We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Canyon Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Killeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Grand Canyon Trip”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I enjoyed my time there. We went in an off season, so there were not many people to contend with. The trip was a package event. The price was a bit high, but it was worth the experience. The hotel was clean, the train trip to the South Rim of the Grand Canyon was fun! The people who work there are friendly. The only things that is keeping me from giving the "all excellent" are for the price of the hotel, they should put mints or something on the pillows, and the cafe across the compound, gave my niece a glass with lipstick on it. She didn't see it until she drank from it, and the waiter laughed. So if you go there watch the tableware, but other than that you will have an awesome time! By the way, the Grand Canyon is spectacular!!!!!!! Happy travels.

Room Tip: Any room is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evalcrazylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We apologize that you found the service at Grand Depot Cafe at less than our usual standards, and we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    694
    687
    306
    88
    38
See reviews for
751
649
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Spent another pleasant night after the day and night railway excursion to Grand Canyon staying at connected Maswik lodge . can well recommend this trip . Spoke to manager because second room also had poor lighting with energy saving bulbs no good for those with ARMD visual defect like me. we were assured that there is a program already approved to gradually replace all lights for those that give adequate luminosity as soon as turned on.

Room Tip: We stayed second floor Very peaceful apart from on and off room heating.May prefer extra blanket
See more room tips
Green Features: Very commendable except for lights which could be hazardous being addressed we understand
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we're glad we were able to take care of that lighting issue for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The staff was just fantastic - although check in line was kind of long and cloud have been handled more efficiently - the staff was very friendly, and extra helpful. I would recommend staying here and getting tickets for the Grand Canyon Railroad too.

Note they do have a kids play ground in the back of the hotel, and the gun show is very entertaining.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socket370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are actually in the process renovating the front desk area to add more room for additional front desk agents this year. We hope to have your as our guests again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel was the perfect spot to stay with 2 young kids for a surprise Christmas trip to the Grand Canyon with the "cherry on top" being the Polar Express Train Ride. The Hotel itself was comfortable, clean with friendly staff. Within a VERY short walk is the restaurant offering a full breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet - including desserts and a FULL BAR for the adults!! The food selections were plentiful and very delicious. There are also other restaurants in the area - all within walking distance. Next to the restaurant is the train depot where you can purchase all sorts of train ride packages to the Grand Canyon. We highly recommend a "dome seat" for an extra spectacular view of the landscape as you travel approx 2 hours to the canyon. For our particular train ride, there was a kid-firendly Wild West show featuring some train robbing cowboys that eventually "robbed" the train on the way back to the hotel - all in fun of course and all super kid friendly!! Lots of great photo ops on the train, at the canyon, with the cowboys, etc. and then of course there is the Polar Express train ride where hot chocolate and cookies are served with sing-a-longs galore all while you sit comfortably in your PAJAMAS!! After a "time-warp" to the North Pole, Santa boards the train and gives EVERYONE a "believe" bell as seen in the movie. This visit only took us 2 days and we had a BLAST! We flew into Flagstaff and drive the easy 30 miles to Williams. Plenty of parking at the hotel, and the rooms were clean and ready when we checked in. Highly recommend for a quick Christmas trip with little ones.

Green Features: They will provide clean sheets and towels ONLY if you request them. Otherwise you use / resuse until you are done.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alg3773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleming Island, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We had a three-day two night package with one night in the hotel and one night at the Grand Canyon Maswik Lodge. Package included dinner and breakfast at the hotel, the train ride to the canyon and back, overnight at the canyon and a bus tour of the canyon upon arrival. The meals were good, and so was everything else. Everyone in the family had a great time. There was a old west gunfight act at the hotel the day we left for the canyon, and a simulated train robbery on the trip back from the canyon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlemingIslandFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at the hotel as part of a package, with meals and transport to the Grand Canyon included. It was clean, and nicely appointed. Not luxurious, but functional and well maintained. I didn't go for the suite, but rather the deluxe room. It didn't seem that deluxe to me, just a large room with 2 beds. Our room was on the 1st floor, so at times seemed a little loud. Hotel staff were friendly and gave good information. Lots of little kids here for the Polar Express so that adds to the noise and complexity. Ask to be away from children if that is not your thing. Also, ask what time the Polar Express returns and eat before it arrives. Also, don't count on grabbing a bite right before the train and departing, everybody else is thinking the same thing. Food was not awesome, but it was what I expected given the high number of kids. If you are looking for a gourmet experience, try elsewhere. We were there for the tourism aspect, not the dining, and we were satisfied.

Room Tip: courtyard facing rooms might be nicer and more quiet, rather than street or train facing rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: recycling is pushed and recyclable bins are placed everywhere, even on the train.
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boolbada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel mainly because we were going on the Polar Express Train Ride. We booked a suite and it was very specious. Loved having a microwave and refrigerator in the room and made good use of them. The beds were comfy and we had a view of the Grand Canyon Railway depot which was decorated for Christmas. Route 66 was about a block away with little shops and restaurants and a circle K convenient shop. Very friendly staff at the hotel. Warning if you do not drive in Williams, there are VERY few cabs in this town. I highly recommend you rent a car while staying here. Otherwise, you may end up getting a cab from Flagstaff and they will charge you from the time they leave there (which is about a 40 minute drive away/$70).

Room Tip: View of the train depot is great for children. 2nd floor is less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chibi_mochi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Hotel
Grand Canyon Hotel
#4 of 12 in Williams
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#1 of 30 in Williams
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing