We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Service, beautiful resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waidroka Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We just got back from 2 weeks in Fiji. One week was spent at this great little resort. I was so impressed with the service and the friendliness of all the staff. Bula is spoken here. They all have the 'aloha' spirit that I grew up with many years ago in Hawaii.
The downside is that this place is 'off the grid'. It is very remote and the resort is small. There is no real beach but they have a beautiful pool. You have to kayak or SUP to get to snorkeling or take one of their boats out to the reefs. There is no night life or shopping. BUT the upsides are plenty. The food is fabulous, the rooms are clean and very comfortable, we drank the water and did not get sick, the reefs for diving or snorkeling are unbelievable, the surfing is uncowded, the surf and dive guides were really attentive, the boats were comfortable with shade, and the staff was always there to make sure everything was great. We had such a great time, met some really nice people, and we hope to make it back someday.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Kailua70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 250 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed at Waidroka resort in early August 2012. It is close to a 3 hour drive from Nadi airport, but the resort will arrange for a shuttle pick up. Our driver was very friendly and offered to stop if we wanted refreshments and snacks for the ride.

We arrived in the evening at the resort so we really had no idea what the surrounding area looked like. It was a warm welcome and right away we were introduced to the dive managers and surf guides to start plotting out our stay.

On a whole we had a great stay. The staff were so friendly and attentive and you start to feel like a little family with the rest of the resort guests.

We were originally booked in one of the ocean view bures. It’s cute with its private porch and hammock swing, and the bathroom had been newly renovated. Unfortunately though we had problems with rodents. They chewed into my husbands carry on luggage 3 times and kept us up at night as the scratched and scrambled about and in the bure. We mentioned the issue with the rodents right away and were told that they sometimes are a problem due to the wet weather. Not really the answer we were looking for…. We eventually gave up and asked for another room, as we just couldn’t get decent nights sleep. The guests at the other two ocean view bures were having the same issues as well. The managers did fumigate the bures and even went and got a couple of cats to try and help with the problem. But really what needs to happen is the interior of the bures to be stripped out and redone new to fix all of the cracks and holes. It was disappointing to have to change rooms as the view was lovely and it was really nice to have our own outdoor space to hangout and enjoy the afternoons.

Our dive managers Sascha and Lauren were amazing. I’m a new diver and was really nervous about going out on the dives. But Laurens extra attention and care made all the difference. She stayed with me the entire time, kept making sure I was ok and took it nice and easy. She was amazing! Sascha and Lauren are so passionate about what they do and the ocean life that you can’t help but get sucked in my their enthusiasm and excitement. We had such an amazing experience with them and we really hope that we have a chance to dive with them again in the future.

Overall it was an awesome stay. Once they get the ocean view bures updated it will be top notch!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AJluv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAIDROKA, Owner at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2012

Thanks so much for all of your kind words on our efforts to ensure every client has the best possible vacation at Waidroka.

We unfortunatley regret that there where some rodent issues and have of course been working on resolving these issues with the utmost attention. The time period of your stay was combined with the Fijian winter time and sometimes this is the time where smal rodents try to get into the Bures for warmth. Apart from fumigation, working on the cracks and interiors and also cats we have managed to overcome this issue, which is luckily also combined with it getting warmer and the rodents simply moving back into nature.

One of the main aspects of the beauty of the resort is our rainforest setting - unfortunatley with that in mind sometimes this also causes problems which are not easily resolved and take special attention and a bit of time. We are of course very sorry for the inconvenience and will continuously work to resolve any problems we have ,as we are comitted to our clients experiences.

Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We spent 2 nights here during a 2 week holiday in Fiji. The resort is immaculately clean and tidy and very well presented in general. All the small touches are there such as comfy day beds under cover, overlooking the pool, snooker table, free book exchange, free kayaks etc. My partner enjoyed a couple of excellent dives off Frigates reef (the reef break that the surfers surf off an hour's boatride offshore). The food is excellent, sourcing local produce - 3 course meal at dinnertime, but was perhaps a little overpriced at $F95 each per day. As I am not a breakfast eater, we elected to not go with the meal plan and just ordered 'a la carte' for breakfast and lunch - dinner is set at $F50 for the 3 courses. This worked out more economically for us - bear in mind the resort is approx 10km from the nearest small village and there are no fridges in the room, so self-catering is not possible. Lovely tidy grounds, beautiful views, very friendly helpful staff and great like minded company of divers and surfers.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebdino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I just got back from a fantastic 7-day surf trip in Fiji. The staff at Waidroka are amazing: well-informed surf guide Gil with lots of energy and passion always taking care that all surfers are well briefed before surfing a new spot; friendly Fijian staff that serve delicious home-cooked meals and lastly a friendly management team that are always happy to have a chat.

I came by myself and was taken care of by everyone and the “unlimited surf option” that I chose was worth it: I surfed between 3-5 hours daily depending on tide and wave/weather conditions. Luckily the weather and waves were on my side and I surfed anything from 2-6ft waves five out of seven days of my trip. But even though it was dry season it poured down for the last 1.5 days.

The positives: Great surf guide that knows where to go and surfs with you (even mentioned that he would get my board if I lost it!); good food (at breakfast and lunch you can choose what you want and set dinner); good for single experienced surfers as well as for groups; great breaks (short barrels to long walls); good for couples too as they offer daily diving and snorkelling option for your better half if she’s into it, otherwise get a massage and relax on the pool or on one of the multiple day beds

The negatives: Not much…let me think…well, the wind can wreck the waves and it’s not Bali where it blows offshore all day in the right season but I had no crowds with perfect waves and if you can plan your holiday closer to the actual date it’s highly likely that you score perfect waves. Unfortunately, for people that want a sandy beach, the resort has only a rocky beach front and at low-tide there’s no water in front of the resort

Best surf conditions: Offshore winds are mainly from the E, NE to the NW. Some spots are sideshore in SE winds as well. S and W winds are onshore. SE swells seem to be less lined up and SW swells with a higher period deliver great walls, but both swell directions work great on the reefs. Surfed a SW and SE swell during my stay.

One last thing…Fiji is not for beginners. The breaks are all reefs and you should be at least an intermediate surfer to enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

Bula! Was a great place to stay if you are up for surfing and diving. We did the seven day unlimited surf package and fully took advantage of everyday the surf was rideable. They do an awesome job of checking the surf reports and judging the best place to take you, and taking the boat out to Frigates is fully worth it, such a great wave. And the surf guides are such rad guides to have around, it was like hanging out with one of our friends.
When we weren't surfing the resort was so chill, really relaxing and laid back. The landscaping was very well maintained and it was very picturesque. All the food was good, but needs a little bit more variety.
We didn't dive, but knowing how good there diving is, makes me really wish I had my dive license.
One day we didn't have any waves so the manager of the resort helped us set up some fun activities to do outside the resort.
If you stay here, take advantage of playing at the volleyball court, the staff loves to play and it is a lot of fun playing with everyone. Also, ask about having a Bon fire, at the pit we got to build one night that you are there.
All in all, awesome place to go for a surf and dive resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Estrada1558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Our group of 10 people stayed at Waidroka Bay Resort for one week and we received a very good service there. All the staff are nice and friendly. The room is simple but comfortable and clean. The food is very good also. Thanks to the chef !!! For diving, the 2 dive leaders, Lauren and Sascha, are very nice. We first met them as our 'dive leader'. But when we come back, we know them as a friend. They gave us a very good service and were so enthusiastic. The diving boat is big, wide, and stable. All diving equipment are in a good condition also.

Room Tip: Superior Delux Oceanfront Bure is highly recommended. Panoramic Oceanview is a bit away from restau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Saroj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed in the Superior ocean front bure with our two boys aged 10&12, My husbands parent stayed also. The diving was amazing, all our group dived except one. Our age range was 10yrs -78yrs. The dive operation was very professional and well run as was the resort. The resort is simple, but very relaxed. The bures were cleaned daily, laundry service was available and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay so much we have booked to go back in December 2012.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korovisilou
11.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#1 of 4 in Korolevu
2,752 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
995 reviews
24.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Sigatoka
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48 mi away
Fiji Marriott Resort Momi Bay
12 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
660 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 10 in Sigatoka
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waidroka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waidroka Bay Resort

Address: Deuba, Korovisilou, Viti Levu 323, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Korovisilou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Price Range: £115 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waidroka Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where tropical rainforest meets the Pacific Ocean nestles a tranquil Boutique Resort, offering an absolute adventure into Fiji's culture combined with worldclass SURFING - DIVING - FISHING and everything else the ocean has to offer. The perfect combination of pure relaxation and exhilarating action, Waidroka Bay Resort offers mind-blowing Surfing at Frigates Passage and many other breaks like famous Pipe or Serua Rights, world class Diving at the famous Bega Lagoon & Reef, as well as shark diving, Game- & Sport Fishing, Snorkeling, Kayaking, Rainforest-Trekking and all that is expected of a Fijian oceanfront adventurer paradise. Famous Fijian hospitality and smiles, a variety of beautiful accommodation, great food, stunning views, exhilarating activities on the highest level and a dream location conveniently located on the main island, Viti Levu, only 2 hours distance from the airport and 20 minutes away from the 'Adventure Capital' of Pacific Harbour - yet totally secluded in the midst of the rainforest on our own private Lagoon. Waidroka Bay Resort is a true haven for those seeking a home away from home combined with an intimate and private boutique experience and atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Waidroka Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waidroka Bay Hotel Korovisilou
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Hotel
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing