We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,552)
Filter reviews
2,552 results
Traveller rating
1,178
846
367
102
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,178
846
367
102
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspackage dealmaswik lodgetrain tripdinner buffetnight packagedome carpasta barpasta stationgrand canyon railwaydepot cafetrain robberyincluded mealsdeluxe roomtaking the trainbuffet stylewild west showsouth rim
Filter
Updating list...
2,216 - 2,221 of 2,552 reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2010

Nice hotel, nothing fancy and no free internet but was convenient for the Grand Canyon Railway. Our room was comfortable and clean. The hotel is quite large, an easy walking distance to the main street of Williams and most importantly - the train leaves from right outside the hotel.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank joztrvln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

This only purpose of staying here is to take the train. The room was fine- older bathrooms and nice enough beds. The staff was friendly at check in and out. We went to the indoor pool and hot tub- it was fine. The restaurant is a buffet- I do not like buffets. There is a carving station and a pasta station and the buffet. The waiters at the buffet are very nice. The breakfast buffet has an omlette station. If you do the buffets I suggest going later in the night or morning- seems like a real "early bird" place and it was pretty much deserted at 8 pm.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chikletqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

My travel partner wanted to do the train ride package (we are 40+ ladies who get together once a year for a road trip sometimes with her husband sometimes without). I thought the hotel would be more travel-lodgey but it was very nice. It was also surprisingly clean for a place that sees so much business. I would recommend it to a first time Grand Canyon visitor or to families. The only problem I had was that the bar closed at 10 pm with no room service.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darkbeergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2010

So sorry for the late review, I wrote it months ago, but forgot to actually submit it...
Myself, my wife and 9 year old daughter did a 3 day package trip to the Grand Canyon for $730 during spring break 2010 (March 2010). We drove to Williams on a Sunday and had a quick and painless checkin ath the Grand Canyon Railway Hotel. We left our car at the hotel for the duration. On Sunday we had cocktails at Spencer Pub which was nice. Several tables, small, but nice menu.

For dinner we ate at the Depot Cafe, which was included in our package. It was better than we expected. Non-package prices at buffet were $19 adult $12/child. Small but nice salsad bar with 2 soups, mini corn dogs, generic frozen meatballs, white fish, sheperds pie, scalop potatoes, corbread, rolls, sliced ham, sliced turkey, pasta station, stuffed shells, soft serve ice cream sunday bar, several desserts. We ordered brownies to go, which is nice for a buffet.

We stayed in room 1177 which was nothing special, but clean, double queen room with newer flat screen tv, clean bathroom. The tv channels were strange and constantly changing.

Breakfast buffet was also included ($10/adult $6/kids if not included) - Good/fresh food with all the usual items like fruit, cereal, scrambled eggs. sausage, bacon, buiscuits/gravy, french toast, pancakes, oatmeal, etc.

The wildwest show was short but entertaining before we left on the train.

The train - We sat in coach seats; We enjoyed Lou who was very informative.

In the Grand Canyon we stayed at the Maswick Hotel, which is several 12 room buildings. We were in room 6930 which is a far, dark walk at night. It is very old, but clean. We only ate breakfast here, which was limited and slow cafeteria ordering. It wasn't worth the time or money.

We also ate the Arizona room - nice, but casual restaurant. We liked the fish and felt is was worth the money. Please note this is not a steak place like many of the advertisements would lead you to believe with their "hand cut steaks" slogan.

Overall it was a very nice trip and I would recommend the two night package. We, and our baggage was well taken care of during every stop of the trip. Our baggage was waiting for us at every stop on the trip. The tour company made the wole experience carefree/trouble free.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeteInIL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We stayed here on a Saturday night 4th of July weekend. We were unable to check-in early, which was understanable considering the busy weekend, but the person at the front desk seemed absolutely unwilling to even consider accomodating us. Once checked in, we found our room to be very nice- comfortable queen beds, spacious and clean.

We headed down to the pool and were surprised to see so many people in such a small area. The water was incredibly warm and murky and reeked of chlorine. The spa was even worse as it had a deep layer of green foam frothing on top. I did mention the nasty water on a survey they had sent out after our stay and was immediately responded to by a manager claiming that they had been having trouble with their water supply. Seems like they should've made the decision to shut the pool down.

We cut our swimming time short to go explore the town and the depot. We really enjoyed being in such close proximity to the depot and Williams. Our little boys loved all the action at the train station- staying at this hotel was very nearly worth it for their excitment alone!

We opted not to ride the Railway to the Grand Canyon since we preferred to be on our own schedule with our small children, but had they been older, it would've been a great way to see the Canyon. The "wild west show" that takes place before the train leaves in the morning isn't anything special, but for a guest of the hotel, it's a little something extra that we wouldn't have gotten elsewhere.

We are hoping to come back this winter or next for the Polar Express.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCJTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews