We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to eat in Wickenburg” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hog Trough Smokehouse - CLOSED

Hog Trough Smokehouse
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Description: Smoked meats, BBQ, All beef Chicago hot dog, BBQ sauce, Ribs, Pulled Pork, Brisket, Sweet potato fries
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Wickenburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

We have been there several times. It is very tasty. Once the Chicken was pretty dry but they were very prompt and gracious about getting us a replacement platter. The smoker is out back a really nice one. The ribs on the bone and the brisket are very good.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Samme45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    18
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wickenburg, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“local flavor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2013

I have been in there several times since they opened and thought it okay .It is the best around the area but have had better .It is a hard place to miss ,just put your nose in the air and inhale deeply -wonderful smells come from this building . I stop in at Mecca bar across the street and my mouth waters when the wind pulls the smoke filled air across the road. Service needs improving but the food is good .

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for a casual meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Good pulled pork sandwiches and a good option in town. Cute little place and the food is pretty good. Good lunch spot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank coveredwagoncowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
412 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good Option in Wickenburg”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Our latest visit to Hog Trough was for lunch. We both had the Lite Lunch special including two ribs along with a choice of side (coleslaw, baked beans). The flavor of the St Louis style ribs was excellent. This is not fall off the bone ribs. The meat is flavorful, well seasoned and delicious. My partner is a big fan of sweet potato fries. They were judged to be excellent by all. They have done a nice job with the decor (high ceilings, brick with tasteful western art on the walls). Meals are served in plastic baskets with plastic cutlery. Don't let that deter you. The flavors, quality and value is well worth the trip.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GiseppeGord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RAPID CITY
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Crave the Ribs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

We winter near Wickenburg and the Hog Trough is one of our favorite eateries. The Hog Trough is one of the first places we take our visitors and so far, all have raved about the ribs. Yes, they serve food in plastic baskets, use plastic utensils and styro-foam cups BUT if the owner doesn't have to hire a dishwasher, he can keep his costs down. Owner and waitress have always been friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BEVERLY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hog Trough Smokehouse also viewed

Wickenburg, Central Arizona
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
 
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing