a cozy quality good for sleeping. Smart, witty details round out the package. Hosts Katy Bee & John were like the proverbial pillars of the Temple, close, but not too close. They provided everything I needed, from stuff to advice, even friendship and some trips, without being overbearing or cluckish! I felt safe and cared for, yet free to pursue my solitary interests. Spend some time here if you are looking for a real place with bright, interesting people at the helm.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucieJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2011

From the creative and thoughtful style, and the clean rooms, to the walks through the Hassayampa Preserve, and beyond, my husband and I left feeling like we had truly connected with the quietude and beauty of the desert. We cooked piles of good Mexican food in the well-equipped kitchen, and especially enjoyed fresh fruit smoothie margaritas shared with the innkeepers. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 9,268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We were there for a week for workshops at the meadows. We really appreciated having a nice comfortable place to relax at night. I found this online and thought my spouse would like it - she does not like chain hotels - and she LOVED it!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRWMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

I stayed in the Mexicasa. It was so charming, beautiful and unique! Katy was very friendly, helpful and available for any of my needs. I loved my peaceful walk down to the Hassayampa river, It was very serene. All i could hear were the birds, the wind in the trees and the sound of the river. I had everything i could need from the full kitchen stocked with yummy snacks, fresh baked sweet bread in the morning and a TV with satelitte and DVD player. Lots of info in the room about the area, where to eat, things to do etc. Went to see the Vulture Mine. It was really interesting to see the old ghost town with it's original buildings and equipment still there. I loved The Rio Terra Casitas and will definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitemagicalwolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

My husband and I were on a month tour of the southwest and discovered the casitas because of the great reviews it had received. They were all correct. Best accomodations we had the whole trip. Katy was so helpful and friendly and the little casitas was perfect. And being western fans it was like walking into a western museum. The breakfast items were perfect to start our day exploring Wickenburg. We will return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nadine033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We stayed at the Mexican Casita for our stay in Wickenburg. It was my husband, grown daughter, mom and myself. We had plenty of room. The casita is wonderful. It is decorated so your eyes are constanly taking in all the wonderful things in it. It is also IMMACULATE!..

Katy, the owner, was very hepful. The grounds are beautiful, tons of walking area.

We would definitely come back.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanisZ16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2011

I chose the casita as I was in Wickenburg to visit a sick family member. Each night I was so grateful to go back to my little home as it was just what i needed to decompress and rejuvinate. I must say as well, that the walk to the river was truly beautiful. I am from the NW and have a completely new appreciation for desert beauty. I would stay here again and even visit Wickenburg again, just to have such a sweet place to sleep.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ymonique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wickenburg hotels
4.2 mi away
My Place Suites
My Place Suites
#1 of 8 in Wickenburg
145 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Rancho Grande
Best Western Rancho Grande
#2 of 8 in Wickenburg
526 reviews
5.1 mi away
Los Viajeros Inn
Los Viajeros Inn
#6 of 8 in Wickenburg
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Rancho de los Caballeros
Rancho de los Caballeros
#3 of 8 in Wickenburg
171 reviews
3.3 mi away
Quality Inn Wickenburg
Quality Inn Wickenburg
#7 of 8 in Wickenburg
90 reviews
4.9 mi away
Super 8 Wickenburg AZ
Super 8 Wickenburg AZ
#4 of 8 in Wickenburg
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Tierra Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Tierra Casitas

Address: 28507 Grand Ave / Highway 60, Wickenburg, AZ 85358
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Wickenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wickenburg
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rio Tierra Casitas Wickenburg, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing