We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but close to the canyon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 August 2014

we stayed for 2 nights. The majority of guests were taking the train into Grand Canyon we chose to drive to give a bit more independence (the canyon is 55 miles away). On a dreary day, Williams was also pretty dreary and I would not return in a hurry. Rooms were adequate. The highlight was the pool. Wi fi access was painfully slow

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,333 - 1,339 of 2,214 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

This is a lovely place. Outside appearances are deceiving, inside appearances pleasing. Stayed here the first and third nights of a 3-day package which included a train ride to the Grand Canyon Area. The room was very comfortable and clean, the bathroom was roomy and well equipped with built-in hair dryer and all bath essentials in pump containers. The staff was friendly, efficient and accommodating. Nice lobby and easy check-in/out. This 3-day excursion was extremely well organized. Upon checking in we handled our own luggage, but after that staff took care of everything. The Grand Depot Cafe offered a great breakfast buffet, located on the property but outside the hotel. Again, friendly and accommodating staff. We chose to eat the dinner meal our first night at Spenser's within the hotel. Vouchers for the cafe buffet were accepted and prices were reasonable. The third night (the night of our return) we chose to have a meal in Williams, a charming old town just a short walk across the tracks. We found cute shops and a couple of good restaurants on Route 66. If you're a train enthusiast (or not) this is a fun excursion and worth a go!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank NanM01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

You can't beat the location of this hotel - close to the railroad station that takes you to the Grand Canyon and in Williams on Route 66. It was originally housed in the old railroad station, from what I understand, but is now an expansive 2-storey building with the registration area in the middle, and two giant diamond-shaped pods out from there. Needless to say, it was a jaunt to finally get to our room.... and then both keys didn't work! So the quick check-in was not as quick as we thought! We could see that the front desk looked a little overwhelmed, especially at check-out. This is quite a huge hotel where guests taking the train to the Grand Canyon would likely stay.

The rooms are nicely furnished, very clean, excellent carpet, great fresh bedding and lots of towels. We looked out to a small inside courtyard. The TV was not flat screen, and there was little artwork in the room. The narrow trim and older doors made it feel older. The bathroom was nice and roomy. It had all the essentials in pump toiletries, but we noticed that the water was hard. We liked the modern coffee-making facilities with the Keurig coffee maker, free wifi and the provided alarm clock.

The restaurant for breakfast was a little walk from the hotel, but there are old, restored train engines and gift shops along the way to keep you interested.

Room Tip: A room close to the middle might eliminate a huge walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BluePointer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Stayed here July 28 and 30, as part of a 3 night package deal with the Railway that took us into the Grand Canyon for the middle night. Huge parking lot with lots of space, not too far to walk to the hotel with your luggage. Beautiful lobby, easy check-in. Large room - we got the deluxe room with 2 queen beds. Very comfy, very clean, no problems. Our package included meal vouchers so that 1st night we had their dinner buffet at the Grand Depot Cafe, which you had to leave the hotel and walk outside a bit to get to, as it was in its own structure along with a gift shop. The food was so-so, the selection wasn't that good. Some of the hot foods weren't quite hot enough. Staff was very friendly. Pool was nice, if a bit crowded with lots of kids. It was posted that kids weren't allowed in the pool room without an adult, but when I brought my son there I was only one of two adults! Breakfast buffet the next morning again at the Grand Depot Café, lots better than dinner. And then packed up our stuff in the car and left the bare minimum baggage in the room which they transferred to the train for us. (Baggage handling went smoothly, was awaiting for us when we checked into our room at the lodge later on). We got back from the Grand Canyon to the hotel around 5:45pm July 30, re-check-in took quite awhile as a lot of people from the train were also re-checking-in at the same time and only 2 staff members to handle us all. Baggage again was very prompt and waiting for us in our room. We considered not using our 2nd dinner voucher at the buffet but saw the prices at their "Spensers" restaurant and decided to give the buffet another try. It was actually much better this night, different selection, better tasting. Another good night in the room, another great breakfast at the buffet the next morning. All in all, a really neat experience! The town of Williams is just a couple blocks away and worth walking through too. It's along "Route 66" and has some cute shops in historic buildings to browse through.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SuTune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We purchased a package deal from Grand Canyon railway and hotel. It included breakfast and dinner everyday, train ride to Grand Canyon, and hotel. We had a great time on the trip. How relaxing to have the train do the driving up to the canyon. Once at the canyon, a bus stopped at 3 overlooks for pictures and viewing. The meals attached were buffet style and had something for everyone. We had one meal in the lounge and it was fantastic. Check-in is a little crazy. But, everyone was very helpful and polite. We loved our time there and would go back!

Room Tip: We had an end room and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Very poor service, very expensive and very small rooms!! Plenty of other hotels in the area for less than half the price for better rooms! This is especially true if you are just staying in the hotel and not riding the train. The resort does not care about these groups and does very little to help them!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank 25Tom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xanterra, Public Relations Manager at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor and Yelp. Our Railway Hotel is certainly more of a convenience to our passengers riding the Train, as they can walk from their room to the depot.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked the Grand Canon Railway package fro 2 nights. It was kinda like being at camp. The hotel is basic, rooms are clean, beds are comfortable. It is a very good location for the train trip and walking distance to the town of Williams which is very cute. The train station, the restaurant, a bar and 2 gift shops are located at the hotel Our package included meals, the restaurant is buffet style and the food is fair but it is convenient. The staff is friendly and efficient considering how busy it is. The pool is indoors, a little small and very crowded with kids! They are environmentally friendly and there is no bottled water sold anywhere at the hotel or Grand Canyon. We had a great time and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Dlramsdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Williams
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Ramada Williams/Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#3 Family Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range: £69 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing