We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Booked this place online site unseen. Well, it was more than expected. Totally impressed with the little town of Williams AZ...didn't expect how much fun, and variety of restaurants there were. The hotel was very nice. stayed on the front and back end of our visit to the Canyon. Bought the meal package and it was worth it (wife and 3 kids). Very nice variety and great service. Would recommend this place for families and anyone nostalgic for Rt 66. All in all, my family had a very nice time at this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jmrwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,161 of 2,020 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

When I booked a trip on the Grand Canyon Railway for me and my son, I bought the package including the hotel to save time and money. I figured that the hotel would be a tired, well-worn place that treated trapped travelers to bad service and stinky rooms. Boy was I wrong. The rooms were BEAUTIFUL, quiet and clean(I was in a mid-level room); the pool was clean and fun; the food included in the package was excellent; and the service was top notch! It was the best, most pleasant travel surprise I have had in years! And it was much more affordable than other options in town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RoadWearyWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I purchased this package online best thing I did for sure, we bought the accommodation and meals with the first class train to the Grand Canyon and South Rim bus tour as well, this hotel has good rooms new comfortable beds and good service overall from the staff. The hotel is a resort with indoor pool and restaurants and bar, it has a large buffet restaurant with really good food for breakfast lunch and tea on the grounds as well, right on the Williams rail line where you can watch the Grand Canyon train leave each morning at around 9am and everybody goes out to wave of the train at the station just after the wild west shoot out very cool, there is a great gift and souvenir shop at the station for everything you could possibly need. Williams township is a lovely town and is on the famous route 66 so we enjoyed that as well bought lots of souvenirs from route 66 and have many really awesome photos from the area, we were here for three nights and really enjoyed ourselves highly recommend this package fantastic value.

Room Tip: we had a room overlooking the courtyard it was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank endlessumers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My husband and I booked a package deal that included two separate nights at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. We were very pleasantly surprised! The rooms were very clean, the beds were some of the most comfortable we've slept in, and we received excellent customer service from the employees. When we took the train to the canyon, our bags were transferred from our room to the hotel in the canyon...and back when we returned, easy- peasy! We had a musical instrument with us that we didn't want transported or stored in our car and the front desk employee took it personally to storage for us so it wouldn't get damaged. Our package included buffet meals in their dining room and we were pleased both with the variety and quality of the food. They handle a high volume of visitors very well. Any waits we had were minimal - certainly no more than we've had in other, less trafficked locations. If you're expecting the Ritz Carlton, this may not be the place for you, but if you want great value with above-average accommodations and meals look no farther.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

I'm not sure exactly what I expected, but this hotel exceeded my expectations. The room was recently upgraded with memory foam pillows and flat screen TV. The staff was friendly and the lobby was great. Would definitely return. The Grand Canyon railroad was also great.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank ntclarkson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here in lieu of staying at a lodge in the Grand Canyon. This hotel was fabulous for my family of 5. The rooms were extremely clean and the beds were the most comfortable hotel beds I've been in in a long time. We have 2 active boys who loved the hotel pool, playground, horse shoe pit, and basketball court. The only thing that would make it better would be if breakfast were included as it can get expensive going to the restaurants. However, I will say the Depot Cafe was quite good. Excellent value. I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning a Grand Canyon trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank txmomof2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My mom and I stayed at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel for two nights. Our first impression of the place was not great. The parking lot was nearly full, and the lobby was packed with people waiting in line to check in. To make matters worse, the woman at the front desk was very unfriendly. Our "budget" room was pretty outdated, but clean. We dined at the buffet several times for convenience, and the food was nothing special. We were also a little disappointed to find that the bar closed at 10. In any case, the actual train ride to the Grand Canyon was a wonderful experience, so it made the stay at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel worth while.

Room Tip: As one might expect, the budget rooms aren't very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mmdorame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.5 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range: £97 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing