We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Unique Experience”
Review of Red Garter Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Red Garter Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Williams B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Downingtown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Unique Experience”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Cute place in a hokey Americana historic town. The theme is cute but the establishment is a B&B/pastry shop/trinket store. We arrived after day two of the Grand Canyon's mule ride. We were tired and parched but checkin was not until 4:00 so we had to kill time at a local bar/eatery. Then, our room was still being prepared as we continued to kill time by browsing the store for quite some time, after 4:00. When we were escorted up the steep stairs, as we carried our luggage, we noticed a bathroom like smell in the hall. Since Big Bertha's room has no air conditioning, we needed to leave an internal window open to the hall. It did not smell fresh to me our whole stay. The worst was that I heard music until after 1:00 am from outside establishments, when I finally was able to fall asleep. Breakfast was a pastry of our choice, yogurt, fruit and drinks. Personally, I was a little disappointed not to be served a cooked breakfast but it did make it easy to be on our way. ...

Positives: Room appeared clean and fresh, decorum was cute and fitting, and the owner and his staff were friendly and informative

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JCSRtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    45
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
51
145
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night at The Red Garter after spending the day at the Grand Canyon. The staff was very helpful , friendly and accommodating . My husband and I enjoyed hearing about the history of the building from the friendly innkeeper John and his staff Angie and Debbie. The decor was charming and well maintained. The town of Williams is a fun stop on Route 66. If you have a chance visit The Red Garter Inn and the town of Williams, AZ ... A little of the old west revisited....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Artteacher1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Right on Route 66 opposite the zip line and railway to the Grand Canyon, this wonderfully and imaginatively furnished bed and breakfast is top of the tree. Our room had a friendly lady of the night sitting on our window ledge and even though our room faced the road an excellent nights sleep. Host and his two assistants charming folk and the home baked breakfast goodies are wonderful.

Room Tip: Our room was right at the front, if you are a light sleeper ask for another option
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placentia, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Our stay at the Red Garter Inn was short but very enjoyable (many thanks to the owners for accomodating our late arrival). The room was very comfortable and had great character. We were greeted for breakfast by the owners and offered a selection of delicious, freshly baked pasteries, fruit and fresh coffee. We truly enjoyed hearing about the history of the building and the Williams area and our only regret was that we couldn't stay a bit longer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

After 3 days in Las Vegas, staying in Williams- a small but friendly and lively town- was a massive contrast in style.
We treated ourselves to the Best Gals Room and really enjoyed the character furnishings and ambience of the whole property.
Breakfast was excellent with a great variety of fresh, home made pastries and plenty of helpful information from the owner on places to see and things to do.
We left after our 2 nights clear that we would love to come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riro2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I have never stayed the night there but I go there for the bakery. The food and service is amazing and I love everything about it. The history of the building is amazing in its self, I love going there when I am there is one of my favorite things about Williams!:)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Megan31407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia Uk
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

It's not every day you get to stay in a former brothel!

We were welcomed with coffee or tea on arrival. OK the beds are a bit small & the room was on the small side BUT the place has real character and very close to bars & restaurants.

The breakfast was also excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AceTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Williams hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Canyon Railway Hotel
0.2 mi away
Canyon Country Inn Bed & Breakfast
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inn Of Williams
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Near Grand Canyon
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Williams-Grand Canyon Area
0.4 mi away
Sheridan House Inn
Sheridan House Inn
#1 of 12 in Williams
5.0 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Garter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Garter Inn

Property: Red Garter Inn
Address: 137 W Railroad Ave, Williams, AZ 86046-2655
Region: United States > Arizona > Williams
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Williams
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Garter Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Historic Route 66 just south of the Grand Canyon, the Red Garter offers lodging and breakfast in a beautifully restored 1897 saloon and bordello. The antique furnishings capture the 1890's atmosphere without giving up the comfort and security expected by today's traveler. Within an hour's drive see Sedona, the ghost town Jerome, Indian ruins at Walnut Canyon and Wupatki National Monuments and the Grand Canyon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Red Garter Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Garter Hotel Williams

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing