We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad bad and bad!”
Review of Country Kitchen

Country Kitchen
Ranked #27 of 47 Restaurants in Wickenburg
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Salome, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bad bad and bad!”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

The empty parking lot at dinnertime should have been our clue to start the engine! But we were both very hungry after spending all day at the hospital for my husband's heart tests. We hadn't eaten since breakfast. The waitress was nice, but neither one of us could finish our meal. The menu said BBQ baked beans, my husband said they were nothing of a sort--they were Campbell's canned beans. And his chicken sandwich was wet from the grease. I barely touched my "old" slice of turkey, cold canned and dead green beans and cranberries that tasted of everything absorbed from a refrigerator. The waitress was sweet and promptly brought the manager who actually DEFENDED and made EXCUSES for each of our issues! I know the restaurant business and that she SHOULD have at least apologized! I abruptly got up and said I must leave, and as we were heading for the door she threw a sarcastic "have a nice evening" to us. If this is the way they treat their senior citizens then I would hate to see what they do with the young crowd. The manager should go to remedial managerial school!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Carole1422235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    18
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Quinta, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Wickenburg, and had family over for the day. With young children in the group, we figured this place would have something for everyone's liking. Kids ate usual burgers, etc, but my simple BLT sandwich was served with burned toast and overdone bacon. Our server gladly exchanged it for another, but still unappetizing. Another of the orders, for corned beef hash breakfast special was not very tasty, and left most of it on the plate. Place was not very busy and seemed to have minimal staffing.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wickenburg, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Country Cook'n from a Country Kitchen”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

National chain restaurants can be very good, but now and then it is also nice to savor the local 'cuisine'. Shows its age in the booths and tables, but nevertheless serves up distinctive meals you won't get at the well-known chains. We would return.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Braunfels, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good diner food”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We eat at the Country Kitchen most times when we are in Wickenburg.
The food is good, not expensive and the service is good.
Good value for the money, good variety of menu items and good Senior menu.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Country Kitchen, Wickenburg”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Basic food for when you are traveling and want to dine at a familiar place. Staff is pleasant. The meals aren't exceptional, but it will satisfy your hunger.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mei Mei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Country Kitchen also viewed

Wickenburg, Central Arizona
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
 
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
Wickenburg, Central Arizona
 

Been to Country Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing