We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful way to see the Grand Canyon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We came across this hotel as part of a AAA grand canyon railway package. It was fabulous, the hotel was so nice with its warm lobby with huge mantle and fire going. The rooms were very nice and the best part was the Wildwest show and the two hour and 15 minute trip on the train to the Grand Canyon ! Loved the whole four day package! Plus the. Grand Canyon in October is breathtaking!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Belgin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We look forward to having your family as our guests again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,433 - 1,439 of 2,123 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

Checked in at 17.50 and had to rush to another building to collect our tickets & vouchers before their office closed at 18.00. Food repetitive - same options on 2nd evening. Evening dinner supposed to run until 9pm but we had no staff for dessert or coffee just after 8pm and hopeful of a drink in the lobby found the fire extinguished just after 8 even though frost outdoors.
Room okay but smelt of cigarettes even though no smoking room
Free wifi
Long outdoors walk to breakfast/dinner.
Meal prices fair - buffet breakfast 10 dollars and evening buffet 20 dollars. Service hit & miss depending who you got
Train journey package very good - hotel great location for it and cowboy pre-show.
Location is the only thing going for this hotel - other motels in town looked less desirable from the outside. If doing again - I'd park in Williams and do the train but stay inside the Grand Canyon village.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank willsySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We booked our 1 night stay for a standard with 2 double beds located on the first floor which we received. It was clean, but certainly not worth the price we paid. Throughout the night we were awakened by the pipes in our walls creating an ungodly amount of noise. Just as we would start to dose off the noise would jar us up out of bed and fully awake. This place absolutely offers nothing other than what appears to be a bus /train tour package hotel. Look for better, less costly, and more interesting accommodations when visiting the Williams area. We certainly will!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Topper1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. As with all large hotels, there will be occasions when our guests find us at less than our very best, and we sincerely apologize for your negative experience while staying with us. We find that we are best able to rectify these unfortunate situations when the guest brings it to our attention immediately, during their stay. That way we can accurately document the incident and take the appropriate measures to compensate them for their inconvenience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

called the 1-800 number and got a 3rd party reservation company.
Spent 10 mins with the agent to check for availability with no rooms available in July 2014.
Why not spend a bit extra and have someone man the reservation lines instead of subcontracting to a 3rd party (which did not know which hotel I was booking)?

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank pepper3245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We do actually have our own in-house Central Reservations call center, however they handle reservations for all Xanterra Parks & Resorts properties nationwide, so that might have been the source of the confusion as they wanted to make sure Grand Canyon Railway is what you were interested in. We apologize for the inconvenience, and we look forward to having your family as our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Traveled with my Aunt and Uncle (in their 60's) to visit the Grand Canyon and Sedona. All three of us stayed in a suite, Room 2372. Updated beautifully. Looked brand new - all upgraded fixtures, etc. This room had a separate sleeping area and bathroom - large patio - we enjoyed it immensely.

Beds are very comfortable - two queen size - heavenly bed style with extra pillows. Couch in living room was very firm and very comfortable. Suites have refrigerator, wet bar, vanity area with sink outside of bathroom - Keurig coffee maker and pods. I'm not sure what my total cost was for the room as I booked the room as a package with the train trip - however, I am sure it was less than what I paid at the Disney Grand Californian and much nicer. The cafe for meals is buffet style, but it was good and had a nice variety for breakfast and dinner.

Spenser's Bar is on site and is very nice, well appointed with dark wood and has an upscale old style saloon feel. Happy hour is very reasonable and chips and salsa are complimentary. The salsa is homemade and very tasty.

This hotel would have been rated excellent, but the hallways need update - I think they weren't updated with the rooms and have a smell similar to a retirement community. That is the only downside and my time in the hallways was minimal. Would definitely recommend and I would stay here again.

If you book the train experience, book the luxury cars - well worth the extra money - great views and more space to relax on the 2 hr. trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhonda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

Booked a three night hotel and train adventure to the Grand Canyon though AAA. Package included meals and overnight in Maswik hotel in the canyon. Check in was easy and all vouchers were ready at Train depot. Rooms were nice, pool and decent gym. Breakfast and dinner was Buffett style and was good. The train was amazing! We upgraded to luxury level and it was well worth the small cost. Train and transfer to Maswik hotel was easy as they handle all luggage. Maswik was acceptable but would have picked another hotel. As the park just opened and seemed at 30% the dinning area seemed understaffed and unable to keep up. Especially in the Pizza cafe side. The front desk did not provide instruction how to return to the train and upon check in from our train arrival our room was not ready for a few hours. Again would book a different hotel. The bus tours were nice especially the sunset tour. Train back to Williams was perfect and check in again at the hotel was simple and the room was ready with bags waiting. This was a great trip for my parents. Over all experience was a 4 star!!! Book something other then the Maswik.

Stayed: October 2013
1  Thank Bud32695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We use feedback like yours to improve our guest experience, and your comments have been forwarded to our colleagues at Maswik Lodge for their review. Safe travels, we hope to have your family as our guests again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We drove to Williams from Sedona (where we were staying in our timeshare) and spent the night in the hotel to be able to catch the train in the morning. I booked this as a package: overnight stay, buffet dinner and breakfast and round trip train tickets, overnight stay in the Grand Canyon. It also includes admission to the park (although we have a park pass). Registration was quick and courteous. A quick walk to the train depot to pick up the train tickets was also expedient, but could have been a little friendlier. . The room was very clean and bed was comfy. The bar area is really nice and waitstaff were friendly. There is plenty of parking-fortunately our room was right inside a door next to the parking lot. The buffet was just "OK". We gave away our breakfast tics and opted for a muffin and coffee. Bags are placed in the lobby at 8:30 am and they were placed in our room at the El Tovar Hotel in the park. The train ride is a lot of fun! This is the way to go if you are visiting the Grand Canyon and spending the night. Williams is situated on RT. 66, and we had fun exploring the town.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room close to the parking lot entrance to avoid a lot of walking. But th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LizF1528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williams
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#3 Family Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range: £56 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing