We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to see the Canyon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Lockport, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great way to see the Canyon”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We decided to take the train from Williams, AZ to the Grand Canyon. We decide to go all out on the train and paid a little extra from the Dome Premium seats. What a view from the refurbish car and the downstairs lounge was fabulous with plushy couches and chairs. The Railway hotel was clean and comfortable and included 2 breakfasts and dinners since we stays town nights there. We stay in the Maswik Lodge one night in the Canyon which allowed us a full afternoon AND the whole following morning + to explore the Canyon vistas and other attractions. All in all I would highly recommend this Train/Hotel package.

Green Features: That's all the talked about and practiced in the canyon and the train hotel. Very impressive.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rlcarpa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    692
    307
    90
    41
See reviews for
770
662
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We really enjoyed the spacious comfortable rooms. The pub was lovely, staff very nice (they let my brother and sister-in-law check in much before the announced check-in time) and the hotel is perfectly placed to take the train to the Grand Canyon.

The layout is a bit odd with very long corridors - but nothing to deter anyone to go there.
We enjoyed the buffet style dinner and breakfast, with lots of variety each day that we stayed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesslyka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a great travel package! My friend and I drove up from Tucson and arrived at about 3:00 p.m. Check-in was easy, not crowded. We then went over to the Railroad Depot--a short walk across the road--and picked up our vouchers for the whole mini-vacation. We had vouchers for all buffet meals--4 at the Railway Hotel and 1 at the Grand Canyon itself--vouchers to go up and back on the train and a voucher for the bus tour of the Grand Canyon. Because we got our tickets though AAA, the buffet lunch at the Grand Canyon was included as were 2-$20 vouchers for use at the retail stores. The buffets at the Hotel were in a separate, new-looking building with adequate seating for everyone--no waiting and the food was pretty good. (It had everything I like anyway--nice salad bar, a meat entrée, seafood entrée and several sides and yummy desserts.) At night there was a one-man performer who sang and played several instruments and he was quite talented. My favorite meals were the breakfasts--muffins were fresh and yummy and fruit was abundant. (Hot entrees were offered as well.) The rooms were very nice and very clean. The train ride was nice--assigned seats up and back. The only negatives were that there was only one bathroom on each car which seemed to be in high demand and the "hostess" of our car was very loud and after a while, became annoying. She was pleasant,though. Grand Canyon bus tour was OK. I have seen the Grand Canyon several times; the bus tour stopped at only 2 lookout points for 25 minutes each time. I would have preferred stopping at 3 or 4 different places for a shorter time. However, our bus driver/tour guide, Reg, was wonderful. He knew so much about the history, plants, rocks, etc along the way. Two nights on this little excursion was just enough, since my friend doesn't hike and I wouldn't have wanted to stay longer if I can't hike. Hikers might want to extend their stay in the Grand Canyon leg of the trip which is available.

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor over the lobby are good. Quiet with big windows in the hall when you c...
See more room tips
Green Features: I really didn't pay attention to the hotel's environmentally-friendly practices
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cookie4965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This is really the best place to stay when riding the Grand Canyon Railway. The food is good, there is entertainment, and lots of good souvenir shopping. The only issue is it's a little pricey to stay there and eat there.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed 2 nights as part of a package to the Grand Canyon. Check in was easy and pleasant. Everything was ready for us. Buffet for dinner and breakfast was okay, but the servers and entertainment was great. Single performers who could actually sing, and at a volume level that it was still able to talk with others at the table.

Rooms basic motel rooms, but more than adequate for a few nights. The Canyon and train trip were the standouts for this trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fencejumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Weekend trip to Grand Canyon. Booked thru AAA. Great deal didn't have to worry about anything. Just show up and enjoy. Great weekend. Nice pub in hotel. Food is ok. Nothing fancy but good. Close to town for entertainment and other restaurants. Would defiantly recommend and would come again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sprintcar33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The beds were really comfortable, with nice bedding. We had a suite with a real door between the two rooms. Our only complaint is that the suites and handicapped rooms are very far from the elevators and a very long walk. Also it has many corridors and was quite confusing. The staff was friendly and helpful. The buffet next door was good for breakfast, less quality at dinner. If you got the fresh pasta, you could get just what you want. Right across the parking lot was a Dollar General supermarket, so you could get your own food to put in mini fridge. We enjoyed our whole stay, train to Grand Canyon and all.

Room Tip: If you can't walk far, ask for room close to elevators. Our party had several rooms, quite far...
See more room tips
Green Features: not aware of them, no recycling bins in my awareness.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suramom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Hotel
Grand Canyon Hotel
#4 of 12 in Williams
447 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#1 of 30 in Williams
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing