We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Clay, New York
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

The lobby area of the hotel is very beautiful and homey. The hotel room itself was very nice and comfortable. The pool and hot tub area was very nice, but it was so hard for us to actually figure out how to get to it! Turns out we had to go outside to get there (in january!) but it was still lots of fun. The drive to the Grand Canyon was not too far, and we also ate at one of the local restaurants. The town that the hotel is in is very quaint and nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teknoturtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    692
    307
    90
    41
See reviews for
771
662
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We did the stay here,ride the train to Grand Canyon,etc. deal. It was great ! Half our party stayed in the hotel and the others in the camper in the RV park, which was perfect for our group. Both were very nice. The RV park seems new and it's quite nice (no shade & very windy,but very well kept & clean) and walking distance from the hotel and restaurant/dining hall. The staff both places were terrific. We did a package deal which included a night at the Maswik Lodge at GCNP, a couple of breakfast and dinner deals at the hotel.and 2 nights at the hotel/RV park. I thought the packages were fairly priced and they did a great job of making it work pretty seamlessly. The hotel is undergoing a renovation,particularly the exterior, but that caused no problems for us. The package meals were good and our group enjoyed them. Plenty of choices for everyone, even our resident teenagers. The cowboy/rustler stuff is pretty hokey and probably enjoyed by very small children,others,not so much. Overall,a great way to leave your auto behind and enjoy the GCNP. We walked around the South rim area a lot and were blessed with great weather. Al in all, a great experience which I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamblinManGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

They do a pretty good job of moving several hundred folks all checking in or out at the same time, as all are there essentially to hop on the train to the Grand Canyon, or check in as the train gets back. The rooms are clean and comfortable. But avoid the railway cafe.... The food really is pretty bad. Instead go somewhere on route 66 and find much better options.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonManolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennslyvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We had the AAA package deal for a family of 9 including rail journey, breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets, 3 nights of hotel rooms, transportating our luggage (including fragile medical equipment), motorcoach tour of canyon, cowboy show, train robbery, etc. The hotel while being reconstructed is very clean and quiet. We found it to be easily accessible. Beautiful pool area with hot tub. Great exercise room. Nice gift shops. Hope to return again someday soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HistoryGal2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carrollton, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The Hotel was clean and green but the construction of the hotel was a problem for parking and getting in and out of the hotel. The beds were clean and comfortable but the cost was too much for nothing but a bed. Close proximity to the railroad station was nice but we still had to drive or walk for food since we didn't want a buffet. The buffet was all that was offered by the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The hotel is nice, they were doing some construction when we visited and had to move our room but they gave us a price discount which was nice. It was a little expensive and much better of an offer when paired with the train tickets. Pool was small but nice, hot tub very nice after a long day of hiking! Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were nice, average. It was nice to do it all-inclusive because the next morning we walked over the the restaurant and had an amazing breakfast buffet and then walked next door to the train depot.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveleramanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Stayed at the hotel 2 nights and found it to be an average hotel. The room was quiet, clean, and adequate in size. There is no refrigerator or microwave in the room which would have been a pleasant addition. One of the front desk staff recommended a restaurant in town that we thought was awful. We didn't have any better luck at another restaurant in town so we settled on one breakfast and one dinner at the Depot Buffet which was OK. If you're taking the train, it's a convenient hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 98travels2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.5 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing