We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is not just Matanivusi but all the others people that are there as well.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vunaniu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matanivusi Surf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vunaniu
Certificate of Excellence
Williams, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“It is not just Matanivusi but all the others people that are there as well.”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Thanks to you ALL for the best New Year celebration ever. The whole resort is perfect and still getting better. The Yoga Centre, when it is finished, will be awesome as is its setting. When staying one is part of one big happy family and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and 10 steps to the beach and water. The food is delicious and there are always things to do. Energetic or sheer lazy. We will be back asap.

Room Tip: From a single to families, surfer to non surfer you will be welcome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vetrow13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    13
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
68
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Torquay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Our stay at Matanivusi in July 2013 was one of the best holidays we've had. We travelled with our then 6 month old son and not only did we have a great time, he loved it. I can't say a bad thing about Matanivusi. The rooms were beautiful and well planned out in space and location, the food was amazing, staff (I feel wrong calling them staff as they're more like friends by the end) were so good and helpful. Often our son was taken away for adventures (which we were more than happy to get the break) by Brian, Donna, Lesi, Tony and many more of the team. As it is a boutique resort and the staff are the same, we were very comfortable having him off with people as we knew everyone there. My husband is a surfer and he's been on many boat and land trips, he loved the breaks here and the ease of access.. There's plenty of activities to do (SUPing, snorkelling, kayaking, just lounging) so you're never short of something to do. With a young baby, we really wanted to be on the mainland so we're somewhat close to a hospital, although we felt as we could have been on an island as it was private so it was the best of both worlds. 10/10 and we're looking forward to going back in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hayley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

A truly relaxing weekend away. You can do as much or as little as you like. We chose to go snorkelling on Saturday morning then chill on Saturday afternoon. Sunday we went paddling up the creek. The meals were great, limited selection but fresh local ingredients cooked perfectly.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WannaTravel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadbeach, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I have just returned from my second visit to Matanivusi Resort. This time I went with my Mum and daughter to celebrate my daughters 30th birthday.

Once again I felt welcomed by the owners Donna and Brian and everyone made the birthday special for my daughter.

The staff greeted us each morning by name and always with a smile. All we had to do was relax and decide what cocktail we should try for the day.

If you are looking for a relaxing holiday without the crowds I would highly recommend this resort.

Accommodation was spotless and comfortable, the food was amazing, cocktails hard to resist and the "enchanted forest" was very peaceful.

I am looking forward to my 3rd visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I have become a repeat guest of Matanivusi Resort and now I can't bring myself to go anywhere else in Fiji as I know I will only get disappointed.... Donna, Brian, Tony and the rest of the staff make you feel like you are at home, nothing is ever a problem for them and the food and accommodation is amazing. If you're looking for a small getaway and want personalised treatment then I couldn't recommend this place enough, I celebrated my 30th birthday at their new 'Enchanted Forest' deck and spent almost the entire day there looking up at the amazing canopy... You don't have to Surf to enjoy this place, none of my party were surfers and yet we all had an amazing holiday!! Thanks again everyone, vinaka vaka levu and I will definitely be coming back again in the new year! xxxxx

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, stay away from rooms 1 and 2 as they are close to the restaurant/bar area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristiepywell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yandina, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The best hospitality we have ever experienced. My partner and I were married at the resort alongside 10 close family members, the staff went above and beyond to make sure we had the best day imaginable, a plethora of surprises was uncovered, beginning with an elaborate set-up beneath the fig tree and it kept coming from there, sounds cliche but it was perfect. From our young to our old, each person was cared for individually and I was particularly impressed with the care and attention shown to my aging father, there really was no hassle too big. The food was excellent, the accomodation immaculate and the surf pumped for two days which was a bonus, could not be more stoked!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We stayed with our 3 year old son and it is by far the best place we have ever stayed at as far as the staff go. They are unbelievably friendly, and the resort is small enough its feels like you are visiting friends on a surf holiday. They were constructing a yoga facility below a huge tree canopy and we know we'll be back one day.

If you have the chance to stay here...you must...no faults at all.

Room Tip: If you have a family get one a bit farther back from the main point if they are light sleepers...the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vunaniu
8.1 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,622 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
497 reviews
15.4 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 9 in Sigatoka
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
194 reviews
3.5 mi away
Waidroka Bay Resort
Waidroka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Korovisilou
329 reviews
36.2 mi away
InterContinental Fiji Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matanivusi Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matanivusi Surf Resort

Property: Matanivusi Surf Resort
Address: | Pacific Harbour, Vunaniu, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Vunaniu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vunaniu
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort is Fiji's premier eco resort in an amazing secluded location on the Coral Coast. The architecturally designed resort has only 12 beachfront deluxe king sized rooms with bathroom ensuites, all just metres from the picture perfect lagoon and fringing reef. You wont find a more perfect place to relax or be as active as you wish with surfing, yoga, SUP and snorkelling all on offer in this pristine environment. Matanivusi was the world's first STOKECertified "sustainable" surf resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matanivusi Surf Hotel Vunaniu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing