We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GRAND” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Garter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Garter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ossian, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“GRAND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013

A great place to stay on historic Route 66 it puts you close to every thing. John and staff are splendid in helping you make the most of your stay. Waking up to the smell of fresh baked pastries and brewed coffee can't be beat. Be sure to hear the history of this unique building and the people who owned it.

Room Tip: "Best Gals" room is large with a sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1ruffus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    44
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
48
144
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

The Red Garter Inn in Williams was a wonderful place to stay the night before we hiked down into the Grand Canyon. It is easy to find, as a lady of the night leans out provocatively from an upper window. The room was spacious and the atmosphere was authentic. It is located across the street from the Grand Canyon Railroad, so we were serenaded by occasional trains and their horns, as well as the town clock chiming the hours, through the evening. Both thoughtfully quit during the night. We had to make an early get away in the morning, so had to leave before the official breakfast time ( 7:00 ) but the morning cook ( who makes delicious homemade pastries ) went out of her way to get us some fruit and yogurt to go with our coffee and pastries. The only ding for the place is that the curtains do not block out enough of the city lights to make the room really dark at night.

Room Tip: Our room, #1, was on the street - perhaps other rooms might be darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Essex
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

This is exactly the sort of quirky place that me and my wife love. We'd booked the train trip to the Grand Canyon and were looking for somewhere friendly and charming to stay within walking distance of the railway. Step forward Red Garter. Angie was the lady that checked us in and she was amazing. She gave us a brilliant 10 minute history of the inn, which used to be a saloon and a brothel and explained what used to go on in various parts of it! It was great fun. She also had fantastic advice re local eateries and explained the best way for us to get the most out of our Grand Canyon trip. We also met John the owner and he was equally friendly. The room was awesome although some may need a stepladder to get on the bed! It was ridiculously high but it all added to the quirky charm. Breakfast was coffee, juice, fruit and pastries - that might not sound much....until you see the most amazing pastries ever. The cinnamon rolls were incredible. The shop part of the inn is great too, but be careful you could spend a fortune! Altogether a fantastic choice. Why would anyone stay in the huge hotel by the station when they can have this?

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sc0utFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

Perfect for a family get-together. Friendly, clean, comfortable, and delicious pastries. Angie was awesome. Perfect location for taking the train trip. Walk to most of the restaurants and stores, as well as the train.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MichaelG938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

beautifully restored by the owner, there is no doubt at all that the rooms upstairs had a previous purpose and the owner has tastefully (apart from the dummy harlot hanging out of our window.....) shown that. The greeting was very friendly and combined with coffee and cookies as we chatted. It is a bit of a lug upstairs with the luggage but apart from that superb. Breakfast was good continental style which may not suit the more enthusiastic eaters. Don't be put off by the railway in front - it doesn't operate except for the tours.

Room Tip: Ask for the room at the front if you want a laugh. check out their website for pictures of the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
summersville,wv
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

This is "by far" the worse B&B we had ever stayed in. I expect the comforts & cleanliness of home.(Especially for $152.00 a night) The room is somewhat larger than a walk in closet. No desk, only one bedside table, no microwave or fridge in room (wouldn't have room for them anyway!) The bathroom is very tiny, no way two could be in there at the same time, Amenities are zero. The 17 stairs to all four bedrooms are sooo steep & stairwell is dark & gloomy. The bedroom linens are worn, blanket was dirty without top sheet to cover it. Room had no thermostat and no air! Was uncomfortable to say the least. Bottom line, whenever we have guests, I make sure they have everything possible to ensure a clean, comfortable place to stay.. I expect this also whenever I am away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phyllisWv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwholst, Owner at Red Garter Inn, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear PhyllisWv,
Thank you for your comments about your stay. While we will may not meet the comforts you provide for your own guests, we can't get complacent about the cleanliness of our Inn. We haven't had that complaint in nineteen years and will strive to never get a second one. Travelers who frequent B&B's usually find the unique features, different from motels and their own homes, to be the joy of traveling. We feel badly you didn't find the comfort you expected at our Inn. jwholst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
236 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 464 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

We read lots of info in TA about hotels in Williams and at the Grand Canyon. Being that we wanted to view what's on and around Arizona Route 66 we decided to stay in Williams. Lots of hotel choices but only the Red Garter peaked our interest - what a great decision. Located in the mid of a thriving robust town with lots of tourist shopping, art galleries and restaurants, not to mention right across the road from the Grand Canyon train station (all within walking distance). The Red Garter is a perfect choice in a perfect location.

Easy to park in front, we entered the bakery to register for our room. We entered a very clean and quaint bakery and gift store. Nancy met us and immediately we felt welcome - I just love boutique/b&b type accommodations. We were provided all the information we needed such as please help yourself to complimentary goodies, sodas and waters any time you wish; provided a little history of the hotel and town; recommendations of where to eat (try the Red Raven which is directly behind the hotel); the code to free wi-fi; where to buy wine; how to's regarding Grand Canyon, etc. The atmosphere and owner John and staff are very friendly and accommodating. Returning from our dinner and souvenir shopping, Nancy saw we had bought a bottle of wine and immediately offered us some glasses to enjoy our beverages.

Breakfast includes gourmet coffee drinks, cereal, yoghurt, fresh fruit and fresh and yummy fresh baked goods. What a bonus. It was nice that you could get a coffee as early as 6:00 am and breakfast was available at 7:00 am. This was very convenient as we had to leave by 7:30 to catch our helicopter flight at the Grand Canyon and many places don't serve breakfast until later and usually at only one sitting time. Angie was a great host.

We stayed in the Best Gals room which was nice to have the large room with sitting area. We viewed 2 other rooms and they where small but also had that quaint vintage style. The Big Bertha's room was large with 2 beds, good for a family but not as quaint but it did have the nice claw foot tub and small outside balcony - 4 rooms in total.

The website identifies the room rate and I thought it was a bit pricey but when you add in the snacks, drinks and breakfast, it really is a bargain - much cheaper than having to pay for a room and breakfast separately. Plus, you would miss the wonderful authentic and historical brothel experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hosta_La_Vista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn of Williams
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.4 mi away
Sheridan House Inn
Sheridan House Inn
#1 of 12 in Williams
5.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lodge On Route 66
The Lodge On Route 66
#1 of 30 in Williams
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Garter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Garter Inn

Property: Red Garter Inn
Address: 137 W Railroad Ave, Williams, AZ 86046-2655
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Garter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Route 66 just south of the Grand Canyon, the Red Garter offers lodging and breakfast in a beautifully restored 1897 saloon and bordello. The antique furnishings capture the 1890's atmosphere without giving up the comfort and security expected by today's traveler. Within an hour's drive see Sedona, the ghost town Jerome, Indian ruins at Walnut Canyon and Wupatki National Monuments and the Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Red Garter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Garter Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing