We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fiji Resort for Surfers and Divers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waidroka Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Fiji Resort for Surfers and Divers”
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I stayed in Waidroka last month and it was a wonderful finish to my trip. The location is ideal, set against the water with the tropical forest as a backdrop. The small team that runs the resort takes good care of all the guests. Meals are well prepared – great burgers. I was there for surfing and we went out to Frigates each day – they packed lunches and I just thought the entire operation was well run. Nice room, grounds, people, boats and decent rates, what more can you ask for? A tip – take a shared van from Nadi to Pac Harbor and save on the trip to the resort. It’s around $15 FJ vs $100+ for a private taxi. It’s basically a non-stop ride except for the pit-stop the van makes for refreshments. The vans leave from a parking lot that is located across a grassy field next to the main bus station. Just show up and jump on one. It will drop you off in the village of Korovisilou in front of JT’s general store, just like it’s written on the site. Note that JT charges a small fee ($2 FJ) to call for the van to come from the resort to pick you up. NB: those crummy reviews from ages ago do not reflect the resort at this time. It’s a very nice place. I’ll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Exploricon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    70
    11
    7
    11
See reviews for
39
96
57
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The resort was beautiful!!!
The staff absolutely friendly and helpful!!! I stayed so long that I became part of the family and even got involved in helping them to bake fresh Swiss bread.
The dives were awesome!!!
I discovered a new dive site, and I called it Swiss Cheese... Dive there - Its Amazing..
I'm going back soon!

P.S If you decide to go there rent a car!

Room Tip: Book it now!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Divebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We came across the Waidroka resort booth at the 2011 dive expo in Hong Kong and were struck by the helpful information, great deals and courteous manners. So my wife & I decided to experience diving Fiji for the first time. It was one of the best experience I can recall having dived at Hawaii, Carribian, Zanzibar, Maldives, Sipadan, etc., etc. Waidroka management provided us with all necessary logistical detail about 2 weeks before our departure and confirmed airport pick-up. Waidroka staff met were waiting for us at the airport and soon drove us about 2.5 hours to the resort. Tip: Buy your wine & spirits upon arrival at Nadi dutyfree and save lots of cash. The resort was very clean, tidy and tropical as it backs on to a rainforest and fronts on to the sea although no beach. There is a very spacious clubhouse for socializing, entertainment and dinning. The management & staff were absolutely 5 star and served large helpings of delicious fusion style meals. The Kava ceremony is something to experience. We did not travel very much but focused on diving. The dive manager & staff were very experienced and the dive shop is very well equipped with almost brand new gear at very reasonable price. Fiji is the hard coral capital & it was magical. We experienced 2 shark feeding dives and were amazed to see dive staff feeding a large number of very large lemon, nurse, bull and other large sharks. We were kept very safe by experienced dive staff despite being surrounded by tens of large wild sharks. Anyway, I could write another few pages but will end with highly recommending this resort for diving, surfing, game fishing or just lazing around. – +5 stars at 3 star price.

Room Tip: bungalows 1 to 3 are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohit D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2011

This is not a Typical Resort. If you want the resort type experience DO not Stay here! They do not have a normal restaurant, and so they have to find out from guests the night before if their having dinner the next night which is a set 3 course meal for $50 fijian in which everyone has to sit at a table together right at 7pm. The food wasn't that appealing, and the staff kept asking all of us about dinner the night before, first thing in the morning and in the afternoon which we didn't want to plan because we wanted to see the area and didn't know where we would be. One of the ladies was so pushy and rude. Then to get to the resort you have to go up a really bad and dangerous dirt road that winds up the mountain: this takes about 15 minutes to get to once you turn off to the resort road. We went on one of there trips to go fishing and snorkelling, but the "fishing" was two rods with lines off the side of the boat, and if there was a bite then only one of the guides could reel it in… the lunch meal that we paid for was a rip off. For $20 you got a tuna sandwich and their "juice" was diluted cordial and water yuck. Not impressed at all. We went away for dinner at another resort that was about a 35-minutes away called The Pearl, where they had happy hour cocktails, and their lobster only cost $35 fijian. Would have much rather stayed there!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunbummm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Velden am Woerthersee, Austria
Level Contributor
139 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This is a truly beautiful place. It was about a two hours trip from Nadi airport, where my pick up was arranged. It was a smooth and easy, even enjoyable trip. The resort is really far away from anywhere, about four hilly kilometres from the main road. The place is small with an estimated capacity of 30 to 40 beds. I had a sea view room, chalet style accommodation is also available. The room was large and comfortable, not fancy though. It was far from new but very well maintained and clean. The view from the terrace in front is amazing, over forest and palms onto the turquoise ocean. I was on a meal plan what means I had all my meals at the resort, and unless you have you own transport, this is the only way to do it really. There is no town or shop anywhere near. Quality of the food was excellent. Dinner is served to all guests and management, and since there were very few guests when I stayed this was on one table. Definitely a great feature, if you are travelling by yourself. I went diving twice which was a great experience. The diving in the area is great, and done in a very professional manner. Kayaks are available to paddle around in the lagoon. The surfing is good from what I heard, I’m not a surfer myself. There is no beach as such. It is a nice and relaxed place in a very beautiful spot, definitely recommended.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpenbewohner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2011

The Fijian Staff were excellent, very friendly and accomodating. Stayed in the motel like rooms at top of hill - expect no air condition, and mediocre fans and the basic of accomodations. The resort was peaceful and clean, the food was great. This property is waterfront BUT is NOT beach front - so no walks on the beach after surfing or diving. It takes 30 mins to get out to the resort to the nearest town to expierence shops or the culture. The rainforest bordering this resort is lovely.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loveakl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2011

We just got home and had a wonderful time at Waidroka Bay Resort. The resort overall was very well kept, all staff are exceptionally friendly and will always go out of their way to make you happy. The owner is kind and ate dinner with us every night. First rate service all around. If you are a diver you will LOVE LOVE this place-the dive masters take care of everything for you, including your gear. All you have to do is check to make sure all your equipment is on the boat prior to departure.

There isn't any air conditioning so pay the extra to stay in an oceanfront bure-don't stay in a 'panoramic view room'. Those rooms are above the main resort and can get very hot.

If you are expecting a beach resort (with white sandy beaches) this isn't the place for you, look at pictures that are posted. Having said that if you are a diver they will sometimes take you to a beach for your surface interval which is very fun.

One more tip-once you are at the resort you are there unless you want to pay to go into Pacific Harbor (75 fijian) so make sure you buy your alcohol at the airport and any snacks you might like in the evenings after diving.

This resort is VERY FUN. We had a couple of Kava parties (do your own research on what that is) and on our last day we had a BBQ and volleyball tournament with the staff (with the manager betting a cooler of beer for the winner). Although this is a secluded resort you won't be bored.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank purple2376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korovisilou
11.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#4 of 23 in Coral Coast
2,539 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
908 reviews
24.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
629 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
490 reviews
23.9 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waidroka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waidroka Bay Resort

Property: Waidroka Bay Resort
Address: Deuba, Korovisilou, Viti Levu 323, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Korovisilou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waidroka Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where tropical rainforest meets the Pacific Ocean nestles a tranquil Boutique Resort, offering an absolute adventure into Fiji's culture combined with worldclass SURFING - DIVING - FISHING and everything else the ocean has to offer. The perfect combination of pure relaxation and exhilarating action, Waidroka Bay Resort offers mind-blowing Surfing at Frigates Passage and many other breaks like famous Pipe or Serua Rights, world class Diving at the famous Bega Lagoon & Reef, as well as shark diving, Game- & Sport Fishing, Snorkeling, Kayaking, Rainforest-Trekking and all that is expected of a Fijian oceanfront adventurer paradise. Famous Fijian hospitality and smiles, a variety of beautiful accommodation, great food, stunning views, exhilarating activities on the highest level and a dream location conveniently located on the main island, Viti Levu, only 2 hours distance from the airport and 20 minutes away from the 'Adventure Capital' of Pacific Harbour - yet totally secluded in the midst of the rainforest on our own private Lagoon. Waidroka Bay Resort is a true haven for those seeking a home away from home combined with an intimate and private boutique experience and atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waidroka Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waidroka Bay Hotel Korovisilou
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Hotel
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing