We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing shark dive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waidroka Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Certificate of Excellence
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“Amazing shark dive!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I stayed eight days at Waidroka ressort, six nights in a normal room and two nights in a bungalow. The location is fantastic. The organisation (transport from airport) worked well. The accomodation and food is good. Kind staff and a great atmosphere is guaranteed.

I dived six days. The dive places a great. If you want to see the "big" sharks then don't miss the shark dives, which are offered on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

Waidroka is worh a stay for a week or longer. May be I will be back at Waidroka ressort, if I have the time to travel Fiji again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAIDROKA, General Manager at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Bula Marcus,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write your review - we all really appreciate it :)

We really enjoyed hosting you here at Waidroka Bay Resort and we are really happy that you had a great time with us all here. Thanks for leaving behind some great diving footage and photography as well.

You know what they say - 3rd time lucky - on your 3rd shark dive you got to see Lady Joyce the Tiger Shark - everybody here was as excited as you were about seeing her in the water - what a rare treat :)

Enjoy the rest of your time in Fiji - we know you are going to some amazing spots and we're pretty sure you're going to have a great time there too.

A BIG Vinaka Vakelevu from everyone here at Waidroka Bay Resort.
Paul, Kirsti & the Waidroka Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    72
    11
    7
    11
See reviews for
40
96
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

From the moment we arrived I was on the holiday of my dreams! The staff at Waidroka are amazing, the surf guide too! The food is perfect and keeps you filled to enjoy all the adventures the resort offers. Perfect waves, great boats, good fishing, awesome weather..nothing beats it. Waidroka is the easiest trip I've ever done! My partner surfs and I don't really surf anymore, I just like to take photos. But our typical surf trips involve us driving for ages and searching for spots, checking tides and then wondering when and how I'm going to eat. Waidroka makes everything effortless! I wake up and my breakfast (banana pancakes from heaven) is ready on a table for me, they take your order before you go to bed each night. Then they take my lunch order during breakfast..so after a long day on the boat, I come back to an amazing lunch! Relax around the resort, get offered drinks, popcorn, snacks cookies and hang out with the other guests in hammocks overlooking the ocean till our communal style dinner. As a couple, definitely still room for romance at the resort and you can separate yourself from the other guests very easily. Nothing was a problem for the staff, the arranged a last minute fishing trip just for my partner and I. Set us up with paddleboards, kayaks, snorkel girl whatever we needed! Some of the most lovely people I've ever met in my life. We will definitely be back! Literally just book your flight to Waidroka and let them handle everything once you land. All you need to do is wake up and pick your food. They will bring you to the waves, based upon best tides & winds, organise everything and make sure you have the most relaxing holiday of your life! Can't recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: If you are going with a group of guys and just want a cheap fun trip, I'd say to book the PANORA...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Steph R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAIDROKA, General Manager at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Bula Stephanie & David,

Hope you guys are doing well - Thanks SO much for posting a review up on Tripadvisor and such a nice one. As for being the 'Best Holiday of your Life so far' we are honored to be a part of that for sure!

We're so glad that your whole experience seemed effortless on your part and we're happy that we met your expectations across the board. We're always working to improve things here and we're glad you appreciated the effort :)

We are looking forward to seeing you next year - maybe this time of year? The waves are big today!
Vinaka Vakelevu and Kind regards from all the staff here at Waidroka Bay Resort.
Paul, Kirsti & the Waidroka Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Went here for a surf trip in May 2014.

The Good
- Diving around here is amazing.
- Surf is fantastic. Plenty of choice though really only for the experienced as all spots are reef breaks and they're all pretty shallow. The exception is Frigates but this costs extra to get to.
- Food is great - you'll never go hungry. If you arrive on the early morning flight make sure you get some food from the airport as you'll probably miss lunch and it's a long time to dinner.
- Eddie the surf guide. Awesome guide who will show you where the best surf is. Great guy who really knows his stuff.
- Chilled vibe in the water. Everyone takes their turn (so make sure you give everyone else theirs).
- A really nice pool for chilling out by.
- Stunning surroundings. Very unspoilt.
- Use of kayaks, SUPs etc if you want to explore the local coastline. Plenty to do if the surf isn't up to much.
- Super friendly and relaxed staff.
- Accommodation is basic but clean. For those who have been to Bali it's similar to an upscale losmen - perfect if you're focused on diving or surfing, it's exactly what you need, but if you have someone along with you who does neither you're probably better off somewhere else.

The Not So Good
- No beach. There is no sand beach as it's mangrove straight off the resort. If you want to lounge it'll need to be by the pool.
- Reliance on tides. For the surfers you can only surf around high tide. Whilst boats can get out at low tide you won't be surfing then as the reefs get too shallow.
- Remote. It's over two hours from the airport. This could be a good or a bad thing for you. For me this is perfect.
- Whilst the surf package was great this is a resort that's definitely geared to divers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAIDROKA, General Manager at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Bula Ben,

Firstly - thanks so much from everybody here for taking the time to write your review, we really appreciated it - so Vinaka!

We really enjoyed hosting you and Marcus here for your surfing vacation - thanks for choosing us. We're glad that you had a great time surfing with Eddie and enjoyed the 'chilled vibe in the water' out this way. It's easy when there are no crowds too ;) Just so you know for your visit next time - The Frigates trip is now only $55FJD extra per person if you pre-book the Unlimited Local Surf Package - a pretty good deal.

To be fair - we were a little concerned having you guys stay at that time as we had a student group of 26 marine biologists who booked out the rest of the resort. This may of made the resort seem to swing more to divers. Normal goings on we are most definitely a surf and dive resort combined :) Anyway - the whole situation worked out great for you guys, just the two of you surfing some of Fiji's best waves by yourselves.

Thanks again for your honest review - it will definitely help other travelers to choose Waidroka Bay Resort.
Vinaka Vakelevu
Paul, Kirsti & the Waidroka Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Just returned from an amazing 7 night dive trip to Waidroka and happy to share our great experience with others. Our bookings and transfers were arranged with ease and very easy to deal with. Arriving at the airport we were met as expected by our friendly driver and quickly on our way. The location like most on he coral coast is a 2 hour drive from the airport. Upon arrival at 7pm we were met by the friendly staff, completed our check in and introduced to our friendly dive guide Brooke to plan our diving trip for the following five days. The accommodation was a private Bure with front deck and was clean and spacious and well appointed. Meals are served in a common dining area at set times which we thought was terrific and guests are quick to meet each other and the friendly staff and discuss the days activities. Having dived in many places around the world, I am impressed with our dive guide Brooke. Her knowledge of the area, competence, dive briefings and willingness to go beyond expectations made this trip special. The dive boat captains were helpful and friendly and not having to wash your own equipment after a dive but to step off the boat and into the shower is a bonus. The diving, in particular the shark dive was a must and an experience not to be missed.

It wouldn't be a fair review without mentioning some of the downsides of the trip. Having been to Fiji a few times, I am yet to be impressed with the meals, and while not going into details the meals at Waidroka are generally okay but nothing to rave about with one particular meal surprisingly served raw ! The pool was one of the major attractions of the resort however on the first day of our stay it was noticeably turning green and growing slime on the walls. This was mentioned to staff over the next few days before finally being returned to a condition that was safe to use. Somewhat disappointing that the pool could not be used given it was one of the the major attractions to this resort. I found it unusual that it took two days before our existence was noticed by the managers, despite having past them on the pathway, seen them at breakfast and being ignored at the jetty upon returning from a dive trip. Given the small friendly nature of the resort and wonderful staff , a a simple good morning and quick introduction and welcome from the managers would not have gone astray and would certainly lead by example. The location of the resort is some distance from the main highway between Nadi and Suva, about 7 Km to the highway then another 30-40 minutes to Pacific Harbour - if there is anything you want before going to the resort then get it on the way !

Despite a few minor issues, I would highly recommend Waidroka to anyone wanting to engage in a surf or dive trip with great personal service, friendly staff and an awesome dive guide ! We'll be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pgs2708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAIDROKA, General Manager at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Bula Paul and Felicity,

Firstly, Vinaka Vakelevu for taking time out of your busy schedule and writing this review - we all really appreciate it here at the resort.
We are glad that your vacation started effortlessly - Boris & Ari do the best job during the reservations process and our new transfer company have exceeded all expectations so thanks for mentioning the 'finer details' that some people take for granted. We are also glad that you enjoyed our accommodations - especially the private Bure - which as you stated is well appointed with a private deck. Brooke is a great dive guide and instructor and we are lucky to have her here - we're glad that you guys enjoyed her so much.

We would obviously like to address some of the downsides of the trip as well and apologize to you both that they weren't up to standard. With regards to the food - only Sushi should be served raw, nothing else so this is inexcusable. Our chef had to leave unexpectedly due to a family problem, and although our girls in the kitchen are fantastic, when left suddenly by themselves and unfortunately, understaffed, sometimes they make the odd mistake. Alvin is back in situ now and back at the helm food wise. The pool was an issue whilst you were here. Unfortunately (If you remember), there was a significant power outage and whilst we run the generator, we do not run the pool pump. After that, it takes a day to get the pool back again. Again, apologies - power outages here are normally very short lived. As for myself and Paul not acknowledging you, again, we apologize although we were only here for the first evening and the first day of your stay. We attended a trade show together and didn't return until after you had checked out. Obviously that first evening and day is of the utmost importance and we hope that our behaviour didn't impact the rest of your stay. Sorry.

Just for clarity' s sake - the resort is actually 5KM from the main road and Pacific Harbour is actually 25 minutes away from the resort. Normal airport transfers are two and a half hours.

We are glad that overall you enjoyed Waidroka Bay Resort and embraced the 'home away from home' vibe that we try to create together here. We are also super happy that you would recommend it. We'd love it if you came back again... there will always be room on the shark dive for you both.

Vinaka Vakelevu
Kirsti, Paul and the Waidroka Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Provo, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Having stayed in resorts and hotels of all different shapes and sizes, we can honestly say that Waidroka is one of our favorites. Although the somewhat bumpy drive from the main highway to the resort was very basic, don't be fooled! Waidroka resort is a hidden gem in Fiji! We would highly recommend it to anyone and can't wait to stay there again.

The staff were very friendly and helpful--including waiting for us to arrive late in the evening and carrying our small contingent of bags to our respective bungalows. We were sad that we only had two nights there, as they had activities each evening and they even have paddle boards and kayaks to use for free!

Note: There are limited rooms (maybe about a handful), so the place isn't too crowded. It was so nice to be able to spend time by the pool, without much noise or distraction. We loved Waidroka!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAIDROKA, General Manager at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Bula Adam,

Thank you from all the team here for taking the time to write a review for us here at Waidroka Bay Resort. It is greatly appreciated :)

It's a shame we didn't get to spend much time with you all during your short stay here - but hopefully you will return someday for a longer period? Anyway - you are right - Waidroka Bay Resort is a Hidden Gem, so don't tell too many people about it ;) As you mention, we only have 12 rooms which means we are never too crowded and people can enjoy their space, peace, boats and never have to worry about securing a sun lounger here.

Regards to the rest of your family.
Vinaka
Paul, Kirsti & the Waidroka Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Can't say enough nice things about Waidroka Beach Resort. The location, the staff, the surf access and the quality of the accommodation/food were all much better than I expected. I am looking forward to another visit in the future.

Room Tip: I liked the Bures
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gosurfdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAIDROKA, General Manager at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Bula Brian,

Thanks for taking the time to write your review - much appreciated :)
It was our pleasure to host you here at Waidroka and get you out surfing for at least the one day! Glad you appreciated the good, solid qualities of the resort.. Thanks again for providing the Sawyer water filter - we put it together at the school and the kids can now drink the water safely.

We hope to see you again sometime soon with the rest of your clan.

Vinaka Vakelevu
Paul, Kirsti & the Waidroka Crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My wife and I spent 4 nights of our 20th anniversary trip at Waidroka Bay Resort and loved it...The staff treated us like family and the attention to details were evident throughout the resort. The surfing was excellent with uncrowded line-ups and Eddie (surf guide) was great. We would definitely book this resort in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surf680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WAIDROKA, General Manager at Waidroka Bay Resort, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Bula Terry & Chris,

Thankyou so much for your concise review :) - and thanks for taking the time - we all really appreciate it. We really enjoyed hosting you here at Waidroka Bay Resort and super glad that you chose to spend some of your 20th anniversary with us. We enjoyed your company immensely and we are looking forward to your return visit next year. Maybe then you'll take us up on your well deserved romantic dinner?

Hope life is treating you both well...
Vinaka Vakelevu
Paul, Kirsti & the Waidroka Crew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korovisilou
11.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#6 of 24 in Coral Coast
2,620 reviews
12.0 mi away
Uprising Beach Resort
Uprising Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
638 reviews
7.9 mi away
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
Mango Bay Resort Fiji
#8 of 9 in Sigatoka
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#4 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
940 reviews
24.2 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
1,049 reviews
9.2 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waidroka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waidroka Bay Resort

Property: Waidroka Bay Resort
Address: Deuba, Korovisilou, Viti Levu 323, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Korovisilou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waidroka Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where tropical rainforest meets the Pacific Ocean nestles a tranquil Boutique Resort, offering an absolute adventure into Fiji's culture combined with worldclass SURFING - DIVING - FISHING and everything else the ocean has to offer. The perfect combination of pure relaxation and exhilarating action, Waidroka Bay Resort offers mind-blowing Surfing at Frigates Passage and many other breaks like famous Pipe or Serua Rights, world class Diving at the famous Bega Lagoon & Reef, as well as shark diving, Game- & Sport Fishing, Snorkeling, Kayaking, Rainforest-Trekking and all that is expected of a Fijian oceanfront adventurer paradise. Famous Fijian hospitality and smiles, a variety of beautiful accommodation, great food, stunning views, exhilarating activities on the highest level and a dream location conveniently located on the main island, Viti Levu, only 2 hours distance from the airport and 20 minutes away from the 'Adventure Capital' of Pacific Harbour - yet totally secluded in the midst of the rainforest on our own private Lagoon. Waidroka Bay Resort is a true haven for those seeking a home away from home combined with an intimate and private boutique experience and atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waidroka Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waidroka Bay Hotel Korovisilou
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Hotel
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing