We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like 3am train noise and refurbishment, this could be your hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you like 3am train noise and refurbishment, this could be your hotel?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2011

We stayed at the hotel last week. We had a suite for my daughter and grand children 2 & 4 years old and a standard room for us. If you have heavy cases do not expect porter service. Instead you take a cart yourself for the luggage. We took the standard room which was clean and well kept but was facing another block of rooms so no views. The daughter, husband and grandchildren had the suite. It was basic but did have a living area and 2 x queen beds. There was only a bar in the hotel which had a very small bar type menu We were recommended to dine in town at a GREAT restaurant called the Red Raven. Fantastic service, great food and reasonably priced. We would highly recommend this to anyone!
The downside was the refurbishment on the cladding that started each morning at eight. The trains would be positioned each of the two nights we stayed with whistles blowing at three AM which woke us all up! The Railway Hotel is more a motel than a hotel with limited facilities but the small indoor pool was OK but not great! Would we stay there again? No unless you do not mind the limited facilities and the standard room price of 155 US or the suite price of 185 US per night!

Richard & Elaine Broden, Norfolk, England

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Railwayman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    658
    662
    286
    88
    36
See reviews for
717
614
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2011

Reminded me of an older chain hotel/motel. Rooms were fairly clean, but old. Everyone was friendly. Definitely not worth the price we paid. Will find somewhere else to stay next time.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdadtahby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights while on a trip to the Grand Canyon. The staff was very helpful, and our first floor room was very clean and comfortable. Since it is only steps away from the Grand Canyon Railway Depot and the Cafe, this is where to stay if you are visiting the Canyon by train. We traveled by Amtrak to Williams Junction, and the hotel shuttle was waiting for us as we got off the train. The next morning we boarded the Grand Canyon Railway train to Grand Canyon National Park.

We enjoyed the food at the Cafe directly across from the Hotel. The buffet breakfasts and dinners were very good, and featured a wide choice of items.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tealassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corsica, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

The hotel is quite common and offers little charm. However, it is clean and rooms are relatively nice so it is quite ok when you have planned to take the train to the Grand Canyon.
The Breakfast was quite good value for money but we did not try the restaurant for any other meals.
Staff was very friendly and helpful and we did get a free upgrade to a better room because we were missing a fridge to put our infant's food.

Room Tip: Good for the railway experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huron, Ohio
Level Contributor
110 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2011

Our stay here was wonderful, but for reasons you might not expect. The room was an elegant style, but very simple. They checked us in 4 hrs early which thrilled us to no end, and we saw them cleaning carpets in the rooms which also impressed us. The hotel staff was top notch. A soap and shampoo dispenser in the shower was a great as well and the bathroom also had a hair dryer. The other amenities were ironing board and iron and coffee maker with coffee. The bed was super comfy and elegantly made. Even though everything appeared elegant cost cutting measures were apparent. We could see the train tracks. We ate in Williams because of cost and quality of food. The best part of our trip was the train station and the city of Williams and of course the Grand Canyon. We happened to be here when they brought in a steam engine and that was AMAZING especially for my husband. Also, the town of Williams is a 100+ year old town which needs help, but all the old signs are impressive and re-purposed buildings are great. It's the real deal. It's also a route 66 town, which scores big with vintage car enthusiasts as well (my husband). Real cowboys are found here which was interesting. Also, we came across two restaurants which we loved. The only downer on the trip was the train ride to the Grand Canyon. The trip by train was great, we rode in the dome, but the entertainment was terrible. The Grand Canyon is so spectacular that we felt we were taken advantage of tremendously by the "entertainment". They could have a entertainment car separate from the rest of the train. There also was not much history given by our car attendant Mark. He was very helpful for guidance on where to go when we got to the Grand Canyon, but pretty drab overall. The worst part was the woman who took everyones pictures on the train on the way there and tried to sell them to you on the way back, I didn't realize how horrible expensive could be!

Room Tip: Travel at a less busy time and schedule in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank learnedtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

After reading mixed reviews, I was trying to be open minded about this experience.
We arrived in Williams for 1 night stay at the GC Railway Hotel from our previous nights in Phoenix with our 2 kids ages 5 and 8. The town of Williams has NOTHING in it. It's very boring and very barren. be forewarned.
The hotel itself was nice and was certainly adequate for 1 night. They had an indoor pool that was nice for the kids but we had to actually walk outside to get to it and since it was COLD, it wasn't appealing. (keep in mind, we were there May 1)
The train to the GC was not fun. The Wild West show was terrible. Even my kids were not amused. I would recommend to skip that all together.

The train ride TO the GC was slow moving and the "scenery" was nothing to write home about- lots of fields to see. The "entertainment" was pathetic and torturous to deal with. Every train car has a "narrator" of sorts and ours was just not interesting. We could hardly hear him speak thru the "microphone" and he talked about boring stories that neither the kids or my husband or I found amusing.

Once we arrived at the GC, it was fine. Except...DO NOT pay for the bus tour! Waste of money and the park has FREE buses. Repeat: do not pay for the overpriced bus tour.

The train ride back to the hotel seemed longer than before. The "entertainment" was worse than before and the "stories told" were far more boring. The mock train robbery was so cheesy and even my kids weren't that amused. We couldn't wait to get off the train! The train could speed up so it gets to the destinations faster.

So....proceed with caution......I would NOT do the train again. It is nice to say we experienced it (I think) but I certainly would not do it again....even if it was free.

The hotel was fine and I would stay there again however.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boston0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

We wanted to visit the Grand Canyon and I researched all the options and found that going to the national park was the best way to see the Canyon then I came accross the train. My 3yr old loves trains so I was impressed by the ease with which I could book the accommodation and train on the internet so Ibooked. I was expecting a small hotel associated with the railway. Small is not what it was. The hotel was obviously recently been refurbished and some parts still being finished. Our room was everything we needed for the 1 night stay.
I found all of the staff to be friendly from check in to the buffet to the gift shop. The gift shop staff were still helpful and friendly eventhough we were shopping after closing time (I noticed the closing time when I was leaving the store).
The Buffet was good and convenient. There was something for everyone in my family which is good since the kids are a little fussy.
I was impressed with Xanterras eco friendly policies and practices.
We had an excellent time at Williams and the Grand Canyon. I only wish we could come for their Polar Express train at Christmas time but it is too far from Australia to come.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McTed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2011
Thanks for sharing your trip review and for visiting us all the way from Australia! Staying at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel makes it convenient to hop on the train and visit the Grand Canyon for a day trip. We're pleased you enjoyed your accommodations and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly.

-Dianne R.
Guest Relations Manager / Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#1 of 30 in Williams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trappers Rendezvous
Trappers Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Williams
5.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#11 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing