We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect trip for Surfers and their Widows!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Vunaniu
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Matanivusi Surf Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vunaniu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We selected Matanivusi as a compromise between a hardcore surf trip for the boys and i and a family vacation where my wife could enjoy herself as well. What a great choice. We travelled with another family and found the other 3 bures occupied by families the same as our own, . One or two surfers and a surf widow with perhaps a couple of surf orphans, we quickly all became friends. Whilst the perfect uncrowded waves ensured all of our surfing expectations were met, the widows were entertained every day by Kevu and the rest of the staff with village tours, waterfall trips, jungle walks and snorkelling trips. Of course there was also plenty of time for just laying by the pool with a book.

If you want a big resort with private dining, nighttime entertainment, day spas and every minute organised for you, then Matanivusi is probably not what you want. But if you enjoy the feeling of just staying at a mates place with 10 friends, dining, surfing and ejoying each others company, then you will have the time of your life. Brian and Donna were just fantastic and nothing was ever too much trouble.

We enjoyed clean surf between 2 and 8 ft at Pipes, Jays, Shifties and Frigates. Out of 10 days in the surf, i would rate 8 as some of the best days surfing i have ever had. My 12 and 15 year old sons had no problems at all and rated it the best trip of their lives.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CronullaSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

152 - 158 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2010

Matanivusi more than lived up to our expectations. Considering cyclone Mick had been in town 2 days before, it in no way impeded on our holiday. Donna, Brian and the staff went our of their way to make our stay a memorable one. Family consenus was 'best holiday ever!' What more can I say except can't wait to go back!!!!
Steve, Katrina, Sophie and Isabella

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKWelchSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2009

My husband and I went to Fiji to get married and for an epic surf trip. Our time at Matanivusi was the highlight of our trip. The resort was beyond my expectations and I enthusiastically recommend this resort to anyone looking for that 5 star experience. From day 1 I felt like I was staying at one of those exclusive resorts that only celebrities can afford. The staff is professional and friendly. The owners make you fell like you are staying with family. The other guests become your friends. We unfortunately went to another resort for a planned 4 nights. We stayed 1 night and then returned to Matanivusi, no other resorts compare. We plan to return to this resort, I hope we see you there.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heidisf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2009

Although this is a very very nice resort, dont be misled to think that it is Pacific Harbour aptly named " the adventure capital of Fiji" Pacific Harbour has endless activities on offer and to access these from here you have to travel over 40min to get there.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
7  Thank fijibouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

Back at home now after an absolutely amazing 7 night stay with Donna, Brian and the Matanivusi crew. Thankyou so much guys for having us at your beautiful resort and for giving us the perfect holiday. We stayed in a group of two families including 5 young children and the experience was truly amazing! The location, accomodation, hosts, staff, activities - all first class! A huge range of activities to keep everyone entertained. The boys surfed fantastic waves everyday (pack a bigger board for Frigates when there's swell). Snorkelling, Stand-Up Paddle and kayaking on the crystal clear lagoon were other highlights. The kids were able to visit the local Kindy and had an amazing time!
The kids had a ball collecting shells, chasing hermit crabs, having fresh coconuts, swimming in the pool and hanging out with the local boys. I simply cannot fault Matanivusi resort, we had a truly amazing experience. Thank You so much guys and we'll definately see you again soon!!!
Greg, Maria, Sasha and Evie Hobson & David, Bianca, Ruby, Harper and Sunni Mangels
PS: Stayed at Hideaways for 2 nights after Matanivusi - does not even come close to our time at Matanivusi

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gmhobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

The recipe for a fantastic family holiday -
-collect friends with an interest in surfing and children to play with yours and add
-a good swell, a pool, kayaks, stand up paddle boards, beautiful accommodation with rainforest on one side and sea on the other, a cook who caters for your every whim, cocktails by the sea, Fijian staff who anticipate your every need and love children, diving with leopard sharks
- mix it all together and you get a holiday that ticks every box.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellorSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

Donna and Brian and the smiling staff have made our two visits perfect...Matanivusi Resort is a stylish alternative to the common drab simplicity of most...and it is small...only 8 bures so you get attention with the style...Surf exclusive to the resort at two near breaks, J's and Shifties, and there is Fiji Pipeline close by and a 40 minute blast on a Nusa Cat to the outer barrier reef for surfing Frigates Pass...More breaks give you more options when the conditions change...Experienced Tavarua and Namotu and consider this superior overall...Nothing compares to Cloudbreak, however, the surf around Matanivusi seems to be more flexible under changing conditions...Will return!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Surfbarrels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vunaniu
8.1 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,701 reviews
4.5 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#9 of 10 in Sigatoka
505 reviews
12.7 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Tambua Sands
Tambua Sands
#3 of 10 in Sigatoka
403 reviews
44.7 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
3.5 mi away
Waidroka Bay Resort
Waidroka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Korovisilou
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matanivusi Surf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matanivusi Surf Resort

Address: | Pacific Harbour, Vunaniu, Viti Levu, Fiji
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Vunaniu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vunaniu
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Matanivusi Beach Eco Resort is Fiji's premier eco resort in an amazing secluded location on the Coral Coast. The architecturally designed resort has only 12 beachfront deluxe king sized rooms with bathroom ensuites, all just metres from the picture perfect lagoon and fringing reef. You wont find a more perfect place to relax or be as active as you wish with surfing, yoga, SUP and snorkelling all on offer in this pristine environment. Matanivusi was the world's first STOKECertified "sustainable" surf resort. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Matanivusi Surf Hotel Vunaniu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing