We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Fun and Fabulous Scenery!”
Review of Flying E Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flying E Ranch
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wickenburg
chicago, illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly Fun and Fabulous Scenery!”
Reviewed 2 March 2009

This Ranch is the epitome of a relaxing vacation. You can ride the range, hike in the desert, or hang out by the pool with a book. Its small size is one of its very best assets -- there is great personalized service from the staff, chances to visit with other folks (if you want to), and the feeling that you're staying at a friend's vacation lodge rather than a resort. You are definitely NOT a number at the Flying ~E~.

I have been going there for years, with family and with friends. In this fast-paced age of business and travel, The ~E~ reminds us that life's greatest pleasures are the simple ones -- great food, family and friends amidst Arizona's stunningly beautiful natural environs. Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chicagocowgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
57
30
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2008

I have been on quite a few riding holidays, but this really was fantastic, and is a great option if you have a non-riding partner, too. It is super-friendly, run like clockwork. We were vegetarians which can be met with potatoes and bolied veg, but effort was made to make delicious meals every mealtime, the food was lovely. There were cookies and lemonade available at all times, great after a challenging ride. We met some really interesting people and were lucky enough to be there when an ecologist was there to teach us about the desert landscape. This is a beautiful area, with wonderful scenery. The horses were brilliant, most able to cope with non-riders, but they also have some very wonderful horses for the riders. they had three seperate rides twice a day, for different abilities and they let me go on 'loping' rides, faster rides, even though I was the only one who wanted to do that. The pool and happy hour at the end of the day was just a marvellous way to wind-down and enjoy the after-glow of a day well spent.

  • Liked — Friendliness, horses, pool, food, scenery
  • Disliked — Simple room
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2008

This was a Birthday celebration to remember -
Thought a trip to the wild west for my husband’s birthday would be a unique way to celebrate & the staff at Flying E helped make it a memorable day with a special ‘birthday boot’ filled with gifts, a candle in the breakfast biscut, and a rousing chorus of ‘happy birthday’. We also had the opportunity to share in the 2 other birthday celebrations that other guests enjoyed while we were there. Delightful company – we were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful mix of personalityies and backgrounds of the other guests who were staying at the ranch during our time there. The rides, happy hours, & family-style meals gave us the opportunity to get to know some wonderful people. Loved the heated spa that helped relax some sore muscles after the first few rides.
Super Wranglers who really catered to our interests, riding levels and questions. They were very willing to find the right match of horse & saddle to make our rides enjoyable. The scenic views along the trails were fantastic.
An added treat during our stay was learning all kinds of new things about the area & the wildlife from an expert on the desert who came as part of the opening weekend activities.
Wickenburg & the museum there are well worth an afternoon of exploring.

  • Liked — casual, comfortable
  • Disliked — tiny shower
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KYRedFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ny
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2008

This is just a friendly and welcoming little ranch in Wickenburg, AZ. I stepped into the door and felt like I was back in grandma's Old Barn House! Cookies on the counter, cheery people all over the place, great converation at Happy Hour, and AMAZING horses and trail rides.

Great Vacation.

  • Liked — There was nothing better than anything else; everything was just awesom!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank nycows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherman, Connecticut
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Flying E is the best guest ranch in our experience, which includes over 25 weeks of ranch vacations in the past 15 years. There is room for about 36 guests on the property, so the emphasis is on warm, personal service. It's a working cattle ranch with about 50 beautiful quarterhorses available for trail rides, including lopes and scenic tours. Guests of all ages from infants to great-grandmas quickly become regulars, but newcomers are immediately welcomed. The staff is amazingly responsive, doing anything they can to make your stay wonderrful. If it's your anniversary or birthday, expect a cake! Expert wranglers will help beginners feel comfortable in the saddle and choose the right horse for every rider. Rooms are woodsy, simple and immaculate -- most have both showers and bathtubs. One or two are newer suites with jacuzzis, but it is not one of those phoney "spa ranches." Meals are a delight, served family style in the lodge or at a cookout on the trail. Each night, guests gather for cocktails, watch the sunset and exchange tales of the trail. Expect hearty delicious fare like steaks, grilled salmon and lamb chops. Spectacular views of the Bradshaw Mountains and the verdant desert dazzle visitors, while wildlife encounters make your stay even more memorable. We saw bunnies, coyotes, deer, hawks, a gila monster and even a javalina (looks like a wild pig). There is no better vacation on earth.

  • Liked — authentic western experience
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ManhattanAdwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westwood, ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2008

This place was recommended by a nearby ranch that had a longer minimum stay. We couldn't have been more pleased with the hospitality, the riding and the graciousness of the other guests who have returned year after year. Our kids, ages 15 and 12 had a blast riding, swimming, playing tennis. One of the nicest vacations in recent memory.

  • Stayed April 2008
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Westwood_MaAmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2008

As I write this the last reviews are from 'UK Terry ' and 'Riding Girl' If you read these, everything they say is spot on. The first thing to say however, is to remember this is a winter ranch. It opens October to April only, as it is too hot in the summer.

My husband and I had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Flying E in early January 2008. Our stay was part of a bigger trip which took us from Scottsdale to Vegas- Zion – Bryce- Grand Canyon- Flying E- Scottsdale. We flew direct from Heathrow to Phoenix with BA. The trip was for my 50th birthday and by happy chance my birthday fell whilst we were at the ranch.

We had an amazing time overall but particularly loved the Flying E. We did the mule trip in the Grand Canyon- not ideal timing to follow up 2 days on a mule with a riding experience, but it worked out fine. We neither of us has ridden before this trip (we are golfers), but this proved to be no problem at all. I was a little worried about not having the right ‘kit’, but, as the ranch has a great boot and hat room with boots of all sizes, we helped ourselves and then felt very much the business!

Our room (poolside) was lovely, spacious and comfortable. They have electric blankets on the beds- with controls for each half. An inspired idea, as nights can be chilly and it means you can sleep without the heater on. The only problem was, I was so comfortable & snug, I missed the sunrises which are even more fabulous than the sunsets-well so I am told !

.Andy (Andrea) and Steve who are the managers, do a great job . The whole place is immaculate, the food is great and the staff are friendly and efficient. Everything is well organised, but the pace is relaxed, and in a lovely effortless way we were made to feel welcome and totally at home both on arrival and throughout our stay. The other guests were all repeat visitors,and were really kind to us showing us the ropes, helping us with riding tips and generally were great company.

The riding was wonderful, with every care taken to select the right horses for us, by Aaron, the head wrangler. With 50 horses to chose from they can accommodate all standards. We were beginners, but the other guests were not, and indeed one even had her own horses at home. They said the ranch is known as a ‘riders ranch’. The wranglers are a good fun and accomodating- a humorous lot! Rides are for about 2 hours each and you can choose whatever pace you feel comfortable with. We started at a walk, progressed the next day to a trot , and the next to a lope- well we tried anyway! At the end of the day the horses are driven back to the corral, running loose down the track -great to watch.

It’s a great life- breakfast, riding, lunch, riding, drinks/ dinner , but if this isn’t enough they have a lovely room full of books and games toys videos etc, also table tennis, a giant outdoor chess set, tennis courts, horse shoe throwing courts, the pool and spa of course, and a sauna…… riding was enough for us !

Before dinner the guests gather for pre dinner drinks in the ‘saloon’. There is no bar so its a 'bring your own ' arrangement which works well, and drinks can be taken into dinner. It’s a lovely way to watch the sunset. In the evenings we had fun with a hat decorating competition one day , and an entertaining country and western singer (Ray) on another.

If you stay here- whilst the ranch is well set back from anywhere with acres of land- you can easily ‘pop’ to Wickenberg where there are some quite different shops- well to us they were anyway. Take a look in ‘Ben’s' saddlers. Also a large supermarket where you can pick up your beer & wine. Having said that, the ranch has its only lovely, definately not to be missed, little shop selling lovely gifts, jewellery, sweatshirts etc.

We of course did not want to leave- and would love to return. We have not stopped talking about it since we got back ! If you are thinking of a ranch vacation- stop thinking, book it now at the Flying E ! ‘Happy trails’, as they say.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Bristolgolfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wickenburg hotels
3.8 mi away
My Place Suites
My Place Suites
#1 of 8 in Wickenburg
140 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Rancho Grande
Best Western Rancho Grande
#2 of 8 in Wickenburg
494 reviews
4.1 mi away
Los Viajeros Inn
Los Viajeros Inn
#6 of 8 in Wickenburg
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Quality Inn Wickenburg
Quality Inn Wickenburg
#7 of 8 in Wickenburg
87 reviews
4.2 mi away
Super 8 Wickenburg AZ
Super 8 Wickenburg AZ
#5 of 8 in Wickenburg
273 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rancho de los Caballeros
Rancho de los Caballeros
#3 of 8 in Wickenburg
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flying E Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flying E Ranch

Property: Flying E Ranch
Address: 2801 W Wickenburg Way, Wickenburg, AZ 85390-1087
Region: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Wickenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Wickenburg
Hotel Class:3 star — Flying E Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Informal Guest Ranch offers modern amenities in a warm atmosphere; set on a 20,000 acre desert cattle range at 2,500 ft elevation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Flying E Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flying e Ranch Hotel Wickenburg
Flying e Hotel
Flying E Ranch Wickenburg, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing