We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westerner Motel(Williams)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,307)
Filter reviews
2,307 results
Traveller rating
1,029
792
335
98
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,029
792
335
98
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspackage dealmaswik lodgedinner buffettrain tripnight packagegrand canyon railwaydome carpasta barpasta stationdepot cafetrain robberyincluded mealsdeluxe roomtaking the trainbuffet stylewild west showsouth rim
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,499 - 1,504 of 2,307 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

The hotel is a wonderful place to stay if you are taking the train to the Grand Canyon. The train station is within a hundred yards. The hotel is not a 5 star big city hotel, but is great for families with kids as it has a nice pool, is a short walk to downtown (get downtown to see the 7:00PM Wild West Shootout on main street), close to the zip line and the restaurant is a buffet which is certainly not gourmet, but has something for all the kids. We took our daughter and her two sons and they really enjoyed the place. The staff was especially helpful as the lock on one of the room doors didn't function and they were quick to get it fixed. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: If you stay on the west side, move your car to the east side after the 5:45PM train come back and some parking spaces open up on that side. Will make it much easier for you departure when you return from the Canyon.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbrsantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and i stayed at GRand canyon hotel had a bundle through AAA for 4 nights. Railway cafe depot servez the same breakfast, lunch,dinner entrees over and over. The food would receive a 1 since nothing was stocked. Old watermelon, iceberg lettuce as salad for price we paid we expectex more. Hotwl itself has wall unit ac . Rooms were clean . Staff friendly.

Cons
check in 4pm no later
call hotels to see when check ins are or you be carrying your luggage around. It might help to ask if they can hold your bags.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank believeingood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The city of Williams itself is a fairly small community, but the volume of people that come to stay at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is extensive. The interior is very well appointed. We reserved a suite for the 3 of us and also choose accomodations that were in the renovated part of the hotel. All 3 of us were very pleased that we stayed here the night before our train trip. Lots of attention to detail.
On top of it all, I lost my camera on this trip. The hotel was tremendous in looking for it. Two weeks after we returned home they called us letting us know it was found, I had it back in my hands 3 days later.
There was only one thing that I would rate as average, and that was the service in the cafe in the evening. Staff was a bit overwhelmed with the volume of customers that wanted to eat as well as have a drink, but once we ordered our food, all was good.

Room Tip: There are a lot of guests coming and going for this adventure. We chose a renovated room and were on the 3 floor. Very nice and very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseglasses503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a nicely appointed hotel with plenty of parking, and an easy walk from the main drag in Williams, AZ. It was pretty expensive, though we bought a package including train fare too and from the Grand Canyon, and an overnight at one of the lodges there. We wouldn't do it again, as the lodge at the canyon itself was extremely dusty and not too well cleaned. The hotel in Williams was quite nice, and the train ride to the Canyon was pretty, but I think an overnight at one of the nice hotels at the canyon would have made it worthwhile, and worth the (high) price. The hotel itself has a decent swimming pool, and a very nice bar brought over from England.
Service is ok, but you do feel a bit like it's a machine, churning out guest after guest. For a 4 star hotel, everything does feel a bit mechanical.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheesesteakwitnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

A little confusing to find the entrance to the hotel. We purchased a package through AARP, it was worth every penny. Our room was fantastic. We had free dinners both nights, service and food was very good. We rode the train to the Grand Canyon and that was fun. We did the bus tour of the Grand Canyon and really enjoyed the service we received. The grounds of the resort are beautiful and well maintained. It is 100% smoke free in the hotel, but if you smoke they have plenty of ashtrays on the property to use. The hot tub and pool are also nice. The only drawback was trying to find a luggage cart when we checked out, they need more of those.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews