We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It felt like Family!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waidroka Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waidroka Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Certificate of Excellence
Fiji Islands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“It felt like Family!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2009

What a change this fun little resort has seen, with the advent of two wonderful new managers. Waidroka is a true rainforest retreat, tucked into the lush jungles, at the water's edge. Julie and Darryl have taken this retreat and turned it into such a fun place with their big hearts, great personalities and capacity for entertainment. When we were there, there were other couples who had meant to only stay for 5 nights, and ended up cancelling their other plans and staying for 2 weeks. It's just that wonderful.

They have initiated a chef training program, and our meals were delightful. The fish was cooked to perfection, and Daryl's Mother's dessert receipes were a big hit with all the guests - homemade eclairs, cakes, flaky pastries. If you don't gain 10 pounds after a week, you're doing something wrong!

When previously this resort was looking tired and dour, it now springs to life with lush tropical flowers, herb and vegetable gardens, and a staff that is loving life. Julie and Darryl often accompany guests on adventure excursions, and do their best to provide experiences to write home about.

One day when it was raining, they gave all the guests umbrellas and into the pool we went, umbrellas in one hand, wine spritzers in another. It was almost surreal sitting in a pool, looking at the rain over the ocean. Everything is greeted with such a positive attitude and enthusiasm, that it's no wonder they have guests staying over their intended holiday.

Granted, Waidroka isn't a luxury resort, but the cute wooden bures that kind of resemble mountain cabins, colorfully painted and set in and amongst the tropical foliage, are great getaways and far from the tourist crowds. They are avid surfers and divers, and the dive sites are great. Our son enjoyed surfing, skurfing and wakeboarding, and we loved Julie's careful attention to all the divers.

All in all, it feels like coming home. A fun, friendly, warm and welcoming place. For those not wanting to spend the big dollars at a flash resort, this is a little hidden treasure. But be careful - Julie is apt to rope you into singing karoke with her - and she really gets going on "Sk8R Boi"!

  • Liked — Upbeat managers, great pool area, fantastic diving and surfing - all of it!
  • Disliked — Lack of beach - but that was OK the pool area was great.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fiji-Suz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    68
    10
    7
    10
See reviews for
38
95
58
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2008

Stayed at Waidroka for 10 days at the end of September 2008. At first I was supposed to stay only 4 nights but decided to extend my stay by a further week. I absolutely loved it. The management is wonderful and they really do their best to satisfy all interests and tastes customers might have. I particularly went there for the diving and I wasn't disappointed. I was travelling on my own and Julie and Derrell really made feel at home. The accommodation and food are wonderful and the resort really caters for all tastes. It is set amidst a beautiful rainforest so you can either relax or enjoy all the activities on offer. I would suggest the place to all kinds of travellers, from the backpacker like me to a family.

  • Liked — The diving and the management
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vally_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2008

Waidroka Bay was recommended to me when I was in the planning stages of my Fiji trip. My first research turned up some really negative posts, which made me nervous. But these were all older and under different management.

I am SO glad I chose Waidroka Bay for my stay!

My trip was primarily for a mission, but I couldn't travel all that way and not dive, so as a solo female traveler, I was looking for a few days of awesome diving before meeting up with the mission team. Julie and Darryl took me in like family and showed me the most fabulous underwater life I've ever seen. They clearly know their business. Safety was first rate - I always felt well taken care of - even when coming upon a school of barracuda or hangin' out 15 ft from big bull sharks! (You CANNOT miss the shark dive if you go here!) As awesome as the diving was, it was only slightly better than the stories Darryl would tell. Gotta love the Kiwis!

Make no mistake, this is a dive and surf destination spot. There are no swim-up bars and no night life. No sandy beach to lounge on, but a lovely pool a and hammocks on the lawn provide sufficient relaxation. There is also a wonderful yoga pagoda if that's your thing, and massage available with some coordination. (I didn't take the time out of the water to try that out.)

The food was great, though more like staying with family than dining in a four star restaurant. The staff were all lovely. I highly recommend!

  • Liked — The divers running the place, the diving, the aquatic life, the dive stories and the divers.
  • Disliked — Absence of a sandy beach (can't win 'em all)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hillary_in_Oly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2008

Me and my husband came driving down to this place, wantet to see what it was like before we booked. And it was breathtaking. We booked for two nights, but ended up staying for three weeks. This place has so much to offer. You can just stay here enjoying one of the good books, go hiking, diving, snorkeling, surfing, fishing, and they even have kayaks for free. All of the rooms has a great seawiew. The rooms are big with everything you need for a holiday.

The people who runs this place are new, Julie and Darrel, and they are great. They are the most helpful people I have met, and I travel a lot. If we had a problem, they did everything to help us. The food is great, and the rest of the staff is realy nice.

We went sharkfeeding while we were here, and that was a big experience. We felt so safe, because the divers here are very experienced. So we were well taken care of.

When you are here, you realy dont need to leave this place. You might not want leave eighter.

  • Liked — it was a lot to choose from if you want to do something, and the sea is only a couple of meters from the rrom.
  • Stayed October 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LondonIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

Having the opportunity to stay at the Waidroka Resort truly made my trip to Fiji amazing. Beyond the beautiful grounds, friendly staff and phenomenal dive experience, there was as much or as little to do depending on your mood. Walking out from the main building is a magnificent view of the pool/lounge area to the water. It was very easy to sit outside everyday and relax in one of the many hammocks on the grounds. The staff treats you as if you are family and accommodate your every need. Julie and Darryl are terrific managers and make sure your stay is unbelievable. I can't wait to go back!!!

  • Liked — Overall experience
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tmb67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2008

Staying in Suva and being in Fiji for the last two years, we had the chance to stay at the resort in the change over of the management. Things have changed for the better with an energetic team that has renewed our expectations.
The welcome is great, the staff is friendly and available to help in any way they can.
It is possible to enjoy the water sport like dive, surf, kayak or fishing. The dive instructor is professional and the gear is well maintained. The dive sites are good as any in Fiji.
For somebody that wants a lazy day, they can spend their time in the fresh water pool or just resting in the hammock.
The bure are equipped, with a very comfortable bed and the bathroom has a shower with warm water. Every bure has a balcony with a small hammock and chairs and table.
There is a billiard table and a volley ball court and a karaoke system, there is also a tv with dvd player.
The breakfast is generous, in the evening it is possible to sit all together around the main table and enjoy a well prepared meal.
At times the resort will prepare the lovu and there is a kava ceremony followed by a bonfire.
The resort now enjoys the electricity 24/7.
Overall this resort is aimed at diving, surfing and watersports. The pool and the accomodation are well above standards that you find in many other resorts in Fiji.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Elafromaddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2008

We spent two nights at the resort and found that it wasn't anything like what we expected.

We arrived knowing that it was mostly a surf & dive resort but didn't realise that we would have nothing to do if we didn't participate in those activities!

The other guests seemed to really enjoy the surf and diving facilities however as guests who simply went to relax it wasn't ideal.

The food is overpriced and terrible quality. Our dinner on the second night was a curry made from the leftover sausages, steak and corned beef from the night before! Lunch took over an hour to arrive after we ordered it. Breakfast was again overpriced and nowhere near up to resort standards.
The communal dining table again suits groups of surfers and divers who have spent the day together however as a couple who kept to themselves, it ended up to be quite isolating.

Having realised that the resort had nothing to offer for us activity wise we decided to venture out to Pacific Harbour on the second day. The staff were kind enough to arrange a taxi for us, which again was ridiculously overpriced. It cost $17 to get to the top of the hill - the only way to leave the resort unless you've hired a car (4km) and $80 for a 25 minute drive down a main road. We had hoped that the resort had a courtesy bus like so many others.

The resort was in the process of handing over management, and the old owners had a better idea of leaving guests to have their own privacy. On our first night we had staff knock on our door twice to ask what time we would be coming up for dinner.

Other disappointments is that there is no internet access and only certain rooms have telephones. The electricity runs out of an evening as it runs on a generator. We also suspect that we paid for a better room than what we received however as there was no internet for us to check we had no proof!

We felt more like an inconvenience than a well looked after guest - which was disappointing for a place that has so much potential.

  • Liked — Room size
  • Disliked — Food, isolation, general disappointment
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank roguetraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Korovisilou
11.5 mi away
The Warwick Fiji
The Warwick Fiji
#5 of 23 in Coral Coast
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,381 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Pearl Resort
The Pearl Resort
#3 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
24.1 mi away
Bedarra Beach Inn
Bedarra Beach Inn
#1 of 9 in Sigatoka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Nanuku Auberge Resort
Nanuku Auberge Resort
#1 of 5 in Pacific Harbour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
17.3 mi away
Fiji Hideaway Resort & Spa
23.9 mi away
Outrigger Fiji Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waidroka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waidroka Bay Resort

Property: Waidroka Bay Resort
Address: Deuba, Korovisilou, Viti Levu 323, Fiji
Phone Number:
Region: Fiji > Viti Levu > Coral Coast > Korovisilou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Korovisilou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waidroka Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where tropical rainforest meets the Pacific Ocean nestles a tranquil Boutique Resort, offering an absolute adventure into Fiji's culture combined with worldclass SURFING - DIVING - FISHING and everything else the ocean has to offer. The perfect combination of pure relaxation and exhilarating action, Waidroka Bay Resort offers mind-blowing Surfing at Frigates Passage and many other breaks like famous Pipe or Serua Rights, world class Diving at the famous Bega Lagoon & Reef, as well as shark diving, Game- & Sport Fishing, Snorkeling, Kayaking, Rainforest-Trekking and all that is expected of a Fijian oceanfront adventurer paradise. Famous Fijian hospitality and smiles, a variety of beautiful accommodation, great food, stunning views, exhilarating activities on the highest level and a dream location conveniently located on the main island, Viti Levu, only 2 hours distance from the airport and 20 minutes away from the 'Adventure Capital' of Pacific Harbour - yet totally secluded in the midst of the rainforest on our own private Lagoon. Waidroka Bay Resort is a true haven for those seeking a home away from home combined with an intimate and private boutique experience and atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Waidroka Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waidroka Bay Hotel Korovisilou
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Hotel
Waidroka Bay Surf Dive Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing