We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For what it is!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nyc
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“For what it is!!!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

For what it is.........it is ok. This place is a layover. The only reason you are here is to stay over to hop on a train into the Grand Canyon in the morning. That it does adequately. Ample parking, friendly check-in and staff and acceptable clean room. The Buffet is ok. The problem with this place is that you are essentially held captive here. Arrive, check-in, eat, watch TV and go to bed. That's it......a layover. It could do well with something more. Some kind of evening entertainment. Possibly a evening campfire or something. There is a pool and a few arcade games and of course a gift shop. PARTY TIME!!!!!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We just started a new program featuring live entertainment 7 nights during dinner at Grand Depot Cafe, and we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,810 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    687
    306
    88
    38
See reviews for
750
649
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (354)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We also initially thought the rooms were "dark" but the CFLs took awhile to warm up. There seemed to be plenty of light after a few minutes.

I'd recommend a package with meals. I thought the food wasn't bad. From a family perspective, the food situation was excellent. The place is right next door to the hotel with a little something for everyone in the family.

Room Tip: The hotel is two floors and I'd recommend that you seek a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irvine_TSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed here for one night and really couldn't wait to leave. The room seemed dark and the "view" out the window was of the close-by backsides of the other wings of the hotel - think prison-like look. The bed was ok, the ac worked ok, the bathroom was ok. It all seemed almost military-like. When it was time for dinner, we walked downstairs (it was a very long walk through a maze of hallways to find the elevator) and outside to the restaurant where a buffet is offered. We took a look at the offerings and a sad looking young boy "entertaining" the crowd and decided this was not where I wanted to spend my birthday!! So we went into town to see what we could find. Breakfast in this same buffet area was not good. I think if they could step it up a notch, they could really have a nice place. Even though it is moderately priced, the whole thing seemed very mediocre and pedestrian to me. Good jumping on point for the train but that is about it.

Room Tip: Ask for something close to the elevator or you'll be walking through a maze of hallways to find...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuzu4343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ontario
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Don't understand some of the reviews. This was a tremendous value to us. Hotel is older with a lot of history and not like a big city hotel. (No frig, micro, etc. but you are here to see the canyon hopefully, in any case). Reception was very friendly. Room was clean and we were parked right outside and by the door leading to the restaurant, so it was easy in, easy out. Meals were a total surprise. We had two breakfasts and two dinners. Lovely selection - not a ton of things but carefully chosen every night. Lovely beef tenderloin, a nice version of potatoes, vegetable dishes and soup and salad bar, along with a pasta bar for freshly made pasta. Way too many options for us to try everything. My son loved the grilled chicken, biscuits and salad every night. Breakfasts were everything you could wish for. With the great railroad ride, fun performers, bus trip to the canyon, it was a great savings. Got the hotel for next to nothing if you factor in the regular costs. I might add that the company that runs the hotel is also the employer of the excellent staff to and from the canyon and ran the gift shop there also.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank northofTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
353 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

We booked a package trip from Williams, AZ on the train to the Grand Canyon for an overnight stop in Williams and at the Canyon. The accommodations were very good and the staff was excellent and caring. The meals provided in the package were not very good. Every meal was a buffet and the variety was minimal. Very few items that was hot and/or tasty. The train ride was excellent and the bus tour of the Canyon was excellent, our hosts on the train and the bus were very knowledgeable and interesting along with being funny. They made the trip worthwhile.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty much centrally located once you figure out the layout.
See more room tips
Green Features: Very environmentally friendly, special cans for recycle goods and garbage. Soaps and shampoo and lotions are all ecological brands and in pump bottles.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inspecchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, we hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
106 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The actual hotel has a real buzz about it, even in early April it was well busy with either folk coming from or going to the Grand Canyon, which is less than one hour drive away. The actual hotel rooms are just average though, old CRT TV (not flat screen LCD)' no fridge and bathroom shower cream/body cream/hair wash are in a dispenser attached to wall - this ok for a travelodge but this grade of hotel I would expect better. breakfast all you can eat. Buffet is a bargain at under $12 and it's good. Williams although small is great has has loads of other restaurants to eat at.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mazzer72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We do still have a compliment of Value Rooms with older furnishings which are due to be renovated next year. However, our new Standard and Deluxe guest rooms do feature LCD TVs, Keurig coffee makers, and mini-fridges. We hope to have you as our guests again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suwanee, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I found the hotel room to be clean and large. The drawback, however, was the lack of light. The hotel is a big 'eco' supporter. Unfortunately, after dark the only thing you can do in the room is go to bed. If you go be sure to take along your own light.

Green Features: Unfortunately their environmentally-friendly policies are their biggest drawback. What lights they do have, use funky light bulbs that say they are 60 watt but that is the dream of some environmental engineer. The bulbs take a long time to reach peak output so we just left them on all the time
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Hotel
Grand Canyon Hotel
#4 of 12 in Williams
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#1 of 30 in Williams
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing