We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Polar Express”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Williams
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Polar Express”
Reviewed 11 January 2010

The decorations on the grounds were fantastic, a well done touch to enhance the atmosphere. The lobby was very nice, the room was par. We purchased the package for the Polar Express, it is a decent deal and worth doing once. If we do it again we would probably stay someplace else. It was convenient to get dressed in your pajamas and walk down to the train depot. Our child loved the whole experience! The food was ok not horrible but not great, I would not pay for it if it was not included in the package. All of the staff was great, check in/out, food service, and train staff, Kudos!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyfunlovetheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    675
    679
    294
    88
    37
See reviews for
732
635
31
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
pittsburgh pa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

I recently stayed 2 nts ( pre and post Railroad ) in October. No complaints the hotel was very nice. Not too large so that you got lost and a nice ( little) indoor pool, hot tub, and fitness center. All are small, but functional. We ate at the buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner and were pleased with the selections. It is definately the most convenient option if you are doing the railraod to the canyon, by far.

Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank brandinecole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2009

My husband and I took our handicapped adult daughter here for two nights as part of a AAA Grand Canyon Railway trip. The accessible room was excellent and the service superb. Everyone we dealt with was accommodating and responded immediately to special requests that made this a memorable trip for all of us. The restaurant was better than many of the reviews we read though it emphasized quantity more than quality. Pretty good for a mass market meal.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarleneSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

The Hotel is big and well updated. The lobby has a big fireplace. The rooms are quiet, although trains will go by and you will hear the horns. Our window heater/ac unit never shuts off. I prefer the models that reach the desired temp and shut down for a while until needed again. The mattresses are okay. I would compare the rooms to a very good Comfort Inn/Quality Inn type. The indoor pool looked nice.

This is perfect if you take the Polar Express ride. It is wonderful to step off the train and take a short walk into your room instead of into your cold car in the same parking lot. Plan ahead for dinner. We shorted our time before the 8pm train and when we got back, everything was closed in town and at the hotel except for the Pub next to the lobby. It was quite a sight, I'm sure to see 6 adults and 8 children sit down in a bar in their PJ's.

I almost forgot. BIG tip...there is NO internet access in the room. There is a strong unsecured wireless signal in the (large, 2-floor) lobby, though. charge up your battery and head down there when you start to itch for the internet.

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank marcjenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

We stayed at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel in Williams, took the train out to the Canyon, stayed there a night, then back to the hotel in Williams. No doubt one can find less expensive hotels in Williams, but the convenience was worth it. The hotel is clean, with an indoor pool and spa, and comfortable rooms. It's a few feet from the train station. Once you check in, luggage is transferred to the train, to the Grand Canyon hotel, and back. No muss, no fuss and very little delay either for checking back in or for luggage. In the hotel, Spencer's Pub provides decent coffee in the morning and light meals, as well as some decent local beer. We choose not to eat at the Railroad Buffet since it was very expensive in my opinion both for breakfast and dinner. For breakfast we walked about a block into town and found a great restaurant and bakery. I'd read some reviews here in Tripadvisor that had me a little leery about the hotel but we were quite comfortable. And given that temperatures in Williams dropped to the teens at night, we really appreciated their lovely roaring fire in the lobby fireplace!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyJLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2009

This was our second stay at Williams, first time was 10 years ago at the Holiday Inn. This time we managed to get rooms at the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Our stay was nice, the rooms were clean and nice. We used Verizon Wireless for internet access, which worked fine. Food at the restaurant was reasonably ample, varied, and tasty (this was part of the AAA package we bought).

Having said all that though, this hotel could be a whole lot more if it had more facilities (business area, gym, park/seating area outside, etc). There's not much to do outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WEKNSSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2009

the food was good and convenient and the rroms were nice. We booked it through the Auto club and the price included our train ride and hotel and breakfast and lunch. The train ride was boring unless you had young children who had never ridden a train and liked the "entertainment", where they always had their hand out for tips. Very hokey!

Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank wiseoleowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
0.1 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#1 of 30 in Williams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
1.0 mi away
Trappers Rendezvous
Trappers Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Williams
5.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.2 mi away
Canyon Motel & RV Park
Canyon Motel & RV Park
#11 of 30 in Williams
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Canyon Railway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Canyon Railway Hotel

Property: Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
Address: 233 N Grand Canyon Blvd, Williams, AZ 86046-2563
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Williams
#4 Business Hotel in Williams
#5 Family Hotel in Williams
#5 Romantic Hotel in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grand Canyon Railway Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the luxury of a bygone era at Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. Designed to resemble the century-old train depot that housed the original Fray Marcos Hotel, our hotel is a relaxing retreat in a picturesque Western setting. The 298-room hotel is just a block away from downtown Williams and historic Route 66. Combined with a variety of amenities such as complimentary wi-fi, an indoor pool and hot tub, delicious dining options at Grand Depot Cafe and Spenser's Pub, The Grand Canyon Railway Hotel is the perfect place to stay before embarking on your grandest of journeys! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Canyon Railway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Canyon Railway Williams
Fray Marcos Hotel
Hotel Grand Canyon Railway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing