We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We upgraded to deluxe room which was good for a family. Rooms are large and beds comfortable. Close to everything associated with train stuff. Park your car and forget it is a good thing. Staff very accommodating as we left a phone on the train.....they made the calls and it was returned within an hour!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to deluxe room. Has a fridge if you need one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we're glad we were able to return your lost phone promptly, and we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 2,030 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

I took my daughter to the Polar Express and stayed at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. The rooms are clean and simple. The buffet for dinner and breakfast had a nice assortment of foods to choose from. The Polar Express was very well done, our chefs Kaylee and Drew were great. Kaylee and Drew engaged the kids and parents into the feeling of Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OCBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel and courtyard were decorated for the Polar Express. It was lovely and we had no issues with anything. Parking was at a premium however there were plenty of spaces you just had to walk a short distance.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel is excellent, the staff are friendly. If you take the Grand Canyon Railway Tour to Grand Canyon, you will have a chance to meet the cast of the show... including the Mayor. Williams is such a small community but they are warm and polite people. I would definitely recommend this hotel and the railway trip.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Zat Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us! In the past 24 years, the town of Williams and its citizens have embraced the Railway and helped to make our guests' time in Northern Arizona much more memorable. We hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon, as you know - "You're Wanted in Williams!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Our arrival at the hotel was friendly. helpful and quick the room was very clean and comfortable
the food at the buffet was great, location of the hotel is only a short walk to the main shopping
area in Williams with its many restaurants

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank malcolm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

We stayed there only for one night in a 1 bedroom suite and regretted we did not reserve a longer stay. We had only reserved one night to take the train to the the Grand Canyon.

The hotel was wonderful. Check in was efficient and friendly. They had no bellman but they do have carts for the luggage. The room was new and big enough for 3 adults and 2 kids (4 & 6 yo). It looked right out to the Christmas themed light decorations that you could see from the patio. The rail theme was subtly displayed in the decor of the room. Beds were very comfortable. The soap, cream, shampoo and conditioner were great. There is a microwave, fridge and sink in the room.

The place is very busy with families but everyone is having a great time and the staff seems to be organized and competent. Very nice stay overall will return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eldelil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

I was very happy with the entrance and the staff at the front desk, Very nice people. The Lodge area has a big beautiful fireplace and reminded me of an Old Arizona lodge we would stay at as a child. The people on the reservation line staff really do not know what is available at the hotel they seem to have to many affiliations with different booking services and really do not know what is available. I wanted 4 nights they only had to so I booked a different hotel for the last two nights when we went to check in they told me they had me booked for 4 nights. Had I gone to the other hotel first I would of saved a lot of money and had a bigger room

Room Tip: down stairs facing the train station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foodhandler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.5 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range: £97 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing