We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hospitality, delicious baked goods, historical intrigue”
Review of Red Garter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Garter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My husband booked a room here as he planned our route to California, and I am so glad he did! The hospitality was superb. Deborah met us when we arrived in the early evening and was most welcoming. All rooms are on the second floor, and the stairs are narrow and steep! But if you can negotiate that hurdle, your reward will be great. The rooms vary in size, but not comfort. We had a cozy, small room, but it was quite comfortable. The décor was fitting to the period and the former use of the property (!). Lovely ladies, artfully posed, bedeck the walls, and the carpet, wallpaper, and furnishings are all sites to behold. The woodwork has been beautifully restored, as well.
John greeted us in the morning, and I immediately felt at home. He makes lattes (with refills!), so I felt quite indulged. We were able to choose our breakfast pastry from an array (scones, muffins, cookies, and so many more items). Now I felt doubly indulged! Once we made our pastry selection(s), John presented it on a plate with fruit, and offered us a choice of juices and yogurts. If home-baked pastries are not to your liking, there is hot and cold cereal, as well.
In between making lattes and serving breakfast, John entertains with stories of the inn, the town, and its inhabitants from days gone by. He also makes sure that there are photo ops. He kindly offered to take a picture of my husband and me at breakfast, and then again as we left. He even has props -- a boa for me and a western hat for my husband. We definitely have fond memories of the night we stayed in a bordello -- and now we have the pictures to preserve them!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2013

Only one night in Williams, on our Route 66 road trip, but we were delighted to have found the Red Garter Inn. Deborah welcomed us a bit before 4 pm, their check in time. (We had arrived at 3 pm, not having read our confirmation letter, and were dismayed that the inn seemed closed, until we read the sign in the door saying they opened at 4. We just went across the street to the Williams visitor center and then checked out the old Santa Fe railroad station across the tracks, which easily filled up the hour.) Our room, the Parlor Room, was spotlessly clean and perfectly comfortable, with a queen bed and nice bathroom. Deborah gave us some good advice on dining-we ended up next door at Panchitos because it was beginning to rain. In the morning, we enjoyed talking with innkeeper John while Deborah did the baking-It's a Bed & Bakery, after all. The fresh fruit plate, coffee and juice, and delicious peach cream cheeese pastry warm from the oven were perfect for breakfast. John has done a wonderful job of restoring and renovating this interesting property right in the center of Williams. It is definitely worth a stop on Williams to stay at the Red Garter Bed & Bakery.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank berwind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

After living in Arizona for years we decided to take our first trip up to Williams. The Red Garter had been recommended to us by friends a few years earlier so we decided to give it a go. We booked two rooms at the Inn, Best Gal's Room and Big Bertha's Room, but as luck would have it there were no other reservations so we had the place to ourselves.

The Red Garter was built in 1897 and in it's long history has been a saloon, a bordello, an opium den and a general store. I believe it was converted into a B&B in 1994. It definitely has a lot of charm, from the mannequin hanging out the front window with her red feather boa, to the claw foot bathtub and the ornate bed frames.

The rooms were spacious and clean, our room even had a small balcony. Some of the interior rooms were a little smaller (and only had skylights) but were also less money. I slept well, even though the Inn is said to be haunted :) Breakfast in the morning was downstairs and everything is baked fresh, the lady even took requests the night before. She baked the best croissants I have ever tasted.

The only down side to the Inn was the waiting we had to do. Upon check-in we waited with our bags while the lady helped other customers in the shop, answered questions, explained the history to people and served them coffee. In the morning we waited a long time to get our breakfast as customers were coming and going. It was pretty frustrating as we were trying to leave early to get to the Grand Canyon.

Complaining aside, this is a well maintained B&B with a lot of history in a great little town. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Enjoy it's cheesiness and spend the night in an old brothel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkSaguaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwholst, Owner at Red Garter Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Dear Pink Saguaro, Thanks for the review and the kind words for the building and decor. I certainly don't consider your comments on your treatment by staff as complaining, it is feedback that we need to help in training the " new gal" and to remind ourselves or the importance of hospitality in every aspect of this business. John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

First of all, I stayed in October of 2010...I'm just now getting into reviewing on TripAdvisor and felt that this place deserved to be reviewed.

We actually stayed on Halloween and were looking forward to staying in a supposed haunted B&B and even though we saw no ghosts, all other expectations were met and exceeded. The room was comfortable, the employees were pleasant and hospitable and the breakfast was delicious.

The location of the Red Garter was also perfect - we could walk anywhere in town worth walking to. I very highly recommend staying at the Red Garter if you find yourself in Williams, Az.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ncurry1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

I just returned from my vacation and stay at the Red Garter Inn Bed & Bakery. I chose the inn after reading the excellent online reviews and have to say I was still very impressed. This is a very quaint inn that has been lovingly restored and is in remarkable condition. We were greeted that evening by a very friendly, knowledgeable staff person who shared all of the history of the hotel and town with us and made us feel at home for the night. The next morning the incredible hospitality continued when we met the owner, John, and his other staff person. We were served a continental breakfast and able to choose whatever we wanted from the bakery (fresh baked goods, cereal, fresh fruit, juice, etc). The staff also answered all of our travel questions and even provided a customized map to our next destination for us. Before we left on our journey, John asked if we would like him to take our picture outside the inn. We had fun dressing up in boas and posing outside for some fun touristy pictures!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NamasteMauiGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here in October 2011 & liked it so well be brought our whole family in June 2012. We booked all the rooms and stayed 4 nights. It was nice to have the place to ourselves. John is a great host. He gave us ideas for day trips and made us feel like family. We enjoyed breakfast downstairs each morning. On the morning we were leaving, we planned to get up at the crack of dawn. John provided a breakfast box and milk and juices for our breakfast on the road on our journey back home. This is a beautiful old place and is well decorated for the period. These folks make you feel like family!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cpitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

A wonderfully authentic place, so evocative of the Old West. It was like stepping back in time. John and his staff who were so welcoming, friendly and helpful and made us feel at home. It was clear that John had put heart and soul into this place to restore it to even better than its former glory and he gave us a history of its past. We stayed in the Parlour Room for 3 nights and would loved to have stayed longer but had a packed schedule ahead. We also loved Williams as a town, which was a mix of the Old West and the '50s, but with all the modern conveniences. The Red Garter is conveniently situated in the centre of town - an ideal place to stay while visiting the Grand Canyon but also a very pleasant place to stay if not!

Room Tip: On a long road trip we needed to go for the cheapest (2 types), although all rooms looked good. Of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spikey99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
27.9 mi away
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
Grand Canyon Inn & Motel
#23 of 30 in Williams
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Trappers Rendezvous
Trappers Rendezvous
#2 of 12 in Williams
208 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Downtowner-Rte 66
0.1 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#3 of 30 in Williams
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Garter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Garter Inn

Address: 137 W Railroad Ave, Williams, AZ 86046-2655
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range: £112 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Garter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Route 66 just south of the Grand Canyon, the Red Garter offers lodging and breakfast in a beautifully restored 1897 saloon and bordello. The antique furnishings capture the 1890's atmosphere without giving up the comfort and security expected by today's traveler. Within an hour's drive see Sedona, the ghost town Jerome, Indian ruins at Walnut Canyon and Wupatki National Monuments and the Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Red Garter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Garter Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing