We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This hotel is a very good place to stay when you plan to visit the Grand Canyon. Rooms are fine and clean. Breakfast excellent. Good choice of cold and hot dishes.
Staff very friendly and patient . It is a busy hotel where most people, from all over the world, stay for one or two nights. The ride on the train to the Grand Canyon starts right behind the hotel. It's very nice to do this. Especially for children very funny too. Before the train leaves there is a Western show on the platform.
In the hotel is a nice pub (English atmosphere) where you can have a beer and something to eat.
I enjoyed my stay very much.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryJo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,757 - 1,763 of 2,123 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2011

We booked a package including one night in Williams, one night at Maswik lodge at the Grand Canyon, a train ride to Grand Canyon, one dinner and breakfast. The hotel in Williams was nice. This was the only way I could book a night at the Grand Canyon, which is why I booked this. We were pleasantly surprised at the hotel. The hotel room was good size, the beds comfortable and the rooms quiet. Meals were available at the Grand Canyon Cafe across the street which were very good as well.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SbSenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Good location and a great concept having everything you need right there to visit the Grand Canyon. The hotel was undergoing improvements during our stay. I believe it was getting a new facade to make it feel a little more in turn with being out west, but because our visit was action packed and we were off property for the majority of the day it didn't disturb us. The room was huge and would comfortably fit a family of 4 adults. The bathroom was roomy too and well maintained. We overlooked a courtyard and there was minimal disturbance from adjoining rooms. Of course the train trip was perfect. Our only complaint was that the onsite restaurant didn't open early enough on one day when we participated in a float trip excursion. If you didn't buy the meal plan whereby they provided a boxed lunch, you were out of luck.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Motters1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

No fridge or Microwave or breakfast so bring your own or plan to eat at the restaurant. In the morning they serve continental breakfast for a price.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharondutton0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

While the staff was more or less efficient, they weren't friendly and clearly didn't like their jobs. We bought the package which included the train ride to the Grand Canyon and two meals. But at check in, with all of our bags, we were asked to walk down the block to the depot to retrieve our train and meal tickets. For a package deal, we were handed seven separate tickets and god forbid you should misplace one of them! (It took them half an hour to verify that we had already paid for breakfast because we lost one of the meal vouchers, and despite having our receipt with confirmation number and ID, they had a heck of a time assuring themselves that we had in fact already paid).

The meals are served in a cafeteria much like Furr's in style and quality. The wait staff was awful, with glazed eyes and frowns to greet you. Definitely skip the meal package and eat downtown at one of the charming local restaurants, you'll probably save money and the food and service will be much better!

The room was generic and low on amenities for the price. The water was gross, it was the color of English Breakfast Tea, but the operator assured me that the water is like that all over Williams, not just at the hotel and it's safe to bathe in. The hotel also provided bottled water since most guests were unwilling to drink the brown tap water.

There was very little parking available and no staff to help people with luggage and so forth (which really sucks when you have to lug it from No Mans Land on the far end of the parking lot).


And finally cleanliness is the most important indicator of a hotel's quality to me. And my number one area to test for cleanliness is, the bathtub. At GCR, the bathtub contained curly black hairs from the previous guest. Ewwwww. I won't be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaliceAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The hotel was expensive for an average room. Clean room but very basic. We did not have a reservation and were walkins. The staff at the hotel did provide us a reduced walkin rate and were friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L_tween_mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The train to the grand canyon is fantastic, the railway hotel is a travelodge standard hotel. How anyone can say it is luxury is beyond me. The hotel is just ok and no more. The staff are like a bunch of untrained kids running a hotel but for one night it's worth it as the train journey is memorable.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank Sellers56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williams
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#3 Family Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range: £57 - £179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing